Mercedes-Benz 250 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1967 Mercedes-Benz 250 S from North America

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Rolling in style

Faults:

My car has run smoothly since I have gotten it. The cars clutch however is touchy, if you hold the clutch to long the car drags. As well if you let go of the clutch to fast you jump. The brake booster has been replaced 2 times since I have had it. ($310 Dollars)

General Comments:

The car has great get up and go! Handling is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2003

29th Jul 2006, 10:39

I don't think there was enough information on this vehicle. and I also think if someone wants to sell something they should put an up to date picture on their add.

1972 Mercedes-Benz 250 2.5 Litre petrol (Leaded) from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Litre petrol (Leaded) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

The ultimate car for anyone that wants something different!

Faults:

Battery will sometimes run flat (must be an old battery, will get a new one soon!)

The dash clock does not work, neither does the automatic column shift selector display (which I am getting fixed next week for approx 200 - 300).

General Comments:

Now, I read the review before I bought this car from the guy from Israel and the other reviews wary of the things I should look out for when purchasing.

However, this car has been looked after all its life, and is becoming a true classic.

I am 16, and have just started driving it, the column shift automatic takes a bit to get used to. Have given it a thorough clean etc, installed a new Clarion sound system and the car is running like an absolute dream! Could not have dreamed for a better first car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

1978 Mercedes-Benz 250 2.5 Inline 6 cylinder from Philippines

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Inline 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

An old car with undying engineering, performance, and soul

Faults:

After acquiring the 1977 European Mercedes 250, the major problems were overheating as I live in the Philippines with tropical climate. Also the stock 50 amp alternator is giving me problems and affecting the performance of the aftermarket air conditioning and my aftermarket stereo.

General Comments:

The car is a dream even if its almost 30 years old.

I came from a brand new Toyota Corolla and got rid of it for this W123 work horse - tank.

Nothing compares to the German engineered car. I have nothing against Japanese autos, I still drive my wife's Honda Civic from time to time. The feel, the ride, the sound of a normally aspirated car is different!

Parts are plentiful even in the Philippines - brand new and genuine at that. Parts are also way cheaper than that of my Toyota.

The fuel consumption may be an issue as this is an in-line 6 with Weber carburetor (the original Solex carburetor has warped with age and heat) but who cares! With performance and power, there has to be a sacrifice made. A welcome trade off.

I am currently restoring the car to original specifications except for the air conditiong unit and the carburetor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

26th Feb 2005, 01:37

Just got a 1965 mb 250s w108. I'm from the Philippines also. Please recommend me a good shop to restore my old timer. Thanks Pare!

TJ.

27th May 2005, 09:20

Pictures please. It would be awesome!!!

14th Jan 2010, 18:39

Folks.

I am from Laguna and currently driving a 77 300d manual. I am contemplating on swapping with a 250 automatic, later model same 123 body. Any thoughts on the pros and cons? Thanks.

15th Jan 2010, 14:20

Six-cylinder Mercedes petrol/gasoline engines are durable and smooth, but not renowned for their fuel consumption, even relative to other similar-sized engines. Even worse if you add an automatic gearbox to it.

Anyone driving newer cars with automatics will notice a difference, because the complicated and expensive computer that controls the gearbox (sometimes in conjunction with the engine's fuel injection) optimises everything from emissions, gearchange, performance, and hence fuel economy. Old school automatics, which are full hydraulic units (Mercedes uses 4-speed units I believe for that era) in comparison can be sluggish in response, and fuel consumption, depending on the driving environment, can be pretty bad.

If you're going for a 250 with automatic, hopefully it's a fuel-injected model (i.e., a 250E, if that version exists). That will at least make the most efficient use of fuel possible, and give better performance. If it's a carb, for heaven's sake, given the age of the car, either get the carb rebuilt, or get a new one. The carb is the most vital part of how your engine runs day to day, and worn out parts do not help with driveability nor fuel economy, if the car labours needlessly, or doesn't idle right.

28th Feb 2012, 09:39

I live in Columbia, South Carolina, and also have a 1977 European spec Mercedes 250. It rides and handles excellently. I noticed in your comments you could acquire parts easily. Could you provide information on how I could do the same? Thank you very much.

Mercedes owner... North America.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews