1990 Mazda RX7 Reviews

1990 Mazda RX7 rotary from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission rotary Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Handsome, fast, and reliable. A perfect automobile

Faults:

Engine seals deteriorated, water in engine, at 110,000 miles. I put in a rebuilt rotary for about $4000, installed at the dealership. It's been running after that now for about 4 years.

AC issues, but I have been able to get after market parts and keep the cost down.

Minor repairs, such as brakes and plugs.

This car has a remarkable repair record. I have had it for almost 20 years, and it still runs perfectly, and gives me an amazing amount of power still when I need it out on the highway. I have had it up to 140+ out in the California desert on the way to Vegas, and it never broke a sweat, and it was 11 years old at the time.

General Comments:

This car is my baby. I have had it for 20 years in October, and I will never let it go. I have been driving RX-7's since 1982, and this one is the one that is heaviest and well engineered enough to last.

The interior is small, but it feels like a second skin, I know it so well. It does everything I ask of it, and there are times when I need to have some serious acceleration. It is a screamer, even today, in 3rd or 4th. From 60 to 80 or 90 in about 4 seconds, and smooth as silk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2009

27th Feb 2010, 07:17

I just bought a 90 RX7 5 speed non-turbo. Does anyone have any idea how long these little rotary engines last? This one has 181K on it. I just LOVE IT.

14th Oct 2012, 01:05

Yeah, I've got one here with 260k on it, and it still runs great.

And another one with 199026k on it, and it's a beast. I took it 140 miles one night, and only had 8 gallons in it. It's at half a tank now. If I did my math right, it used 4 gallons in 140 miles = 35 MPG. Is that right?

1990 Mazda RX7 GTU 1.3 rotary from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 rotary Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

More car for your cash

Faults:

The battery was draining overnight, but this was easily fixed. Due to a short in a wire.

Exhaust smell when under heavy acceleration.

Passenger side door will not open from the inside of the car.

Noisy ride with the exhaust, and there are a few rattles here and there that are somewhat annoying.

General Comments:

This car is actually pretty quick for a N/A 1.3L rotary. I had thought you pretty much needed the turbo to have any speed, but this car runs strong. It had an engine rebuild, but unfortunately I know nothing of what was replaced. It runs well and I guess that's what counts.

I've owned many modified cars with lots of suspension work and tuning, but this car may out-handle any of my previously owned vehicles. It seriously handles as if it were on rails.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2007

1990 Mazda RX7 GX 13B from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 13B Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

This car rocks!!!

Faults:

Mint!!!

General Comments:

This car rips off the line excellent for an NA. An Apexi power air intake and N1 Apexi exhaust lets it breath and run smooth. With just after-market rubber "stock susp" it improves handling greatly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2006

1990 Mazda RX7 RX-7 Turbo 2 1.3 Liter turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Liter turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carMazda mazda

Summary:

Fun to drive

Faults:

The rear struts have gone out twice. all vacuum hoses needed to be replaced at 75,000.

General Comments:

Well it's a very reliable car if you pay attention to it, its also very fast and you can just beat up on it all day long and it will still give the same performance every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th May, 2004

1990 Mazda RX7 GXL 1.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired142024 miles
Most recent distance145800 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

You know what you're getting yourself into when you buy one of these suckers

Faults:

Driveshaft grinded @ 145400 miles.

Thermostat housing cover leaked, needed replacement.

Rusted exhaust pipe.

The idle has been a problem ever since the air conditioning system was replaced, car dies at every other stop, especially after freeway driving.

Taillight cracked.

Hatch cover (basically generic corrugated cardboard) split in the middle.

General Comments:

This RX-7 GXL has been fortunate enough to be as pampered as it has been, I've purchased a new air conditioning system, driveshaft, exhaust system, and countless replacement parts.

Owned it for over a year in which over $4000 was spent just on parts/service.

First of all, I purchased the automatic because the engine was recently rebuilt, I didn't realize the mistake I had just made.

The automatic transmission doesn't do the rotary engine any justice, the acceleration is just horrendous, 0-60 MPH in just 10.1 seconds, compared to 7.2 on the standard transmission.

Fuel economy is a miserable 12.3 miles per gallon, mostly city driving.

Air conditioning is not impressive, then again the RX-7 was never meant to have air conditioning (but try owning a daily driver in Texas without air conditioning, you probably won't want to).

The suspension is as hard as a rock, although you can feel the slightest road imperfection, it is very stable and firm footed.

The cargo space is very limited (6 cubic feet), you can't go to the store for mostly anything. in this car.

The power sliding sun roof is a nice touch, in addition to the suspension adjuster.

Mazda of North America should be shunned for their discontinuation of various vital 89-91 RX-7 parts including the notorious cargo hatch cover ($310, if you could find one) and the tail light assembly ($375 each).

If you're in the market for a 2nd generation RX-7, make sure it's a 5 speed, and make sure you have enough money to keep up with it (hey, it's a sports car) and be aware that you will have a very difficult time selling one if you ever decide to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2003

30th Jun 2005, 06:16

I totally agree with you about lack of parts for the older year RX7's. I'm trying to locate a thermostat housing for the 1990 5 speed model and it's impossible to find.

27th Feb 2010, 07:19

I have found lots of parts for my 90 RX7 at Pick & Pull.. although I haven't needed any yet.. just bring it up online. Very reasonable as well.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews