1996 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Elegance 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The finest cars money can buy!!!

Faults:

This Wonderful over engineered car has had a couple of faults listed below.

1) Very squeaky windows at the front

2) Scratches all down the windows now

3) Major tick-over problems

4) Heavily scratches window at front

5) Alarm not always working correctly.

General Comments:

Wonderful, high quality, classy.

All of the above describe this car.

When I decided to buy this car I was told by the garage that every time I get behind the wheel of this car I will smile, and guess what they were not lying.

I love to climb in and be cosseted by all the wonderful touches, the wood and the big Mercedes badge at the end of the bonnet.

The big plus with this car is its power, it is very powerful considering the size and the economy is not bad either when driven in economy mode.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

10th Oct 2003, 12:44

I have a C200 and agree that it is a great car and I too smile when I'm behind the wheel. I would be interested to hear more regarding the alarm problems as I too have had intermittent problems.

26th Mar 2004, 01:10

Yes I have a C280 which is a great car, but as noted the front windows are scratched by the door lock waterproofing rubber covers. the window runners need to be greased at the rear to prevent the 'Screeching. The big pest is the alarm which at the most inappropriate times will not unset correctly sometimes leaving you stuck for some minutes.

4th Jul 2004, 19:23

Yes I agree with all the comments above. I have a C200 Elegance Automatic Transmission 1996 which is the best car I've ever had.

Yes the front windows (especially the right one) are scratched, but you can prevent it by spraying the door-lock waterproofing rubber cover with 'STP Son of A Gun' once a month.

The battery of the alarm must be replaced once every 6 months to avoid problems.

I use the MOBIL 1 oil and changed it every 10,000km and the engines run smoothly.

It is very quiet inside the car and very comfortable too.

The fuel consumption is considered economy to the power that we get from this car.

2nd Nov 2009, 06:08

Yes I have read the advertised mpg rating of this car, I need to know the reality. What is really the per mile or mpg rating for it?

3rd Jan 2011, 10:55

I have a C200 Elegance automatic (1996).

The horn doesn't work, nor can I find the location of the horn.

Any help would be appreciated.

Johnathon.

jag@godfreyandgodfrey.com.

28th Jan 2011, 01:31

@Johnathon.

The horn for the C-Class is located at the left-driver-front-tire. If you look closely, there's a patch-covering, which when removed gives access to the horn.

29th Apr 2012, 15:08

Hi, are you sure this is the location of the horn? I can't find one, but there is an alarm horn unit bolted to the chassis leg on the inside behind the plastic covers. Does this double up as a standard horn?

Thanks. I can be contacted at sandy@mags-ltd.fsbusiness.co.uk

Any help would be much appreciated, as the MOT is due in 27 days.

1996 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C-220 ? from North America

Summary:

The best car in the world except for the higher models

Faults:

Since I have had My 1996 C-220 it has been a dream. My family has been driving Mercedes since 1973, and we have had no problems with them to date. my c-220 drives well. is built to the highest of quilt. It is a little expensive to service, but if you shop around you can find cheaper prices.

General Comments:

I would recomend A Mercedes-Benz to anyone who can afford it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

1996 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C220 2.2 liter from North America

Summary:

A good commuter Mercedes

Faults:

My check engine warning light has come on during the 3rd year of the warranty period, but the problem was the oxygen sensor went out because I probably put in unleaded plus gas instead of premium gas.

Also, my radio powered antenna wouldn't come down even though I had the radio switched off, but had that problem replaced on the 3rd year of the warranty period.

Two of the remote keyless entry controls didn't work, but had that replaced during the 3rd year of the warranty period.

My passenger right front seat was loose, but I had that tightened during the 3rd year warranty period.

Currently, my high beam switch, passenger right side view powered mirror, and the rear window lockout switch don't work, but it's not a big deal.

The only accessory pieces that are broken are the cassette storage console door box and the tape deck door, but I don't care.

General Comments:

The rear doorways are cramped and narrow for passengers to get in and out of the car. The rear seats are cramped and narrow for 3 passengers to sit, but for 2 it's not too bad, although the legroom availability could be improved.

The acceleration is a bit slow when merging onto the freeway or merging uphill to pass cars quickly, but at the high end speed from 60 MPH and up, the car drives fast. But the car is reliable and beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2001