1992 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1992 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 500E V8 from Kuwait

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Grand Cherokee

Summary:

It is always fun driving such a machine

Faults:

1. Transmission gasket started leaking, which resulted in changing it outside the authorized dealer. It cost around $400.

2. Ball bearing in the emission vacuum pulley had gone bad. I had to replace it. Unfortunately, the pulley doesn't come by itself & if you want to buy the whole unit, it would cost around $500. So, I had to custom make a new pulley for it, which cost me around $50 only.

3. Having 4 speed gear box is unfair for such machine.

General Comments:

I really loved the car. It had the 1992 shape, but I took it to a professional garage to paint it after upgrading to 1994 model (changing the bonnet & the trunk with the required accessories.

Driving a 500E 124.036 is basically is driving the ultimate on the road. Very very very very comfortable and luxurious car.

What makes it unique is that ordinary people don't know about it. Only people who know about the 500E will know it.

I drove sports cars before, driving the 500E is different.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

1992 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 300d 3.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired208000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Best car I have ever had, and I hope to keep it another 10 years

Faults:

The only fault I have had with the car is the drivers side electric window regulator broke.

General Comments:

Fantastic car, I have owned a large number of cars, but this is the best car I have ever had, including a 3 year only omega which is not a patch on the 1992 Mercedes E300D.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2005

1992 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 300CE 300 gasoline fueled from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 300 gasoline fueled Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carMercury Marquis

Summary:

This car's value cannot be purely represented by money

Faults:

I had the 90000 mile tune-up completed last week. My dealer charged $3000.00 but had the car 4 days and provided a new Buick loaner.

This is my dream car and no amount of money could replace it in my heart.

I have had no minor no major complaints.

General Comments:

This automobile is very fast, quiet, smooth and exceedingly comfortable. It drives unlike any other car I've driven. To day I've personally owned 187 cars, trucks and motorcycles, this machine is a work of art.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

28th Jan 2006, 11:41

That's nice you get a Buick over your Mercedes, very classy.

29th Jan 2006, 13:13

I agree you shouldn't get a Buick when taking your Mercedes in no matter what year it is. I have 3 Lexus one, being a 1992 SC400 and when I take it in, they provide me with a brand new Lexus at no cost. Lexus service is amazing. It's way cheaper than my S500. Going to sell that car soon. Can't take Mercedes costs much longer. Can make you go broke no matter how rich you are!

10th Nov 2006, 17:02

I'm struggling to see how this was chosen as one of the two best-written reviews of this car. I own one, but if I didn't this review wouldn't have told me anything I need to know. And what kind of person pays $3,000 for a service on a 1992 automobile. is this for real?

29th Aug 2009, 06:03

That's a high service cost mate. It's only £200 for the top service over here in the UK.

1992 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 300 E 3.0L I6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L I6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

The best overall Mercedes with the exception of the new 2003 E-Class

Faults:

The tumbler had to be replaced on this one and my 1989 300E. Other than that nothing.

General Comments:

I feel that the W124 300E is a complete package. Classy looks, solid build, prestigious history, great performance, great ride. This car was definitely built to cruise the Autobahn.

I had an 1989 300E that I gave to my brother. It was mint, but I wanted the updated looks of the interior/exterior of the 1992. Mine has the 8 spoke wheels which make it look sporty.

I long for a 500E/E500! An all alloy V8 that weighs only 18lbs more than the cast iron I6 with suspension and brakes by Porsche.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2002

4th Jun 2003, 19:07

I just took a head on accident in my 1986 300E at a fairly high speed, head-on and walked away with only airbag burns. This car is fast, safe, and reliable. The 300E is a great car, all around.

1992 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 300E 103 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 103 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

My best purchase, yet

Faults:

A few holes were in the muffler - which I chose to replace.

The antenna motor needed replacing.

General Comments:

This car has the most stability and comfort of any car I've owned. I feel extremely safe when on the road. It's very quite and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2002

1992 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 300E 3.0 inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 inline six Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Buying one 8 years old is better than driving a new $20k car

Faults:

Slow oil leak, need to replace the head gasket.

AC works only on the center vents.

General Comments:

Very nice driving car.

Fun to drive.

Nice weight in the steering wheel with that high quality feel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

1992 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 300E 2.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

It's a piece of garbage

Faults:

1. Engine quit when put in gear.

2. Air conditioner failed.

3. Transmission has erratic operation.

4. When sitting for 30 minutes or more after running, it's extremely hard to start.

5. Radiator hose fitting broke, causing extreme overheating.

6. Voltage regulator failed.

7. Battery exploded.

8. Power seat switch failed.

9. Fuel filler cover door broke off.

10. I get 15 miles per gallon in town, and 18 on the open road.

General Comments:

For a named auto this is a POOR example.

I have spent more on repairs than the auto cost me to buy. The "Ergonomic seats" will break your back on trips over 100 miles long. Other than that, it's a pretty car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2001

18th Jan 2002, 02:57

I own E300 from 1989 (W124), and I still think, this is one of the best cars ever made.

Small problems appeared, yes, but car is a car.

Honestly, I never heard that a MB had so many problems at the same time. It must be a production failure or it was bought as a used car. If it was bought as a used car, well, you never know what has been done to it.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews