1992 Mazda MX6 Reviews

1992 Mazda MX6 GT F2T from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission F2T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres

Summary:

A rare, fun car

Faults:

Replaced front rotors and all brake pads

Water pump/timing belt (normal for this age)

Turbo blew oil seal

Idles roughly

Wheel well rust.

General Comments:

A really fun, fast car. Handles well, especially with some decent tires.

Once the turbo spools between 3500 and 4000rpm, you're gone, it blows away most cars (within reason).

Great visibility on all sides, most comfortable sporty seats I've sat in yet, and I'm very picky.

Despite the problems I've had, most mx6 owners have even less problems than me, I think the previous owner abused my car... I know MANY people with engines near or over 300K.

Never had the car not start, I rarely am able to plug it in during our long, -20 winters and it starts first try, everytime.

Dealerships will bend you over and have their way with you for many new parts, used is the best way to go. The same year (88-92) ford probes have the same engine, which makes finding parts easy.

I am selling my car, only because of the rust, I want to move on before it starts to get bad, and I'll miss it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2006

1992 Mazda MX6 J-Spec 2.5i V6 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5i V6 24v Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 kilometres
Most recent distance151000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheap sophisticated and fun

Faults:

So far nothing. Occasional 4WS fault, but that has only happened three times.

General Comments:

Inside the seats feel too small and uncomfortable like they are made for small japanese, it's a J-Spec so that is true.

This is 200 BHP J-Spec, but feels only moderatly fast.

Very thirsty returns only 20mpg.

Smooth drive.

Excellent build quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2004

14th Feb 2007, 16:19

I have a 1992 j spec mx 6 very fast smooth and goes round corners like its on rails with 4ws nice drive, but fuel gauge never correct.

1992 Mazda MX6 LS from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired179000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles

Summary:

Nerve Wracking

Faults:

Although we bought the car used we did not no what to expect at the time. We have had trouble from the beginning with this car, such as oil leaking into the spark plugs, fuel filters, stalling, hard to start engine, engine revving at high speeds, engine jerking while traveling, and now we have this whistle that I have no idea why. Can anyone please help us figure out what is wrong with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2004

18th Nov 2004, 10:21

I am responding to the review titled nerve wrecking.

Can you please tell me what you did to correct the problems that you had with the fuel intake. I am having the same problems and cannot figure out what I need to do to correct the problems. My car is jerky, stalls, is hard to re-start after stalling, etc. just like the problems you were experiencing. Help please. I bought the car used and have every problem that you have had.

29th Dec 2009, 20:01

My friend, you should try changing the computer; that fixed my stalling :)

1992 Mazda MX6 2.6 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Wish I still had it : (

Faults:

Water leaked into cabin area when raining due to hole in front fire wall.

Fuel leak (think it was the mechanic's fault though)

General Comments:

Never really had many problems with this car.

Because it didn't look super sporty it was never really a police magnet, but when you hit the sweet spot (around 4500 rpm) it went off like a rocket. I really liked this car and was extremely happy with it's performance.

Unfortunately I had to sell it to pay off some debts. Had a good resell value too.

The boot was surprisingly roomy, but the rear passenger seats were not inviting for the average to large people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

11th Sep 2006, 15:36

What where you doing with a mechanic if you didn't have any problems with the car.

14th Sep 2006, 08:02

Maybe getting the car serviced???

1992 Mazda MX6 GT 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Looks and performance are great

Faults:

Boots front replaced every MOT.

Wheel bearings replaced once, not expensive if you don't go to dealer!

LAMBDA sensors replaced and cat, expensive for sensors, dealer part only. Cat cost £150.00, dealer wanted £450.00. Look around for parts.

General Comments:

Love my MX6, would not swop for world (well not unless it was a Dodge Viper).

Fast, very reliable, chicks love it!

Handles very well.

Corners like it's on rails.

Best colour is silver, no other colour does it justice.

Too much brake dust so lots of cleaning alloy wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2001

1992 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 litre DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre DOHC V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude SI

Summary:

A poor man's Lexus but with high repair costs

Faults:

Valve cover gasket.

O2 sensor three times.

Water pump 2 times.

Thermometer.

Transmission 2 times.

CV boot 2 times.

Wheel bearing.

Dash board light.

Distributor.

AC 2 times, I finally bought an aftermarket AC compressor and water pump and never had a problem after that...

Sunroof came off track.

General Comments:

Good performance when it is kept in shape... Underrated performance. Mazda should have added more power with the V6. Low end torque could be improved... Styling is awesome, my only real complaint is the overall cost of repairs over the years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th August, 2000

1992 Mazda MX6 2.5 litre DOHC fuel inj. from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre DOHC fuel inj.
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Only noted problem so far..... automatic aerial has failed. Cost in Australia is around AUD$300.00.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle, great to drive, handles like a dream and looks like sex on wheels. If you have the opportunity to purchase one I highly recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

8th Jan 2003, 20:54

I agree I just bought my first Mx6 and I don't regret it one bit... the only problem is the aerial failing, but considering nothing else is wrong I'm in love.

16th Jan 2009, 05:53

I agree it's a great car. I had one and the only problem I had was clutch at around 268,000. Was so sad to see it go, and thinking of buying another after 5 months.

29th Aug 2009, 04:39

Wow! What a great car! Bought a 1997 model in 1999 (140hp 2.5 V6) and enjoyed every moment of driving it. Sadly had to sell when we decided to emigrate to New Zealand in 2000. Didn't take me long to to find another MX6 - this time a 1992 model (200hp 2.5 V6) with plenty of power under the hood. Except for a new battery and 2 new CV boots (89 000kms) not a single problem. Will definitely hang onto it for as long as possible.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews