1991 Mazda Protege Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1991 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

It gets me where I need to go, but not really in style

Faults:

Brake pads needed to be replaced and they were wearing unevenly.

The exhaust and muffler have almost completely disappeared due to rusting.

The right front boot has deteriorated and is beginning to rust at the joint. There is a thudding noise coming from that area when hitting bumps.

The tape player isn't fully functional.

General Comments:

It has been reliable enough, but I don't love the styling. You really have to get it revving to accelerate at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

1991 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired340000 kilometres
Most recent distance348000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Everyone I know thinks this and other Protege's they know are fantastic cars, because they are!

Faults:

Exhaust is original from manifold to catalytic. It is rusted out and sounds quite loud, however has a nice bass tone and I'm not gonna fix it :)

Rear struts were replaced just before I bought it.

Right CV joint replaced around 325000km (205000mi)

Clutch replaced approx. 300000km (187000mi)

General Comments:

For a 1.8L, this car really moves! Alignment is fabulous, and the ride is terrific (not too soft or hard). The pedals are nice and light to the touch. Gas mileage is fantastic, having used 3/4 tank for 8 hours of driving, with plenty of hills and passing.

Interior is quite roomy for a sub-compact. I'm 6'4" tall and do not have to push the seat all the way back, this is the first car in which this has ever happened!

As for reliability, the car has started first try (usually in under a seconds cranking) ever time in a year, even in the -30degree Sault winter and after sitting for a month. With 348xxxkm(220000mi), this car is indestructible!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

1991 Mazda Protege DX 4 cylinder. 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance233000 miles

Summary:

A sports car at heart

Faults:

Gas tank rusted out at approximately 227,000 miles.

Paint has been peeling off since 150,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has more power and pickup than you might expect. 0-60 time is about 10 seconds. That is quick for such a small engine!

No major, or costly repairs have been made. The only major repairs I have made can be expected on a car with such high mileage.

Since day one the car has gotten 33 miles per gallon. The only time the mileage went down was when the spark plugs came loose, and then it got 31 miles per gallon. Overall the gas mileage is excellent no matter how you look at it.

The handling of this vehicle is as close to perfect as you could expect from a cheap economy car.

The car has been more than worth the price tag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

1991 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

Rock solid dependability

Faults:

Seat belt warning light and beep go on while driving due to the contact in the center console wearing through on the driver's shoulder-belt retractor. Fixed three times before disconnecting it.

Power windows very weak going up at times.

Three mufflers (Midas), but the latest Mazda brand muffler seems to last.

General Comments:

Other than the above few faults, the car has started every time in the ten years I have owned it. I drive it year after year and put very little money into it. It drives, runs, and looks like a new car.

It is surprisingly fast for the size of it; being able to "chirp" the tires in third gear. On the highway, it can push you back in your seat without shifting out of 5th gear, even at 85 MPH.

It has almost no blind spots. At 115K miles it still handles like it is on rails. I have since bought a new vehicle from the Chrysler Corporation and I have had more problems with it in the year I have owned it than I have ever had with my Mazda. I would definitely recommend Mazda to anyone who is looking for reliability and low ownership costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

13th Jul 2005, 16:40

UPDATE 7/13/05 I still have this car. I had to put rear shocks in, and another set of front brakes. That is it! It now has 147,000 miles on it. It will not die! Outside of brakes, one battery, and rear shocks, in nearly 15 years, that is all I have done to it.

It is starting to rust a little around the upper door frames and behind the rear quarter panels, but I think it is because I got crazy with the high pressure car wash.

The clutch (original) chatters a bit starting off and the timing belt is about 27K miles overdue to be changed. It is going to be hard to say goodbye to this car. Besides wood furniture, what else can you think of that lasts 15 years with little maintenance?

1991 Mazda Protege SE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance253000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great car, cheap to own, would buy a duplicate easily

Faults:

Normal oil, brake pads, exhaust.

Rear coil springs broke in its 200K, that was strange.

Idle sensor went at 125K.

Replaced CV boots once - 233K.

Corrosion on the bottom of the rear driver's side door, and driver's side window frame.

Started to burn oil at 210K.

General Comments:

Most reliable car I have ever owned.

Low maintenance costs.

16 valver had real pep for the first 160k, starting to show its age now.

Paint still looks good, interior looks OK too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

1991 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Left side outer CV joint boot replaced twice in a 20,000 mile period. Valve cover gasket replaced twice in 40,000 miles. Spark plug wires replaced at 50,000 miles. Thermostat replaced at about 55,000 miles.

General Comments:

101,000 miles on the car and still on the original brake pads and rear struts. Engine beginning to use some oil. Average 29 MPG, mostly highway driving. Paint is beginning to fade in several spots - never been impressed with Mazda's paint quality. Parts are reasonably priced but, as usual, labor can be a killer. It's been an exceptionally reliable car that has never let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

9th Jan 2001, 10:06

This is just a shot in the dark here, but if you might know where I can find a performance air intake for my 1992 Mazda Protege it would be a lot of help.

I bought my car with a 100,000 km on it and it has a little over 150 on it now. I never had a problem with it yet. Except I can't find a lot of performance parts. I'm from Truro, Nova Scotia so that's probably the problem.

No one does up these kind of cars, BUT I know with a little help it will be eating those Honda boys!

THANKS, EMAIL ADDRESS IS jrlawson@hotmail.com

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews