2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class 200 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A second rate load of rubbish

Faults:

Completely reliable in the time I owned it.

I had a puncture and could not get the alloy wheel off (A common problem according to the RAC)

Tyres are expensive to replace.

General Comments:

Underpowered with an unrefined engine.

I'm 6'3" tall and did not fit comfortably in this car. No room for knees or legs.

Dealer service.. ha ha.. what dealer service. The Merc dealers are very arrogant and unhelpful, but they charge for this lack of help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

25th Jun 2007, 04:39

If you could not fit comfortably in it, why did you sign a contract to buy it?

10th Nov 2008, 11:17

I can agree with this comment. This C Class is a junk at its best. I have had all the plastic parts in the car break. Cheap Cheap Cheap. I didn't even buy the car and I still hate it. I got it as a gift and I hated it from day 1. Mine has 75,000 miles on it and it's falling apart already. You get what you pay for. Lesson learned for me: When someone buys you a C Class. Just say no. Give me an E Class.

27th Apr 2011, 04:19

If the car has serious problems, yea you go ahead and complain, but is it the car's problem that you are 6'3" and you can't fit your long legs in it? Don't you know it's a C class or didn't you sit in the car before buying it?

Tyre got flat... How is it a car's issue? Can't take it off, it could be subjective problem, not with all the C class.

2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C280 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

The finest production automobile made today!

Faults:

Luckily, not a single thing!

General Comments:

Excellent car in all categories. Typical Mercedes-Benz in terms of quality. These cars are notoriously expensive to maintain owning to parts costs and general dealership labor rates. However, all things considered, I think this is one of the best production autos built today.

I traded in my old 1996 C280 and bought my current C280 in Germany (via the European Delivery Program). I fully plan to do the same for my next Mercedes-Benz!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

24th Jun 2001, 01:20

This sounds like a biased opinion.

If you review C280 in Lemon-Aid, and if you buy one, it will confirm that the 1995 C280 was prone to intermittent electrical problems.

Interior noise if higher than normal.

14th Oct 2001, 02:53

This is a 2000 model, therefore the body style and model run have changed.

2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Sport 2.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

Electric mirror adjuster failed in one direction.

Intermittent fuel guage fault.

General Comments:

Comfortable car. Adequate performance and superb handling.

Entry-level "classic" specification a bit basic but mostly addressed in the Sport and Elegance models. Good value car but some options over-priced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2000

2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C280 Elegance 2.8 V6 from South Africa

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A compact executive express

Faults:

One or two trim rattles have emerged. Nothing serious. Also, not impressed that the number-plate was attached to the car using double-sided scotch tape. Slight creaking in the passenger door.

General Comments:

Fantastic car. I have owned a number of different brands, the Merc beats the lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 18 reviews