1990 Mazda RX7 Convertible 1.3L Naturally Aspirated from North America


Sporty fun that leaves you wanting a little more


Had to replace the engine @ 187023 due to coolant leak which caused the engine to overheat. This in turn warped the rotors and the rotor housings.

Seats have worn out in the side bolsters.

Mazda plastic does not like to be left outside or it fades.

General Comments:

It is a great car to drive, both fun and forgiving in the corners. It is however like dating a supermodel. It will treat you badly for no reason, everyone stares at her, your friends want her, and she's fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2003

1990 Mazda RX7 Non turbo from North America




First it had to have a new engine put in it.

Second, a transmission.

Third, work on the drive shaft.

Fourth, window switch broke.

Fifth, wind shield wipers don't work, but on one speed.

Sixth, rear wind shield wiper doesn't work at all.

Seventh, short in radio.

General Comments:

After all of this work done to the car, when it reaches 70 miles an hour it wants to sound like it is grounding. I can understand why Mazda quit making this car, I would be ashamed to put my name on it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2002

24th Jun 2002, 10:27

You have to understand that it is a used car. You cannot blame Mazda for the abuse the previous owner had done to the car. You should have checked the car more carefully before you bought it.

29th Sep 2002, 16:50

I agree with the above comment regarding the narrow minded review posted. I have a Savannah GT twin turbo. It has cost me more than it's market value in maintrnance and fuel bills, but then its capable of performance to put vehicles 10 times it's price to shame. It's also totally reliable, as these cars are if treated with genuine appreciation of the technical Tour De Force that powers them. If the many second hand examples such as the one you speak of owning were owned by people who could afford to look after them, you probably wouldn't have issue with the reliability now. This is a genuine super-car for those who appreciate such technology, not a bargain babe magnet for those who never will.

4th Nov 2005, 21:09

Yeah first of all I can't believe you said that about the fc. second of all you must of had no knowledge of the car when you bought it and third I bought a 90 fc which if probably the best thing I've done.

12th Mar 2010, 10:55

OK guys let's keep it real, this is a rotary, everyone has had problems with them. But that's OK because this is a drivers car and not bred for the masses or the mechanically unsavvy. I own a FC-tt and do all my own work, so I understand why people would complain about them if they lack understanding. You want reliability? Get an Integra. You want a unique driving experience with a world class hyper revving engine? Get an Rx. And did he really complain about a radio short? Geez, people these days.

1990 Mazda RX7 GTU rotary from North America


This is the most remarkable sports car I have ever driven!


It is remarkable that an engine this small can only obtain 18 miles per gallon, but the performance you receive back is worth the cost.

Short trips, such as from the driveway to the garage, will end any chance you have of starting the RX7 the next day. It is very sensitive to flooding and you dare not touch that gas pedal prior to turning the key, or you will spend the next 30 minutes trying to fire it up. If I remember the rules, it will fire up every time.

Although the car is excellent throughout, the cord seams in the seat covers are wearing thin, which is out of character with the rest of the fabric.

General Comments:

This car is a thrill to drive.

It has the smoothest power I have ever experienced and corners without ever getting off the gas.

The wife hates it... simply jealous!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2001

12th May 2003, 16:29

Bad plugs?

9th Aug 2008, 23:02

I have owned a Turbo II for 10 years and will never sell it, I love it. She still puts a smile on my face every time I drive it.

Mine is modified and has never missed a beat, puts most modern sports cars to shame.

1990 Mazda RX7 Turbo 2 Coupe 2.4 rotary turbo petrol from UK and Ireland


Engines seem to fail after approximately 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

Buy 2 year warranted engine from specialist - fuel consumption is appalling, but speed is scary! Wouldn't swap the car for anything. Ensure regular servicing and maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999