2001 Mazda Tribute Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Mazda Tribute LX 3.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carNissan Frontier

Summary:

Mechanically very reliable

Faults:

Rear window washer motor seized (My daughter has a Escape and same thing happened)

Front left and right rear door mechanisms broke. Had to order parts from Mazda. Car was unusable for a week. (Again same thing happened to left rear on daughters Escape)

Radio sometimes shows strange looking hieroglyphic type symbols (but it still plays fine)

General Comments:

Rides very nice and is very comfortable.

Feels larger then it really is.

Interior feels too "plasticy"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2007

2001 Mazda Tribute LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Good if you get one without these serious transmission problems

Faults:

The transmission gave out at 77,000 miles. The fluid was changed and within 48 hours the car shook violently at an intersection then lost power at the transmission. The dealer says the transmission has been failing for a while and all that can be done is a rebuild for $3,600. This is pathetic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2006

30th Jan 2006, 21:26

Did you ever change the tranny fluid regularly? Or just when it all started to go wrong (which was too late)?

23rd May 2006, 13:16

Yes, I understand your frustration, my transmission went out at 35,000 miles in the middle of the desert (route 66 en route to Arizona and yes, I do keep up with my regular fluid changes/checks) at midnight, on top of MANY other problems that I have had, I think this is just a defect in the 2003 models, as everyone else I have spoken to who own a 2004, 2005 or 2006 year model have never had a problem with their Tributes.

2001 Mazda Tribute ES V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Buy a Toyota next time... :)

Faults:

Electrical issues galore, radio shorted out and caught fire within 6 months.

Another time, I turned on blinker and all the dash lights blink in unison - took dealer 3 trips in to locate problem.

Windows wouldn't roll down.

Car would stall if taken out of drive.

One of the service lights is always on. As soon as I have one fixed another one comes on - right now my radiator light is on (again).

Latest issues is when I take the key out, the radio comes back on and drains the battery. Whenever I take it in to service the car won't act up so they can't fix it. : (Extremely aggravating.

Every other time I have the brakes done the rotors supposedly "have to" be replaced - not a cheap venture.

Car hesitates and makes an odd rattling noise sometimes on acceleration - dealer has been unable to recreate and fix.

Numerous recalls from the beginning of ownership.

General Comments:

I love the size, handling and pick up it has.

Unfortunately it is a high maintenance vehicle which is extremely irritating to say the least.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

2001 Mazda Tribute LE-V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Glad it wasn't worse

Faults:

The ignition coil blew at 55K miles. 5k out of warranty and the dealership wanted none of it. When we traded the car in a few months ago, it had about 21 different recalls on it. Dangerous ones too. We settled for another Tribute because I really do like the car despite the fact that it is a Ford and that I had all the problems I did with the first one. I was so glad to get rid of the 2001 before the other 5 ignition coils decided to blow.

General Comments:

This will probably be my last Tribute though, after this one, I'm getting a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

2001 Mazda Tribute ES-v6 3.0L Duratec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L Duratec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

I won't buy another Tribute!

Faults:

Engine O2 sensor failure turned on Engine check light at 50,000. Front window leaked when New, (Mazda Dealer never could find where the water was coming in). Air conditioning never cools the interior of car, have had the dealer check it at least 3 times and was unable to repair. Latest problem no compression at number one Cylinder, Mazda Dealer Recommended a Long Block, After charging $80.00 to do and engine Diagnostic on the Tribute. Asked Dealer why a car with only 61,000 miles would need a New Engine? Dealer had no answer. Mazda wants $5000.00 for a new engine. Disassembled the engine Myself found Broken Valve spring on #1 Exhaust Valve of Front Cylinder head. Valve Damaged Cylinder head and Piston. Dealer Feels Mazda has no responsibility for the Engine Failure.

General Comments:

Mazda Feels They have no responsibilty to the Customer.

Buyer beware.

No more Mazda or Fords for this Customer, Family and Friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2004

5th Sep 2004, 23:59

I'm sorry to hear about the problems with your Tribute, but alas I too am a disgruntled Tribute owner. Mine is a 2003 Australian spec V6 model. Since the first month of ownership I've had nothing, but problems. Here's a brief description of my woes. Noisy engine, rough idle, O2 sensor failed, ineffective air conditioner, paint starting to crack, electric windows (both front and one rear) failed to operate, interior starting to fall apart, and the list goes on. The dealer has rectified faults, but if the car was well made it should never have happened, as others have pointed out this is more Ford than Mazda. This was my first and last Mazda, will be trading the Tribute in next week on a Xtrail. It presently has 38,000km, would hate to see it in a couple of years.

2001 Mazda Tribute LE-V6 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carAcura Vigor

Summary:

A nice compact SUV

Faults:

Both front bearings had to be replaced.

Both stabilizers had to be replaced.

Both rear brake cylinders had to be replaced.

An air intake hose clamp was missing causing the hose to come loose.

A transmission fluid hose clamp was not tighten causing the hose to come loose and spilling out transmission fluid.

General Comments:

Engine and transmission are running great.

Very comfortable and easy handling truck.

Weak wheel bearings, suspension and brake system parts.

Overall a nice SUV.

I like to drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th August, 2004

2001 Mazda Tribute LX 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

An acceptable vehicle for the price

Faults:

CD Player quit working after one week.

Check engine light kept coming on between oil changes. Dealer kept replacing the gas tank cap and suggesting that the cap was not tightened properly after fill up. After four visits, dealer finally determined problem was elsewhere (some hose?) and light has stayed off.

Front brakes worn to 10% at 60000 km. Rotors worn so much they could not be resurfaced. Total bill: $510 Canadian at Mazda dealership for front brake job only. Rear brakes were at 75% and not touched. Dealer admits this is characteristic of Mazda Tributes.

P235 70R16 Firestone Wilderness HT tires almost worn out at 60000 km. All driving in city or highway.

General Comments:

Automatic transmission shifter is in an awkward place.

Visibility is good and interior is quite roomy.

Vehicle is fun to drive. The V6 engine has no shortage of power. Ride is a little rough.

This vehicle has only 2WD which is fine for 95% of the year. For the rest of the time such as during snow storms and severe ice, 4WD would be the preferred choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2003

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 16 reviews