1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 200D 2.0 diesel from Finland

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired400000 kilometres
Most recent distance800000 kilometres

Summary:

A car that you can trust

Faults:

Nothing. We did quite big engine repair when we bought this and after that (and those 400 000km), nothing. Of course there have been some small problems (with electrics etc.), but nothing bigger. It have never leave on the road.

General Comments:

Car that you can trust. Only bad thing is that it is very slow. Max speed is about 140kmh and 0-100 takes something about 16 seconds or more...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2002

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4L, Natural Aspirated from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L, Natural Aspirated Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance258073 miles

Faults:

Replaced water pumps myself twice.

Replaced drive line universal joints once.

Replaced brake rotors only once.

Rebuilt the front seats once.

Replaced door gaskets once.

General Comments:

As an engineer myself, I have to say that this car is the best engineered vehicle that I have ever owned.

While it is not a fast car, its reliability has been beyond that of any other cars I know of, therefor I have to give it a top rating in the overall performance area.

I would only purchase a new car if it is diesel powered, and if I could be certain that it would be as reliable as my old 1979 Mercedes 240D diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

13th Jan 2005, 11:32

I have an 88 BMW and I'm wondering how you replaced the you joints considering that the joints are staked in place, and run on a balancing machine. please email me at sjcrail@hotmail.com.

18th Nov 2006, 15:55

I own a 1981 240-D purchased in 2004 with 131,000 miles on it. Yes, it is slow, but a great car. I've gone 31,000 trouble free miles. One problem: In 30,000 miles, I'm on my sixth alternator. I've been replacing with re-manufactured units, but the most miles I've gotten on an alternator is 7,000 without it failing. Any ideas? Should I bite the bullet and buy a new alternator? Any ideas are appreciated.

8th Jun 2007, 21:42

Six alternators in 30,000 miles suggests that you have a bad voltage regulator. Have you tried replacing that?

29th May 2008, 21:10

I think the alternators are prone to getting soaked in water splashed up by the front wheels.

3rd Jun 2008, 08:42

Yes I think you right. If I go over a deep puddle the battery light comes on for a few seconds in my 83 240d.

3rd Jul 2008, 12:45

Spray the back of the alternator with wd40 or similar. The alternators are in a bad place. Sometimes at low speed my battery light comes on when going over puddles.

15th Sep 2008, 09:13

I just bought a w123 240D, great car but fuel consumption is a little excessive and have observed that it's producing whitish smoke.

Anyone knows why please email me on dyonsl@gmail.com.

However, it's a very stable car, very powerful and the take off is okay with me as I'm in Zimbabwe no need for speeding, fuel is expensive here.

Radiator was leaking and this tended to affect the alternator on some occasions. Fuel consumption approx 10km/litre, is this okay or it should do better.

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 230E 2.3 from Denmark

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A very cheap wonder

Faults:

Nothing.

It's perfect.

General Comments:

A classic car. It handles like a dream.

You can't compare Japanese cars with German cars. The German cars always win.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th August, 2001

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 300CD diesel from Costa Rica

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

We changed the tires, the battery, all the electricity system, and change all the wiring.

General Comments:

It is a great car, diesel fuel is very cheap, excellent car. I really recommend this one if you can find someone who wants to sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 230C 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

An example of superb engineering

Faults:

Zero.

General Comments:

Rust, what is rust?

It's just a very good comfortable coupe with style and grace.

Always starts, firm, positive ride with a massive boot.

I am interested to know if it is the only 230C in the Mimoseb 618 colour?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 230C Coupe 2.3 petrol from Croatia

Year of manufacture1979
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing, except I had a minor accident. It was repaired with new original parts (expensive!), and it still runs like a clock.

General Comments:

Great car, relatively rare. Interior and exterior in near-perfect condition. Great for drawing attention. Every time I stop to refuel I get offers from prospective buyers.

Regular maintenance cost is surprisingly low, but spare parts cost the Earth! Fuel consumption is pretty high.

Have to watch out for possible rust. It is, after all, 20 years old!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 1999

12th Dec 2000, 13:18

Rust? What is rust!! I am the proud owner of a 1979 230C which has less than 70,000 genuine miles. I should like to know what colour you have because I believe that my 618 Mimosa Yellow is unique!

It is a good runner, a real joy to drive and a car with character.

Regards

Richard Hall

12/12/00

2nd Jul 2002, 18:52

I have a 1977 230C in dark green, body no. 123 044 00018 - is that early or what!

Its totally reliable, driven me all over Europe - now I'm moving to Australia - the 230C is coming with me!

If you maintain them, these cars never seem to wear out - I use mine every day. Its really just a taxi 115 engine in a sexy body. Best car I've ever owned.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews