2002 Mazda Protege Reviews - Page 12 of 17

2002 Mazda Protege ES 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I will never buy another Mazda vehicle

Faults:

Rod bearings went out after less than three years, requiring engine to be overhauled at a cost of $2000.00.

Air conditioner works very poorly.

Car has very little power compared to other 4-cylinders.

General Comments:

Car revs very high between gears.

Not comfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

1st Feb 2006, 20:29

I would like to find out more about the three items mentioned here that will give me more HP and MPG. I just purchased a 2002 Protege and am very interested in these improvements. My e-mail is loupaulo21@rogers.com. Thank's for any info you can provide.

22nd Mar 2008, 14:14

I don't know what your pretending, but DO NOT ever put a turbonator or generic version into your car.

Think logically: How will jamming something into your intake (thus restricting airflow) actually help your car run better or more fuel efficient? The answer is that it won't.

Most people have actually reported worse gas mileage and far worse performance after they "installed" the turbonator.

2002 Mazda Protege LX 2.0L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25300 miles
Most recent distance32300 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Great deal

Faults:

Lots of chips in paint on front bumper.

General Comments:

This car has excellent throttle response. When you mash the pedal, this car picks up and goes! If anything, this car is much faster than it should be.

The stock tires were garbage. That's no surprise though.

The stock brakes tend to fade when they get hot. Again, no surprise. These can be upgraded for very little money. For your average driver though, the stock brakes will be more than good sufficient.

The paint on the front bumper seems to be either lacking clear-coat, or it's really thin paint. 32,000 miles, and my bumper looks terrible.

Protege's have great handling.

Various rattles here and there, but nothing major.

For the money, no other car can compete. This car looks great, performs great, and simply can't be beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

2002 Mazda Protege LX 2.0L DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC 16v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance49500 miles
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

This little car is a BIG deal!

Faults:

Okay, I ran over something and demolished the oil pan at just the right spot for it to cost me a whole lotta cash. This was not a factory problem, but the cash that I had to fork out was. Anywhere else I think I could have gotten a better deal on the repair, but if you want genuine Mazda parts that will last, I suggest going to the dealer to fix it. (Routine air filter changes can be expensive, too.)

The only other problem I'm having is that the paint chips easily on the front and rear bumpers.

General Comments:

This car has so much cargo space for everything you need. It's comfy to sit in and the cruise control lets your feet rest. Everything in the cargo spacing is very easy access, and the 60/40 back seat split is great for bigger things that can't quite fit in the large trunk space.

The upholstery and dashboard materials are not cheap looking like most small cars in its class.

My backseat passengers especially love the windows that roll all the way down, instead of the traditional 1/2 way. Backseat passengers also have safety in the middle seat because of the lap and shoulder belt. Try and find that in another small car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2004

16th Aug 2004, 07:48

The Mazda air filter isn't any more effective than an aftermarket one from a reputable brand. Save yourself wasted time and money by changing them yourself. All you need is a socket (10mm for a 1st generation protege, I don't know about yours) and 2-3 minutes.

2nd Aug 2007, 11:32

If you don't hit things with your bumpers, they will not chip or scratch...!!!

Just a helpful reminder.

Have a nice day!

2002 Mazda Protege 5 2.0. from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0. Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance89000 kilometres
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Zoom Zoom indeed

Faults:

The front rotors were resurfaced at 20,000km.

The clutch and flywheel were replaced at 45,000km as per a Mazda TSB (Technical Service Bulletin) due to "chattering" when taking off from a stop.

The rear Mazda emblem corroded due to salt and was replaced at about 50,000km.

The driver's side sun visor wouldn't stay up so it was replaced at 70,000km or so.

The rims have chipped and bubbled badly, my dealer says that they won't replace them. I'm going to fight them on this one, I have the extended warranty until 160,000km.

General Comments:

There is no other car I would have bought in this class. I love it.

The fit and finish is incredible, with the exception of the easily chipped paint.

The factory stereo was quickly replaced with an Alpine AM-FM/CD/MP3 player.

Although a bit down on power, the handling and chassis more than make up for it. I love the stiff ride and the grippy high performance tires.

I compete in Autocross (Fully legal parking lot racing against the clock) with the car and it is mildly modified (synthetic gear oil, cold air intake, stainless exhaust, bigger rear sway bar, racing brake pads, ultra high performance summer tires, etc.) so I do put more wear and tear on the car than most and it has held up beautifully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

3rd Jan 2005, 18:29

I just got a Protege5 a few weeks ago (it's a 2002), though the warranty is expired because it was purchased in 2001.

I bought the car because the design is superior to that of the Civic, and it is a little cheaper. The tight suspension is also nice. Right now the car is perfect (knock on wood) with only 15K miles on it.

But I've been reading that a lot of people are having problems with the clutch chatter. My clutch feels very smooth so far, but I'm afraid it will start acting up and I won't have money to replace it.

Do all P5's have that problem or are there some that are flawed and some are OK?

Thanks.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 64 reviews