1995 McLaren F1 from UK and Ireland - Comments

23rd Jun 2004, 07:14

I am Napoleon, if he says he is R.A.

26th Jun 2004, 09:57

Firstly, how many cars really were sold. As I have read 70, 50, then 110 and so on. Does anyone really know what they are talking about?

Also, would Mr. R. Atkinson have made spelling mistakes and used such appalling grammar in a review that he knew so many green-eyed lunatics would be reading and taking apart to analyse?

I'm going to have my supper now. Good evening, gentlemen.

8th Jul 2004, 06:08

Nice try to the original author, I was almost convinced it was genuine until he said he sold it to an elerly chap who lives overseas. If you read last months EVO magazine, Rowan Atkinson writes a brilliant article testing the new Porsche Carrera GT against a McLaren F1 (which the McLaren creamed by the way) Although it wasn't his McLaren he was driving, he still owned his original F1. I can't blame you for dreaming though, the McLaren F1 is my favorite car of all time and even 10 years on is still to be beaten!

19th Jan 2005, 17:47

Everyone thinks the Rowan Atkinson review is fake.

The fact of the matter is though - Rowan Atkinson is indeed a petrol head and DOES write reviews.

For example not long ago, he wrote an article for the UK based "Evo" magazine where he compared the magnificent new Porsche GT to the mighty F1. Naturally, he concluded that the F1 was better. There might even be a chance that he has stumbled upon this carsurvey.org web site and has read the reviews on the F1 himself (probably with a chuckle and giggle or two), since this web site seems to rank very highly on Google.

Anyway the point is, I agree that it is very likely that most (if not all) of these F1 reviews are fake.

Then again, it seems that many people think the super rich (with super cars) never use their computers. I'm sure a few famous people will disagree with you. Actually most famous and rich people probably love surfing the net, since it lets them be themselves without being harassed. Did you ever think of that?

Hmmm... you're probably wondering what fool is commenting now. Maybe I'm famous. Maybe I'm not.

14th Apr 2005, 19:27

He wouldn't be useing MPH, he would be using KPH, takes way to much effort to convert since most people on this site use kph.

3rd May 2005, 11:55

It wasn't his review. And yes the McLaren is still his, in a burgundy colour. I should know - I've been in it.

1st Jun 2005, 18:25

Rowan Atkinson is a great comedian, but he can't drive, even if his life depended on it, he crashed the car as soon as he bought it! Sad, so very sad!

7th Jun 2005, 07:05

He wrote it, I spoke to him yesterday at a motorsport event, I actually asked him about his F1 and joked with him about pranging it.

He took it all in good humour.

He DID, I repeat... DID say he wrote a review on the vehicle in question and laughed about all the neg comments on here about him not writing it.

So that's settles that really.

He also has a custom Shelby mustang on order, so watch for a review on that (maybe)

The guy above is saying its the wrong age...who's to say the press didn't get it wrong?

16th Jun 2005, 09:40

Review must be fake, just look at the number of grammar word usage errors. For someone so linguistically adept as Atkinson (watch Blackadder and The Thin Blue Line, see his mastery of English). Cannot believe he could have said "more power then you will ever realistically need" (it's more THAN). Must be fake.

31st Jul 2005, 03:00

Maybe his spell check was on the blink?

30th Sep 2005, 06:13

Actually I have chassis #290 and it's more power than I'll ever realisticly neededer THAN.

CHEERS!

R.A.

14th Dec 2005, 10:40

I'm getting a big kick out of this argument. Actually, I don't really see why Rowan Atkinson couldn't have written this review. He's a human being like anyone else, even if he's a celebrity, and even celebrities have computers and go online from time to time, I'm sure.

As a writer and editor by profession, I'd like to add that even I get "than" and "then" mixed up at times. It's a very easy mistake to make, especially if you're in a hurry. In addition, although I am not trying to knock Mr. Atkinson's use of English, most articles that appear in magazines have been edited by someone other than the original author, at least to some extent. At the very least, any potential spelling or grammatical errors are removed. (Can't say the same for our local newspaper, but that's another story.)

A.B.

Canada.

19th Dec 2005, 06:24

You`re ALL nuts- in a nice sort of way.

18th Apr 2006, 18:31

I agree with you that the facts are saying that Rowan Atkinson did not write this review, but I think that there is the possibility that he did.

One question though: why did he sign his name as "B."?

6th Jun 2006, 08:35

Why would he be using kph?

13th Sep 2006, 20:47

First of all, only 6 are made each year, all different in trim (and legal status about being a road car). Whether or not Rowan Atkinson did write this review or didn't, there is no point in talking about it when you know the facts of the accident already. Obviously, the cream-of-the-crop viewers, hat know so very much about R.A. and his personal car, should lay off since they know the truth about everything. Now end this stupid nonsense since its really childish.

21st Sep 2006, 09:48

I have read quite a few of the comments on this website on a number of different cars -- this has to be the best debate so far.. is it real? Or isn't it? Could it be that 'B' stands for Bean?

Rock on Rowan, give us some more comments!

Cheers,

Armin.

5th Apr 2008, 07:22

I really love the maclaren F1.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site