1987 Mazda RX7 Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1987 Mazda RX7 RX 7 Turbo 10th Anniversary E Rotary turbo 2 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Rotary turbo 2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

A rocket that will get you in a lot of trouble

Faults:

Alternator went out.

A/C needed raharging.

Rear Window wioper broken.

Radiator started to leak.

Driver seat side broken.

General Comments:

Very nice looking car that ran like a demon. Did not handle as well as I thought it should. Very dependable considering I drove it very hard and very fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

1987 Mazda RX7 GT-X 13bre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 13bre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 kilometres
Most recent distance111999 kilometres
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

This is the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with this car. Mind you I have not had it long.

General Comments:

Fuel consumption is high owing to the rotary engine with a turbocharger.

This is a really quick car and the automatic option is great in heavy traffic, but no so sporty to drive as the last one I had which was manual.

This car is in mint condition and was a bargain at $5000NZD.

However it will need a rebuild at some stage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

1987 Mazda RX7 SE 13 B water cooled twin rotor from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 13 B water cooled twin rotor Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

A great reliable fun car to drive

Faults:

This car has been great few problems except for electrical the seats ripped at the seams, but other than that it has been fine. The engine runs fine and is very easy to fix. The only true mechanical problem was occasionally the spark plugs would foul until I got the newer cross cut design for thirty bucks problem solved.

General Comments:

It's a fine reliable sports car the hatch has more capacity than a trunk and is great for hauling things around. Great pickup and the rotary engine runs smoothly and delivers effortless power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2002

15th Dec 2003, 10:39

My beautiful RED 1987 RX-7 has been nothing, but problems since I bought it used in 2001 with 50,000miles on it. First, my electrical went BLAH. I haven't been able to put my windows down since that summer. I was using the AC and my sunroof, then the sunroof went out this summer (2003). In the past 2 months I've had to get a new exhaust and now the thing won't even start when I turn the key. All the belts turn, but nothing from the engine (like its not getting compression or something). But then again, I'm a single chick living in the middle of the city and can't afford the time or space to work on it myself. Any suggestions are welcome.

15th May 2005, 19:04

Yes. I own a 187 Mazda rx-7 and I have the same problem (no compression). I ran a compression test on it and it shows zero. which in my case means the rotor was blown. I bought it used. I have tried the auto trans-fluid in the spark plug holes. no luck. mazda quoted me 3200 for the fix of the seals (yea right) i am trying to find another option. but your problem sounds the exact same as mine.

11th Jul 2005, 08:50

It not only could be that problem you know. If the engine does not start, it also could be that it is flooded.

12th Oct 2005, 22:27

The engine started fine, I am not stupid.

1987 Mazda RX7 GXL 1.3 Litre Rotary from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Litre Rotary Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired223618 miles
Most recent distance224016 miles

Summary:

Best Performance For The Money!

Faults:

Thus far I have owned this car for 3 weeks and have found no major problems with it. The power sun roof needs a new track and there are some cosmetics on the interior that need replaced. But other than that, the car has performed near perfect!

General Comments:

For someone who has never owned a Mazda product, I was very impressed with the over all performance of this car. The car is in "sound" shape and is great thrill to drive through twisty-turny back roads.

The cabin is a little small for the taller people in this world, but well worth being a little cramped for the fun this car brings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

1987 Mazda RX7 GXL 1.3 litre non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 litre non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Best bang for your buck

Faults:

I have not had to fix one thing on this car, although I make it hard for something to foul when I work on it every chance I get.

General Comments:

This car, since it's a rotary, is generally a very easy car to own if you understand it.

Rotary engines squirt oil into the combustion chamber to lube the seals and various moving objects. Due to this fact they consume oil at a faster rate than most cars, so you should check your oil often and your engine will last past the 200,000 mile mark.

I bought the car for $500 and that was the best deal I have ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2002

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 20 reviews