1991 Mazda MX5 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1991 Mazda MX5 SE 1.6 from Portugal

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Mx-5 = Fun + Fun + Fun

Faults:

Rust in some parts. Bad original spark plug wires (common in this car). NGK wires are great.

General Comments:

This car is handles like it's on rails. It could take a more powerfull engine without problem.

Good gearbox. I like the leather interior (optional).

The space is very limited. Excellent second car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2005

1991 Mazda MX5 Base 1.6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Best bang for the buck, (or pound for the Brits)

Faults:

Shortly after I first bought the Miata I was plagued with an overheating problem. The problem only showed up in the Summer time. Essentially, it was a clogged radiator combined with a hose that collapsed when the car got hot. Because it was a combined problem, it was hard to find. The only other problem that I had was a bad battery.

General Comments:

The Miata is one of the best sports cars that you can buy for the money. They have a peppy little engine that likes to rev high, (this creates having a sense of more power than the car actually has). Reliability is incredible. These cars can take a beating and keep running. The cars are easily modified for racing which makes them a favorite for auto-crossing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

1991 Mazda MX5 SE 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Great car for a great price

Faults:

I had a thermostat go bad.

General Comments:

The '91 Miata is a great car with a strong engine. It handles extremely well in curves. It revs very high and loves to be rode hard. This is my second 1991 Miata and both were absolute pleasures to drive. With proper regular maintenance this car is almost repair free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

1991 Mazda MX5 1.6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

A great fun car for low cost

Faults:

The clutch slave cylinder was leaking. $50 to fix.

The brake calipers were leaking when I bought it. I did a performance upgrade: The bigger brakes from the 1.8l cars will bolt on with no modifications. $500 to upgrade.

General Comments:

Excellent road trip car.

At 181000 miles, I still get 32 miles per gallon, and that's with an aftermarket turbo installed.

Is a little uncomfortable if you're too tall, or over weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

1991 Mazda MX5 Miata 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

Wonderful fun getaway from the world driving

Faults:

Master cylinder went out after 90000. miles, easy & cheap repair.

Replaced battery, top & tires as needed.

General Comments:

Car handles the road wonderfully, tight steering. Would be nice to have little more push, but enough for its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

1991 Mazda MX5 1.6 16v from Croatia

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance83000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

Please Mazda, never stop production of this car!

Faults:

Absolutely none until I totalled it last week.

Everything on the car was original until the last minute.

Minuses - inadequate rigidity of the body, poor brakes (non ABS model), not suitable for people taller than 180 cm.

Unfortunately, the poor brakes cost me the car (braked too early on a slippery road and I slid off).

General Comments:

One of the most beautiful, best built and most fun to drive sports cars of all time!

Awesome handling, superb shifter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

16th Jan 2003, 14:48

I know what you mean. I've managed to total my Eunos V Special twice now, but I still wouldn't have any other car.

Netty.

17th Oct 2004, 02:31

How can you total something twice?

Seriously, they are good for over 180cm drivers. I am 198cm and fit - the answer is a leather trimmed v-spec car - seats are thinner and Nardi wheel has more room under it.

1991 Mazda MX5 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

A fun bargain

Faults:

Top had to be replaced due to regular wear and tear. This was quite expensive.

Seats have faded from the sun and are beginning to show threads.

After storms, the right front panel collects water. We have not been able to locate the water's entry point.

Factory-installed radio had to be replaced.

Speakers also had to be replaced as it is difficult to hear the stereo while the top is down and the speakers became blown.

Factory paint job had to be replaced, although it could be from mishandling from the previous owner.

When the air conditioner is on, first and second gear are sluggish.

General Comments:

The car is simply fun to drive!

Acceleration is good when the air conditioner is off.

Shifting is fun with the "cut" shift knob. It slams into gear rather than slides, which makes it feel like the sports car that it is.

The trunk is small, but holds a lot if carefully positioned.

Handles well -- responds quickly to the driver. Important to maneuver well, which it does. Helps me feel safer in it.

I love it! We have installed a roll bar (we did it ourselves -- quite a job but labor is so expensive) and besides its safety measures, it looks even sportier.

At over 160,000 miles, it shows no sign of slowing down. Maintenance has been a breeze -- no big problems except a spark plug!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2001

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 19 reviews