2003 Mazda Protege Mazda Speed 2.0 turbo from North America


Reliable, cheap sports car


- Oxygen sensor.

- Power steering pump.

- CD player.

General Comments:

Very good performance.

Good handling.

Cheap on gas (highway).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2014

14th Jul 2014, 11:53

There was a time when the term "sports car" actually signified something.

15th Jul 2014, 22:44

The Protege is NOT a sports car, not even close.

2003 Mazda Protege SE 1.6 from North America


1.6 great car


Just had the car for two months. I really can't say anything bad about it. My former car was a haunted Pontiac Montana.

The only bad reference I hear about the car are the link kits, but if it's only that, no problem there.

General Comments:

For now it's great. It's not hard on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2011

21st Nov 2011, 20:44

If ever you buy a Protege, make sure to check the link kits front and rear, and also check the oil pan. They start leaking because they rust.

2003 Mazda Protege from North America


The Mazda Protege is dependable


My head gasket blew at 255,954 miles.

Motor for the window on the driver's side worn out.

Head light on the driver's side is out.

Door handle on driver's side broke off, door handles on passenger side and back right side are loose.

Water residue build up in the head lights.

Carpet on the driver's side is started to wear badly.

Trunk of the car will not open with key or with the trunk latch inside.

General Comments:

This car handles the road well.

This car is made for long rides.

The dash board is not very bright, makes the inside of the car dark.

The silver color of the car is very nice.

There is a blind spot on the driver's side.

The jack for the car doesn't last very long before breaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2011

2003 Mazda Protege ES 2.0 from North America


Not refined for a modern car


Started using oil within six months of new. Dealer claimed 1 qt per 700 miles was within limits of this particular engine. As a result of the oil consumption, the spark plugs need replaced every two months, the catalytic converters have each been replaced twice, and now the secondary is gone. The 02 sensor has been replaced at five times. Each day's drive is 73.3 miles each way, and it now uses 1 to 1 1/2 quarts per day, and smokes for the first five miles.

The car has always been noisier than most cars. The engine and drive train are quiet, but the tires and suspension are noisy, and it has very little insulation or isolation.

Now it is popping out of third gear when under load.

General Comments:

This car was bought to save money on gas. It gobbles up parts and oil faster than gas mileage savings allow.

It is however a comfortable car, even for 5'11" 230 lb. man driving two hours per day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2010

2003 Mazda Protege 5 2.0 from North America


The P5 is fun and practical, but expect high cost of ownership due to average mechanicals


In the first year, the car would stall in traffic for no reason.

The auto-transmission had to been changed at 17000 km (rare manufacturing defect).

Rust at door trim, hood, inside door.

At 145 000 km, ABS would engage on dry surface in normal braking, dealer could not diagnose the problem.

At 150 000 km, rear shock started leaking.

At 165 000 km ABS Light always on.

Front right wheel bearing had to be changed at 105 000 km, 145 000 km 175 000 km.

General Comments:

Excellent handling. Super fun to drive.

Plenty of cargo room. Very practical car.

Seat are comfortable.

Interior has a nice graphite finish, which is very nice.

This car is well built, the chassis is rigid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2010

18th Oct 2011, 09:27

Hi there, I am having the same problem. Did you ever get your ABS fixed? Can you tell me what you did? Thanks, Andrew.

4th Mar 2013, 13:54

I have three Proteges - an '03 with 13k miles, an '01 with 21k, and a 2000 with 145k.

The 2000 has been run mercilessly since new, and has only needed a serpentine belt. I only get about 12k on tires because of driving style, but that's not the car. I put the belt on myself, so the car has never been back to the dealer. I warped the pressure plate or flywheel with hard starts at about 70k, so I must ride the clutch for about 15 seconds on every cold start, until they mate. I can't believe it takes it for 75k.

I bought the newer two because of the incredible reliability of the 2000.