1991 Mazda Protege Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1991 Mazda Protege DX 1.8 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres

Summary:

Gutless econo box

Faults:

Wrecked transmission - 1400 dollars

Power windows didn't work.

General Comments:

My first car, handed down to me from my parents at 17.

Could only spin the tires on gravel.

For a car that had the oil changed maybe twice in its 9 year life, I'm surprised the motor didn't blow up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2003

2nd May 2006, 10:50

Lets read the review and figure out what happened here:

Could only spin the tires on gravel.

-and-

Wrecked transmission - 1400 dollars.

Surprise! If the tires aren't spinning all you do is blow the transmission.

3rd Dec 2006, 17:22

Obviously the car won't last if it's abused by a hamfist.

1991 Mazda Protege GT 1.8 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 kilometres
Most recent distance167000 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Mazda had

Faults:

An exhaust system hanger broke at around 120,000km.

At 160,000km I replaced the drive axles.

At 162,000km one of the air flow sensors became confused by a small crack in the plastic intake housing ahead of the manifold. This led to rather strong bucking as the air/fuel ratio was all wrong. The problem was solved with duct tape.

General Comments:

This car has every option Mazda offered in that year, so it is very comfortable and performs quite well. I find the seats especially comfortable.

The twin cam engine really comes alive at about 3500 rpm. Handling is geared toward a decidedly sporty feel. The car feels very responsive to driver input though some might find it "busy" on long distance trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

14th Nov 2009, 08:04

I sold the car in early 2009 with 225,000 km on it. Bought another Protege, this time a 2003 ES. I loved that 91 GT, best seats ever and I'd say a sweeter engine than the new one. Someone got a great little car.

1991 Mazda Protege GT 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 kilometres
Most recent distance157000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Pocket Rocket

Faults:

Needed wiper refills.

Sunroof panel rusting on edges, part price $280, not include painting and install.

General Comments:

This is a very rare model for the Canadian market. This Protege has a 1.8 DOHC engine, similar to the Mazda Miata. It has 127 HP.

This car is very similar to the U.S. spec LX model. It comes equipped with 4 wheel discs, spoiler, air, roof, sport suspension, power everything, cruise control, etc.

I have been looking for one of these since it was released in 1990.

These cars have no real value, though, but too the enthusiast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

1991 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 SOHC FWD from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 SOHC FWD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A reliable and efficient means of transportation

Faults:

Left CV boot tore and mechanism began to make noise so I replaced it. I rebuilt the slave master cylinder for $20 and an hour-and-a-half of my time because it was leaking. I also replaced the front brake pads and calipers 2 months ago when I noticed uneven wear. Otherwise, I could have left them on for another 10,000 miles and the brakes would have lasted 75,000 miles. I also replaced the exhaust system from behind the catalytic converter to the tail pipe. A combination of Minnesota weather and internal moisture doesn't let them last for more than 4 or 5 years. There also appears to be a problem with the design of the valve cover gasket on my Mazda. The bolts can only be tightened so much and valve cover gaskets go out about every year-and-a-half. This is not a big problem since gaskets at the dealership are only $15 and it takes me twenty minutes to change one. I started doing it myself since the dealership charged over $100, only guaranteed their job for 1-year, and they couldn't make their repair last any longer than when I did it myself.

General Comments:

This car has certainly been efficient and saved me considerable amounts of money and time. At 37 miles per gallon on the highway and just over 30 in the city it is cheap to drive. I don't think I could buy a cheaper car. However, it doesn't have much style or performance and is certainly a car for students or those who consider cars a means of transportation and nothing else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

12th Jul 2004, 16:59

Not sure why the reviewer said the car was not much for performance and then gave it 9/10 for performance.???

22nd Nov 2004, 21:58

Yeah that is strange. I always found the performance of first generation protege's to be above average for the class, especially w/a manual transmission. I'm not sure about those MPG #'s though. Never approached anything close to those, even driving lightly.

24th Nov 2004, 18:51

Yea mine has 167,000 miles on it and it still runs strong. I love the car with the gas prices now it awesome. and my car has style to it, all I did was add a sunroof visor and it has some decals on the side of it. And the paint is great on it. I love my Mazda.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews