1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 190E 2.0 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Unbelievably good


Rear electric window motor.

Nothing else.

Multi-link suspension a bit tired when I parted with it.

General Comments:

Bullet proof.

Did 40mpg at constant 60mph! in 5th.

Written off when hit by artic on motorway. We walked away from it uninjured. A very strong car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 190E 2.6l 2.6L, straight six from UK and Ireland


See one! Go and buy it!


The only thing is the distributor arm that cracked, after being replaced the problem was sorted.

General Comments:

I previously owned another 190E 2.0l. So when I went out to buy a new car I knew what to look for: another 190, but this time a 2.6l.

It has the best ride handling quality that a sedan can give you, and you will not believe that is a sedan once you start driving it.

The petrol consumption on the 2.6l is the same as a Vauxhall Corsa 1.2l.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2005

10th Jun 2005, 09:21

I think it looks hot, esp. with the large spoiler.

2nd Mar 2006, 06:57

I own a 2.6 and the mpg is not the same as a nova.

31st Jan 2007, 06:27

2.6 has the same fuel consumption as a 1.2?! I wish! Beautiful car, but over here in the UK petrol is $2/litre, which makes noticing the difference between a 1.2 & 2.6 a little easier!


23rd Oct 2008, 03:28

My 190E 2.6 auto does 27mpg around town and 30 mpg on a long (500klm) trip @ around 110kph - a bit different from my 6.9 which did 14mpg around town and 17mpg on a trip. Son's 420SEL does 22mpg gently around town but 17 mpg if not. E280 24v does 25mpg city and 32 mpg country. Imperial gallon (4.55 litres) not usa.

4th Nov 2009, 06:20

I am being given a Mercedes 190e 2.6 automatic 1991 with 95k miles for NOTHING when my brother gets a new company car. Yeeehoo, can't wait, I've driven it a few times it's stunning. Everything works perfectly, I hope he doesn't trash it LOL.

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.6 from North America




Right after I bought it at 120,000 miles, the problems were detected as follows:

-Smog air pump clutch went bad, made a noise. Ended up removing the smog air pump.

122,000 miles - Recharged air conditioning refrigerant.

122,000 miles - passenger's side electric seat controller broke. Replaced the controller.

124,000 miles- Found out that water pump is leaking & needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is more fun & comfortable to drive, compared to most full size japanese sedan.

Handling is excellent & make you feel good when driving it.

2.6 engine is quite responsive, enough acceleration when passing.

The interior made from the first class materials & the head rest is one of the best made, very comfortable.

I like this car better than the mercedes E class from the same year, since the size is more compact without loosing the luxury of mercedes.

Fuel Economy: It is still reasonable for having an average of 19-25 MPG (city/highway)

However, if you are now looking for this car, PLEASE PAY ATTENTION!!!

Buy from someone who takes care of it or otherwise, don't buy this car!

Look at all the history & service records.

Repair cost & parts are really expensive compared to most Japanese cars. But, it's worth when you buy the good one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 190D 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland


Strong reliable class machine


A belt tensioner damper failed due to age so it was replaced, easy.

Other things where replaced on service times due to high mileage were.

They where roll bar rubbers, vacuum pump, Ball joints, Alternator overhaul (failed bearings), new injectors, ect.

All due too bad maintenance of the previous owners.

General Comments:

The car was lovely to look at and I loved it. It was poorly maintained and I was entertained fixing the running gear.

It was a great chassis which cornered very well for a larger car.

The build is strong, and cabin is very comfortable for age. You can see how it must have been new.

I will always drive Mercedes Benz now as this 190D sold me on the engineering and the class I felt as I cruised around my home town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004