19th Jan 2003, 19:20

I have a 2001 clk 320 with 27k miles. Have blown fog lights out 8 times and a headlight once. Other annoying electrical problems a swell. I have had many problems with the power windows as well. Now have a rattle in the drivers side door. Car drives great, but these problems are inexcusable and are driving me crazy.

30th Apr 2003, 23:57

I lease an 01' clk 320. It has 50K miles- ouch! Just got back from the shop and had the motor mounts replaced. Other problems were relatively minor so far. The key went bad, and required two days to reprogram. Otherwise, great car, great looking, just hope it doesn't fall apart in the next two years!

12th Jun 2003, 12:40

I was thinking about trading in my 1995 BMW 525i on a 1998 CLK 320 with 54,000 miles on the odo. After reading everyones impressions I am starting to get skeptical. I'd like some owners feedback if you would. Thanks, Bill from Chicago.

19th Nov 2003, 15:37

I bought a 1998 clk320 at 80,600 miles...I've done 6000 miles and the car has been perfect. in 98 they sold +5000 in the US alone so don't let a few problems here and there spoil the picture.

19th Jul 2004, 21:25

I have a 1999 clk 320 coupe with all of the aftermarket Brabus goodies. Black beauty. The car runs great, but it has the squeaks in the seats, driver and passenger side panels and center console. I know that there must be place to take your car to get this fixed, but where? Help me please?

2nd Jun 2005, 17:06

I am looking at the CLK 320 or CLK 430. I've always had vehicles for transportation/family use only and am now at the point in my career I can look for something for me. I've heard a lot of problems in the 2000-2001 models. Is this accurate? I'm specifically looking for GOOD comments to 'convince' me that all the negative I've heard are random and not indicative of the vehicle in general. Thanks!

11th Sep 2005, 12:35

I think that the CLK would be a very reliable car for people like me because such horror stories of blown bulbs do not scare me. Learn to use a screwdriver and replace the bulbs yourselves instead of relying on the dealer for EVERYTHING. Anyone had engine/transmission problems? I haven't read of any. Do not give the car a bad reliability rating because of a couple of blown bulbs. You haven't experienced blown bulbs until you have owned a Jaguar XJ6. Still, we are very happy with the Jag. Also, the CLK is supposed to be a sporty car, which means it will not ride like an S600.

15th Sep 2005, 09:04

I am looking into trading my 2000 Mazda 626 for a 1998 MB CLK 320 with almost 80k miles. I'm young and am not rich by any means. Lol. I love the car, but am worried about the expenses for normal maintenance and problems. Any advice?

28th Sep 2005, 08:47

I was wondering... What is the difference between the CLK 320 and the CLK 430? I love the body style I just wanted to know so I could determine which one to buy. I am not rich so I was looking at maybe a 1998 CLK 430. Any suggestions?

28th Sep 2005, 18:49

Reply to the last comment:

The difference between the MB CLK320 and MBCLK430?

Well, I think it's pretty obvious ins't?

-The 320 has a 3.2 V6 18V SOHC Engine with 224HP.

-The 430 has a 4.3 V8 24V SOHC Engine with 280HP.

I Actually drove a Mercedes CLK320, and I can tell: It's good, but not really exciting. It's a bit sluggish off the line, but once it's moving it moves quite well.

You should definitely go for the Mercedes CLK430. It may be a bit more expensive and guzzles more fuel than the V6, but at least it's much faster.

22nd Sep 2006, 05:16

Response to CLK320 vs. CLK430:

If you think CLK320 is sluggish, try CLK240 or CLK200! They are sluggish.

The CLK430 is not actually that much usefully quicker than CLK320.

1st Oct 2006, 20:11

I am confused between buying clk 430 or clk 320. I am also confused on the year to pick from 2001 to 2003. My budget is $15k. I was thinking about 2001 clk 320 but the reviews above scare the hell out of me. A big problem that we all have when shopping for benz is that there is no one place you can go and compare all the types that you had in mind. Time is also a limiting factor.

I am very stingy with my money especially when it's cash on the spot. I make sure that I buy at a price below KBB fair condition. No rush with my cash. Dealers are stuck with Many Cars with no one to buy them.

Can someone please advise me on the best bet from these 6 picks above? (convertibles only)


17th Oct 2006, 14:35

I will go to test drive a 2002 CLK 320 with 60000M this weekend. I saw there are lots of problem when this car came out in 1998. Have they ever change/update the engine? Anyone knows if the 2002 model is exactly same as the 1998-2000 models. This car looks so cool. But I am afraid of wasting time to go to the service dept. Thank you.

10th Dec 2006, 10:15

I purchased a 1998 CLK 320 with approx 80k on it about 7 months ago. So far other than tiny vibration, which I really think are from cold tires (vibration is less when car is warm), I've had NO and I repeat NO Engine trouble at all (KNOCK ON WOOD REALLY HARD). I saved myself some money and did the oil change and spark plugs myself, the car had a couple blown speakers, replaced them for about 100 bucks and 2hrs. Headlight blew, went right down to local auto parts store and replaced them in the parking lot in less than 10 minutes. Sure the car squeaks, its almost 10yrs old! MB sells oils and the like to apply where the leather meets to stop the squeaking. I've put a tremendous amount of miles on this car and its running like a champ! I would recommend the car to anyone any day! I put a set of 19" wheels on it and it looks great! Looking for Brabus kit and maybe after-market suspension, removing the telephone and putting DVD head unit in dash. After that, nothing else needed!


10th Jan 2007, 23:25

My wife's car is an '02 CLK 200 (1.8 liter, kompressor). It is absolutely solid. We've replaced tires and done routine maintenance only. Its headlight died yesterday, but it's a five year old car, so I'm not gonna complain about it. We haven't had any of the weird noises or other problems noted by other owners. My only complaint is turbo lag (same as any other turbocharged car). Once you get past that, it's a very fun car to drive. Plus, it's a beautiful head turner. I highly recommend it.

11th Jan 2007, 08:28

Interesting you're experiencing turbo lag in a car with no turbo.

5th Jul 2007, 16:47

I own a 1998 CLK 320, she has 171000 miles on it now,

Engine runs strong and shifting is good as new. Original owner.

My AC just went out for the summer, so I need to get that fixed.

Overall, it is a great car. Take care of your car and it'll take care of you.

Question, what is the life expectancy of the 3.2 V6 engine? Any body think that I can put 500K miles on this car.