1992 Mazda MX6 2.6 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Wish I still had it : (


Water leaked into cabin area when raining due to hole in front fire wall.

Fuel leak (think it was the mechanic's fault though)

General Comments:

Never really had many problems with this car.

Because it didn't look super sporty it was never really a police magnet, but when you hit the sweet spot (around 4500 rpm) it went off like a rocket. I really liked this car and was extremely happy with it's performance.

Unfortunately I had to sell it to pay off some debts. Had a good resell value too.

The boot was surprisingly roomy, but the rear passenger seats were not inviting for the average to large people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

11th Sep 2006, 15:36

What where you doing with a mechanic if you didn't have any problems with the car.

14th Sep 2006, 08:02

Maybe getting the car serviced???

1992 Mazda MX6 GT 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland


Looks and performance are great


Boots front replaced every MOT.

Wheel bearings replaced once, not expensive if you don't go to dealer!

LAMBDA sensors replaced and cat, expensive for sensors, dealer part only. Cat cost £150.00, dealer wanted £450.00. Look around for parts.

General Comments:

Love my MX6, would not swop for world (well not unless it was a Dodge Viper).

Fast, very reliable, chicks love it!

Handles very well.

Corners like it's on rails.

Best colour is silver, no other colour does it justice.

Too much brake dust so lots of cleaning alloy wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2001

1992 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 litre DOHC V6 from North America


A poor man's Lexus but with high repair costs


Valve cover gasket.

O2 sensor three times.

Water pump 2 times.


Transmission 2 times.

CV boot 2 times.

Wheel bearing.

Dash board light.


AC 2 times, I finally bought an aftermarket AC compressor and water pump and never had a problem after that...

Sunroof came off track.

General Comments:

Good performance when it is kept in shape... Underrated performance. Mazda should have added more power with the V6. Low end torque could be improved... Styling is awesome, my only real complaint is the overall cost of repairs over the years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th August, 2000

1992 Mazda MX6 2.5 litre DOHC fuel inj. from Australia and New Zealand


Only noted problem so far..... automatic aerial has failed. Cost in Australia is around AUD$300.00.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle, great to drive, handles like a dream and looks like sex on wheels. If you have the opportunity to purchase one I highly recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

8th Jan 2003, 20:54

I agree I just bought my first Mx6 and I don't regret it one bit... the only problem is the aerial failing, but considering nothing else is wrong I'm in love.

16th Jan 2009, 05:53

I agree it's a great car. I had one and the only problem I had was clutch at around 268,000. Was so sad to see it go, and thinking of buying another after 5 months.

29th Aug 2009, 04:39

Wow! What a great car! Bought a 1997 model in 1999 (140hp 2.5 V6) and enjoyed every moment of driving it. Sadly had to sell when we decided to emigrate to New Zealand in 2000. Didn't take me long to to find another MX6 - this time a 1992 model (200hp 2.5 V6) with plenty of power under the hood. Except for a new battery and 2 new CV boots (89 000kms) not a single problem. Will definitely hang onto it for as long as possible.