2004 Mazda MX5 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Mazda MX5 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres

Summary:

There is no credible sports car competitor in this price range

Faults:

No issues in first year of ownership.

General Comments:

Car has tremendous feel and balance - a very engaging sports car.

Steers, handles and brakes unbelievably well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2005

15th May 2006, 20:50

I remember when the Mazda Miata first came out. WOW!! It was classed as a British Style & type post war sports car that does not leak oil. Humour? Well as I certainly know about British engineering and especially Lucas electrics "aka" wiring by the Black Prince. I went I saw and I liked. It took me more that 10 years to get my Miata 2004 Yes it was tan top and British Racing Green and 6 speed. It is just an magic car to drive. I have driven it across Canada a few times, and as a good cigar is a smoke this car is a good ride. Plain fun.

2004 Mazda MX5 Euphonic 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired700 miles
Most recent distance5668 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

I personally didn't like the MX5 until I saw the Euphonic

Faults:

I hit the wing of my car, and was unhappy with the quality of the respray from the Mazda dealer. They did do the work again, and I was still unhappy. I did wish I'd taken it somewhere else, but typically if I had done that, I would have kicked myself for not taking it to a Mazda dealer if the respray was crap.

Otherwise, the car seems fine.

General Comments:

My car is a titanium grey Euphonic with the matching wheels. I personally didn't like the MX5 until I saw the Euphonic. People have commented on the look of the car, especially the wheels.

I have looked at the MGF, Toyota and S2000. These were all nice, but the limited edition Euphonic had the black red leather, Sony MP3 player and CD changer, 16" alloy wheels as standard. This made the car very attractive at the price.

Handling is very good, as is the acceleration. Top speed is not as fast as I thought, but saying that, pulling away at traffic lights fast is great.

Overall a great car. The interior looks very good. Look up a Euphonic edition in metallic red or grey, and you will not be disappointed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2005

2004 Mazda MX5 Mazdaspeed 1.8 litre turbo from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 litre turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Great sportscar for the money!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Handling is GREAT. I keep up with my friend's 2002 M3 in the curves (although he eats my lunch in the longer straights. The car performs similar to a 944 I once had. It is very predictable and inspires a lot of confidence. I can powerslide through the corners and throttle steer with relative ease. It also recovers well from pushing it too hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

19th Dec 2004, 11:47

The review here is about an MX-5, not an Impreza, so remember, the question of whether or not an M3 can keep up with an Impreza should be placed in a review of the Impreza. Otherwise, I would add, I have always found the MX-5 to be a quaint car, with high performance promise, but with a reasonable price tag. To often small sports cars are big on small and big on price, but seldom do they blend so well.

1st Nov 2005, 23:42

There is a big difference between a Miata 1.8 sport... and a Mazdaspeed Miata... a huge difference, in fact. The Mazdaspeed car was redesigned practically from the ground up, and is MUCH faster than a standard Miata.

29th Jul 2008, 00:57

Absolutely agree. I have found very few cars that behave themselves like this one and almost none that make driving fast as easy as the miata does. I just wrote a review on my 2004 Mazdaspeed as well, should be up tomorrow, check it out!

26th May 2009, 14:11

Owned my Mazdaspeed 4 years and it seems perfect. Once drove 14 hours in down pour rain and not a leak. What the Brits might have made before poor quality, unions, govt. put them out of business.

2004 Mazda MX5 Euphonic 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles

Summary:

One of those rare products where everything is right

Faults:

Someone dented the rear wing in a carpark. I thought the guy who came to fix the dent was going to cry - "they're all curves!" he moaned. He managed to get it almost right, but you can still see a small crease if you look really hard. It's not a fault as such, but it I imagine that a body shop would have a job getting it perfect again if it was seriously bashed, especially at the back.

If you're a bloke and you really care about image there is the 'hairdresser' factor I suppose. It doesn't bother me. My girlfriend absolutely adores it and so do all her mates.

General Comments:

I really love this car. It's not mind-blowingly fast, but what you lose in a straight line you make up for around corners. I've seen the steering described as 'telepathic' and particularly in fast bends your hands barely seem to move.

It's very well made - the doors shut with a real thunk, the switchgear has a quality feel and the roof is completely watertight. It's very practical too with loads of cabin storage and a big enough boot to get the shopping in. I'm 6' 3" with long legs and I find it very comfortable.

The gearbox is exceptional for a car at this money although I find 1st to 2nd a bit awkward sometimes - possibly because I'm tall and have to 'snuggle down' in the seat. My girlfriend has no problem with it. Generally there's a bit of a fight as to who gets to drive.

It handles just like everyone says it does. Seems to be a combination of very well-balanced chassis, razor-sharp steering, good throttle-response and not too much power. Skinny-ish tyres and no traction control means it can be a bit lively in the wet, but what do you expect?

We've got the Euphonic special edition which has red and black leather seats, leather steering wheel and gear knob and a top-notch Sony stereo with interchanger which is pretty much the perfect extras package as far as I'm concerned. If your buying second-hand it's worth hunting one down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

30th Jun 2005, 00:16

I have just purchased this edition after looking round at many different soft tops.

Once seen in the showroom was enough to convince me.

I did not even test drive, my first was when I drove of the forecourt on a glorious sunny day as a proud owner.

What a car it is pure perfection...

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews