1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 1.8 E from Croatia

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 E Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 kilometres
Most recent distance171000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Why we cannot buy new one!?

Faults:

Everything is perfect, for now. Big difference between driving this car and for example R. Clio- 190 is metal& solid material made old fashion car.

General Comments:

I have red 190 E, which I have purchased from the first owner. The car is in perfect condition, nice seats, electric sunroof, windows, etc. It look very clasy, beautyfull silhouette.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 190E Cosworth 2.5-16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5-16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Class engineering

Faults:

Radiator leaked.

General Comments:

The 190E 2.5-16v has a great feel-good factor.

It performs really well when you stamp on the pedal to the metal.

When I bought the car, I was stunned by its corning ability. The guy selling the car threw it round a corner in the wet, and it didn't even lose its back end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Fun to drive, but many repairs

Faults:

Flex disk at 84k. Tensioner, tension shock, belt also.

Water-pump at 90k.

Timing chain, seal at 91k.

Rear brakes replaced, rotors and pads at 88k.

General Comments:

The problems listed are common on these models as well as the 300e. Flex disk, water-pump, tensioner and other rubber seals. This car is almost twelve years old now, and it is not surprising. If you are going to buy this car be prepared to spend money on repairs. Make sure you have all records or don't buy it!

This car is so much fun to drive. It is slow off the line, but once it gets going it goes 80 MPH no problem, and feels like you're going 50.

Solid as a rock, feels like a tank, this thing is heavy! Craftsmanship is incredible, and handles much better than my 97 Toyota.

Auto trannie shifts hard and is awkward at first, but you get used to it. This is common on the 300e's also.

Parts for this car were assembled in different factories, and then completed in another. This was supposed to cut down on cost. This is a solid car that is a pleasure to drive, but I wonder how much quality was sacrificed to make it? I've had mechanics tell me they are essentially the same thing as the 300e, and had others shake their head in disapproval upon mention of this model.

I certainly like this model, and see that all my repairs have been based on time, and parts that eventually weaken and wear out. Although there is something in the back of my mind that tells me that a 300e would have been a better buy.

Need a new oxygen sensor and muffler now. Rear control arm bushing, and track rod on the way out also. A lot of work in one year. Probably going to a C Class in January.

My advice on repairs is this: don't go to dealers! They are twice as much, slow, and will do the most expensive repairs first, before doing the cheapest. Take all afternoon in the phone book and call around for a good mechanic that works on Mercedes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2001

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 Cosworth 2.5-16 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5-16 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Shogun

Summary:

What a weapon!!!

Faults:

Rev counter has stopped working (any ideas anyone??)

General Comments:

Always use a specialist for tuning & servicing... Mercedes dealers don't have a clue how to "deal" with a Cossy!!!

The specialist I use says that this switchable auto model is quicker than any of the manual models he works on.

Fit 17" wheels with 40 profile tyres to really sharpen up the handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

26th Aug 2005, 07:13

Re. rev counter not working.

I had the same problem, after wasting hours trying to fix it by dismantling the clocks, it turned out to be a fractured fuse!

Good luck

Dave.

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 Cosworth 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carGolf GTi

Summary:

An M3 equal

Faults:

Air conditioning keeps loosing its gas.

Doesn't like ticking over in the cold.

Does need regular changes of spark plugs & must be twin headers to make it perform.

Other than that, trouble free!

General Comments:

This car although old is still highly regarded in the trade. It is well built, sought after, & performs well, even by today's standards.

It needs a Cosworth badge on the boot (as I've done) so people appreciate the car in front, plus a nice set of new alloys help its dated looks.

Still an M3 equal, and gradually getting appreciated as such by the younger generation, this is not that fast away from the lights (0-60 in 7 secs) but a real motorway stormer once you wind it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

1st Nov 2001, 11:40

Hello from the other side of the pond. I stumbled on your 16 valve commentaries and as I've been seeking and researching one for a while, I can respond to the Cosworth connection. MB wanted a rally car to replace the SLC and opted for the 201 chassis (190). At the time, 16 valve technology was rather novel, though Cosworth had already perfected it. MB decided that instead of doing their own 16 valve twin cam head, they'd contract Cosworth. Initially MB actually sent the 2.3 blocks over to Cosworth for installation of the head. Later, MB stated making the head in house.

Hey, the headlights you get on the 201 are far superior to the ones we got over here. What would a good set of used headlights cost in the UK? I'd need the whole unit, including the lense?

Cheers from Kurt in TX. 1986 16 valve.

24th Sep 2004, 11:55

Hi to all you 190e Cosworth fans. I purchased my 190e 2.3-16v two years ago and just luv the car. In the two years that I have owned it I've had no problems what so ever with the car except normal wear and tear such as an exhaust, brake pads etc. It's a 1986 model in smoke silver, full leather, 16" AMG alloys. The car has now covered 176,000 miles and is still going strong. Believe it or not, the car is still running on the original clutch. I bought the car from a friend who owned it from new. The car is still immaculate and that's the way I intend to keep it.

Take care Dave/Scotland.

6th Feb 2006, 14:33

I take it you aren't counting the engine then...lol.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews