2006 Mazda MX5 3rd Generation 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand


If you love fun cars, you need to buy one.. you won't regret it



General Comments:

I have always admired the MX-5 since its first release, and now have purchased my first MX-5 been the 2006 edt. I am extremely happy with the car, performance & comfort wise. I chose this car over the BMW 118i, 320i, Peugeot 407, and a few other luxury cars. I chose the MX-5 with leather pack, as I wanted a Sporty/Luxurious car to have fun with, and this car is certainly the way to go... I am so happy with my purchase and literally smile every time I jump in it for a drive.. The engine's performance is more than I expected as this thing hammers!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2006

2006 Mazda MX5 Touring 1.8 from North America


Better than my 1979 X-1/9 in countless ways


Nothing. Quality seems outstanding.

General Comments:

This is a car for people who like to drive. I find myself taking the long way home, particularly if the road has lots of curves and hills. Very quick, lots of torque at all speeds. It is not a car for a slow relaxing Sunday drive, but rather a vehicle that will demand that you focus on what you are doing and repay that effort with precise performance and excitement. It seems to beg you to rev it higher.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

24th Mar 2006, 23:52


You're telling us that a Japanese car, made in 2005, is better than an Italian car, of similar concept, made by FIAT 26 years earlier!


Whoever would have guessed that?

25th Mar 2006, 08:27

"Better than my 1979 X-1/9 in countless ways"

- Anything would be better than a Fiat X-1/9!

25th Mar 2006, 10:41

Well, given Ford has owned Mazda for at least 20 years now I'm still waiting for the the problems to show up.

The Mazda3 is built on the same platform as the Focus, yet the Mazda is an incredible car and has unbelievable reliability vs. the horrific Focus.

Sometimes such sharing actually is beneficial. Too bad GM can't get it right with Saab.

2006 Mazda MX5 Sport IL 2.0 4 cylinder from North America


Sport Car Enthusiast's Dream

General Comments:

Fantastic machine based on Mazda's superb reputation with the MX-5. 2006 MX-5 sport handles exceptionally well to driver's inputs and displays the same characteristics of more expensive sports cars (e.g., S2000, Z3/4, etc). After checking out the Solstice, before buying the MX-5, I'm an even bigger fan of the the MX-5 now. Aside from driving qualities other great features are the top, instrument cluster, and 6 speed manual transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

6th Apr 2006, 23:20

Why the sad face when you only have great comments?

30th Sep 2006, 16:04

Yep, Mazda's effort is very successful.

31st Oct 2006, 14:55

Be this as it may the Miata is not a fast car by any means. It's cute, has great handling, but that's it. If you look at some of the numbers many station wagons will outrun the Miata.

14th Nov 2006, 12:01

The MX-5 is not intended to be a fast car. Mazda doesn't market it that way, and no consumers claim it to be, either.

It's meant to be a fun car, which it lives up to, in almost a legendary way. The way it responds to driver input feels almost natural. That can't be said for many, many cars out there.

Speed isn't everything.

To the original reviewer: glad you like your car! Please keep us updated as time passes.

18th Nov 2006, 16:09

Mazda does in fact market it as a performance car.

"All the zoom zoom you demand and then some"...

High performance vehicles are best fitted with 6 speed manual transmissions. It would seem if Mazda and/or at least some of their consumers were not advocating speed, the company wouldn't be attempting to install 6 gears or telling consumers about the 'liberating horsepower' of their Miatas.

Nevertheless, many of us owners and former owners are well aware of the lack of power and do not advocate the vehicle's acceleration or top speed as a strong point. However, Mazda does, and the reviewer gave the performance a '10', so I can only assume he feels the same way.

And yes I agree, I've not found a car that handles like the Miata. It is one of the best if not the best handler. But this is easily accomplished by having very low weight, being very underpowered, rear-wheel drive, near 50-50 weight distribution, and being low to the ground.

5th May 2014, 13:34

15.5 quarter mile times are not too shabby.

2006 Mazda MX5 nc 2 Litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Excellent drivers car


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This car has plenty of power for it's size and handles magnificently.

The brakes brakes are the best I have felt on a car with no mods.

Compared to my old MX5 (1998) which was a terrific car I had over 100,000 km trouble free motoring the new one is still a couple of steps ahead in every way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006