1974 Mazda RX4 from North America

Summary:

The car was as good if not better than sex..

Faults:

Apex seals blew out with about 26000 miles on it, but Mazda put in a new engine... the 600 lb Angus steer that I hit in the rear end didn't help either, but the car had crash bars that were factory, and it actually helped the car's survivability.

Some rust within the first two yrs of ownership… but what 70’s car didn’t rust, especially Fiats, Lancias, and Alfa’s.

The car's fuel efficiency, it sucked with an average of about 14mpg, 19-20 mpg on a good day if you were lucky and did not put your foot in the accelerator too often...

General Comments:

With new plugs, points, and condensers, the car could beat anything off the line...

The car was as good if not better than sex...

It was a real screamer...

You could lay scratch in all 4 gears, seriously...

The speedo showed 140MPH, it could do it... and then some.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th March, 2009

8th Mar 2009, 12:11

"The speedo showed 140MPH, it could do it... and then some."

- How? Off the top of the Sears Building maybe?

15th Apr 2009, 12:03

"The speedo showed 140MPH, it could do it... and then some."

Absolutely. 140 indicated was probably 125 real mph. I owned two RX4's and they were the sleepers of their day. I ran one of them for 10 years and then traded it when the rust and oil burning became too much of an issue. Still consider it to be one of the most entertaining cars I've owned.

1974 Mazda RX4 LA23S 13B REAPS from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

If you have the opportunity to buy one - do it

Faults:

Since I bought it, it's ran well, and have only had to change the odd rotor button and dizzy cap, automatic and diff from old age.

Other than that, the routine maintenance every 5000km of an oil change, does wonders, and it's used as a daily driver, clocking up around 1000km a week.

They're not the most economical on fuel, but I have got no regrets as it's an old skool rotor, and it's all about cruising in style.

General Comments:

The RX4 coupes are awesome, with pillarless side windows.

The wrap around dash and roof console makes it like no other car.

Just the ornamental features all over it add character to the muscly looking, Japanese styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2006

1974 Mazda RX4 sedan 13B Bridgeport from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

I miss her so much, mummy!!

Faults:

The diff started making a huge noise on the highway and I had to grandma it home.

The clutch plate started slipping so my mate and I went about fixing it only to blow the gearbox the next day.

Too numerous amounts of little annoying things to mention.

General Comments:

This car was my favourite, my first rotor. I wish I never let her go, but the decision was out of my hands. Just one of those projects that went wrong.

I've had her off the clock I'd say we were doing about 230 km/h. Just beautiful.

The dash is just awesome in the series two, full cockpit style, very sweet with Recaros.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2003

1975 Mazda RX4 Coupe 2.3 rotary from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The Mazda RX4 rotary was in a word - sensational

Faults:

Rear brake cylinder seals leaked after 50,000 miles.

Seat coverings were made of PVC and got very hot in the summer, and eventually the material split in places.

Spark plugs rusted into the engine and during removal snapped causing severe damage to the rotary engine, a new engine was going to be very expensive and a rebuilt one was nearly as much, this caused me to have to scrap the car.

General Comments:

This marvellous car, the RX4 Rotary Coupe (M reg) that served me so well, is to this day the best car I have owned or driven, it was far ahead of its time and looked great in Mercury Blue, wide Bridestone tyres and stainless steel wheel trims and bumpers.

I have never seen another RX4 since I parted with mine in 1987 and it will always leave me with some wonderful memories.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2001

1st Oct 2002, 08:52

I was interested to hear about a Mazda RX4, I owned one as my second car in the early 'eighties, but unfortunately wrote it off after sliding off the road in snow. I'd really love to buy another one, if anyone is selling an RX4, please contact me at... wearetheicekids@aol.com.

4th Sep 2006, 23:42

The RX4 had 1 major flaw, its rotary engine! Once I replaced that with a 302w v8 I never looked back. If I did, it was only to admire the tyre smoke.

9th Oct 2006, 08:20

Mate you don't buy a Mazda RX4 (Rotary Engine) and put a V8 in it.. buy a Holden Gemini for that... these cars are unique.

25th Jul 2007, 13:22

I had an RX-4 in the early 80's when I was a teenager and what a sweet, sweet car is was. Loved that rotary engine. Took it out on a country road once to see if the speedometer was optimistic showing 140 mph as top speed. At 135 mph I was convinced and let off the gas. Of all the cars I have had over time (and there have been many), I miss my little dark green RX-4 the most!

21st Sep 2007, 14:20

I owned a 78 Mazda rotary wagon. A very unassuming car, a basic brown box with a kick butt rotary wagon married to a 5 speed manual transmission. Most fun ever was to pull up to a stop light next to some teenager in a souped up Camaro and blow them off the line. The car started to stall at the strangest times causing me to wait 20 minutes to restart and off we go. Could never find a mechanic to figure that one out. Changing oil was easy as the filter sat upright on the top of the engine. Had to poke a hole in it before removing. Mufflers were always an adventure, expensive and heavy to silence the backfiring. Finally had to give it up when the rust and plastic cracking got the better of it. A unique ride to say the least.