1994 Mazda Protege Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1994 Mazda Protege DX 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance99145 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

Reliability with a bold and capital R

Faults:

Horn stuck at 95,000.

Radiator sprung leak at 98,000 miles. I'm not sure why they built the radiator with a plastic top (that is where the leak occurred).

A/C went out at 80,000.

General Comments:

This has been a great car. I'm going on my 10th year of ownership and aside from a few minor (expected) repairs, it has been well worth the money. It still looks and runs great. This car has literally been around the world. I am in the military and have driven it through snow storms in the north east and across beaches in Hawaii. The manual transmission is the way to go, it adds a little extra pep to your driving and tremendously improves your control in the snow (and sand). Perhaps my only complaint is that the trunk door will drop closed if parked on an incline or on a windy day. I got hit in the head a few times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2003

17th Apr 2004, 20:40

How did you fix the radiator leak.

1994 Mazda Protege DX 1.8 Liter 16v 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter 16v 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64053 miles
Most recent distance65876 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Reliable, economical, fun little car!!

Faults:

Nothing so far has gone wrong. I did have to do a few things after I purchased it though, but they were very minor. I replaced a turn signal bulb, interior dome light bulb, and replaced the windshield wipers.

General Comments:

This car is very easy on gas (34 mpg on highway!).

Driver's seat isn't the most comfortable.

Cup holders are in an inconvenient location below the radio. Hard to tune in another radio station with a bottle of soda blocking your way!

Picked the car up from a dealer on the east coast and drove 1,400 miles home without ANY issues!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

1994 Mazda Protege 287,000 km from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance287000 kilometres
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Reliable, surely satisfied

Faults:

Radiator replaced at 283,000 km.

Exhaust replaced twice, - cheap parts.

Fuse replaced -car left in snow storm.

Battery replaced three times over the last 8 yrs.

The gas gage fails at about half a tank.

General Comments:

The car is doing fine at 280,000 km.

Squeaks a little, but at 280,000 km I guess you should expect a little noise.

I am generally satisfied with the car will continue to drive it until I can't no more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

1994 Mazda Protege DX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

A great first car!

Faults:

Had to replace one caliper.

Had to replace both Constant Velocity Joints.

Had to replace battery.

General Comments:

A very cheap, reliable car to maintain.

Great gas mileage.

All repairs were minor, low cost.

This car has great speed for a small 4 cylinder.

Pick-up is better than average, over 60 mph, it flies up to roughly 125 mph.

This car's engine will outlive the body, foreign cars have such a life expectancy, its amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

1994 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Great reliable car

Faults:

My seat belt indicator light is on when the car is running, constantly beeping while the seat belt is on.

The drivers side seat has begun to wear from getting in and out of the car.

The drivers side automatic window jumps the track and makes a horrible clicking noise, started around 70,000 miles.

The automatic seat belts are in a very uncomfortable in their positioning

I had the muffler replaced around 50,000 miles, and since then the car whistles and sounds like an old Volkswagon Bug.

Check engine light began to turn on and off occasionally around 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable to me for over 50,000 miles.

Although it does not handle well in high winds or rain.

No major problems since I acquired the Mazda, but its the little problems that are annoying.

Very good on gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2003

22nd Mar 2005, 04:10

Did you ever resolve the problems with the seat belt warning?

31st Mar 2006, 14:46

My mom bought a 94 protege LX in 1998 and then gave it to me in 2003. It was a great car, very reliable. The only problems we had was it needed a new radiator in 2001 and a new transmission in 2002.

When I got in an accident in 2004, it was written off, but because of it having a new transmission and radiator, I got a lot more than the book value.

I drive a 92 Civic now and its having some engine trouble... I'm thinking of going back to a protege because I liked my old one so much.

31st Mar 2006, 16:16

If you got a lot more than book value because of a new engine and transmission, your adjuster must have been a moron. Book value is for a car in good mechanical condition. If it needs an engine or transmission it is worth much less than book, but a new one (actually used) does not make it worth more.

1st Apr 2006, 10:49

That doesn't make any sense.

Blue book value is what the car is worth based on its condition and other variables, NOT a set value.

Go to www.kbb.com (the Blue Book people) and you will see you are NOT able to get a blue book value on your car unless you enter its condition, mileage, year, etc.

In other words, you simply don't type in "1995 Ford Taurus" and get an instant price.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 33 reviews