1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 1.8 petrol from Singapore

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C200 Sport Estate

Summary:

Sensible

Faults:

Air conditioning, new compressor.

Radiator.

New tyres.

Small bits of plastic, easily replaced in Singapore.

Petrol pump.

General Comments:

Fantastic car. Shame to scrap - but rules say 10 year old cars must be scrapped.

Do not choose white paint unless you have a maid.

Great at 200,000km and could do much more. Still looks like new. Very reliable and drives like a new car. But parts keep on having to be replaced, But that makes it feel like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

12th Oct 2002, 05:11

I too own a Mercedes Benz 190-E, year 1990 and the car is doing just fantastic. Sitting inside this speedster makes you feel like you have a total command on the road yet you are safe inside there. The only areas which need careful handling are the tires, lubricants top up, brake disc pads and that's it. Given a chance this 2.3cc automatic on full throttle can zip past many newer ones... Replacements have taken place which includes, petrol pump, fuel distributor and ECU unit besides spark plugs which are periodical.

Worth spinning the devil once...

20th May 2003, 01:44

Sadly, the most common (or only) variants of the 190e are the 1.8 and 2.0 here in Singapore.

I've heard from a Merc friend that a couple of 2.3s and 2.5s made it here, but have since been scrapped as per local regulations.

Recently saw a 2.3-16valve for sale in the papers.However, the sticker price on it was a little ridiculous.

By the way, I drive a 1.8 and by no means does it feel underpowered as when I drove my friend's 200E.

Probably has to do with the power to weight ratio...

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.5-16 Cosworth 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

Eat me, Porsche boy

Faults:

A few problems with clutch master and slave cylinders when purchased, as the car had been in storage for 2 years.

Apart from that, just general wear and tear, routine maintenance required.

The air conditioning system loses gas if not run regularly.

General Comments:

The best all round car I have ever owned, superior in every aspect to many more modern cars.

Dog-leg Gertrag gearbox with first away and left, then 2-5 in an H pattern takes a little getting used to.

General Mercedes dealers cannot service the car properly, and will put standard 190 brake fluid, gearbox and differential oil in. Needs a specialist.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2000

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.0i manual petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.0i manual petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Had car two years and done 20k miles (now has 80k miles on it). Always had slight whine from diff. (not got worse) and rather clunky gearchange. Nothing actually gone wrong though. Just change the oils, plugs and filters.

General Comments:

High fifth gear gives very economical and relaxed cruising - 35mpg. Never got less than 29mpg, even when driving 100% of time in town. Feels like 50mph when doing 90mph. Been very cheap to run. No rust, no leaks, no creaks or rattles. Everything lasts well. Definitely a very good car - would buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 1999

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.0 auto petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.0 auto petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Well, we're on 170k miles and I have done 40k in last 2 years. Rear differential replaced £300, all discs replaced, pattern fronts £9 each and whirring in airbox sorted, dodgy fan.

General Comments:

Read the others and I don't know how performance can be given 8 and 9 out of 10. The car is a slug, but get it up to 85-90 and it cruises effortlessly. Quite juicy on petrol, especially when towing. Fantastically comfortable car, I don't think I will ever get rid of it. Recently had a Jag XJV8 2 months old for the weekend, a £50k car and I can genuinely say I was delighted to get back into my 190.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 1999

2nd Sep 2002, 07:15

My 190e is a fantastic motor car. Owned it for 6 months now, and the only thing to go wrong is:exhaust blowing, and one day of overheating (due to lack of water).Have the auto version, with sports option. model 190e.Year 1990.

2nd Sep 2004, 10:24

Your 190E seems slow because it is the 2.0L model. Yes, you are right if people wrongly rated 9 out of 10 for the 2.0L, but there are faster models, such as the 2.6L and the 2.3-16V models.

20th Jul 2010, 13:18

I use a 190 E 1.8 1990. I've used it for 1 year. It's very cute and comfortable. My car has air conditioning and it has an automatic gearbox. It is not suitable for north Cyprus's road because my car is left hand drive, but I love it and use it for all of my works.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews