1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4L diesel from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4L diesel Manual
Distance when acquired1200 kilometres
Most recent distance116000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Built like a Swiss watch!

Faults:

Was told the fuel injectors were plugged at 60,000k and had them replaced. Doubt the story as the mechanic did not show me the old injectors and the car was running fine.

General Comments:

This car runs like a little Swiss watch. Maintenance costs are minimal-I change the oil regularly. The manual shift is a gem. Of course a slow accelerator on the freeway entrance, but once up to speed can cruise forever at 120kmh.

The car is so solid. It may not have any of today's electronic gadgets, but it is so simply and elegantly built that it is a classic that looks up to date. Original paint, garaged, still beats most new cars in depth. The manual 240D is so reliable that it is probably worth rehabbing one if the body is in good shape. My car is still showroom quality-garaged most of the time and driven only on weekends. It was my first Mercedes and was a learning experience about what quality was in those years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2006

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 240 d 2.4 cc from Portugal

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 cc Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1787000 kilometres
Most recent distance1834000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

If you are tired of expensive car problems, buy one of these, it is cheap and good

Faults:

Small things... like bulbs, brake pads, broken manual window lever, Clutch failure (all very inexpensive repairs).

Seats had to be rebuilt because this was used as a taxi...

Starter had to be rebuilt-75 euros at a Bosch authorized dealer.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable and inexpensive to repair. This 240 diesel engine seems to be indestructible.

Very good suspension and very good braking system (front and rear ATE system).

There is no smoke in annual inspections, and the engine can run on diesel fuel with vegetable oil added at a ratio of 20%.

This is not a fast car, but it is reliable, incredibly reliable...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2006

19th Sep 2008, 08:14

You can run more veg oil than 20%! I ran one on veg oil for years. Just added 5% petrol as anti coagulant.

2nd Jun 2013, 10:36

How long did you run it at the petrol/WVO ratio?

I'm thinking of buying an old Merc diesel that runs on vegetable oil. Does yours start fine when it's cold? Any problems, tips, solutions?

1979 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D Definitely non-turbo diesel four. from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Definitely non-turbo diesel four. Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A very reliable, if slow, automobile

Faults:

A/C compressor changed for like $500.

Driver's window fell off of the tracks at one point, but this was fixed easily in our garage at home.

Rear seat needed to be re-stuffed, upholstery was perfect, however.

The car was in desperate need of a new stereo, so we added two Infinity speakers to the rear shelf and put in a Ken wood CD changer-compatible cassette deck. The original Mercedes speakers up front still worked perfectly and sounded great, so we left them alone.

Door lock vacuum system was sluggish in cold weather, but always worked.

The odometer broke, so I'm guessing that it had about 180,000 miles on it when we sold it.

The car sometimes would not shut off in the coldest temperatures unless you choked it down. You could remove the key entirely and it would still run like nothing happened.

General Comments:

This was a great car that served our family well. One of my relatives ordered it brand new and kept it sheltered and had it partially restored before we bought it. (New paint, some upholstery on door panels, not much was needed really).

The car was incredibly slow, but very dependable and comfortable. It cruised quite nicely on all roads at all speeds.

Ours was the victim of mis-fueling when it was not very old. Some clown put gasoline in it instead of diesel, so it almost destroyed the engine. The engine was repaired, but was never quite as healthy as it had been when new and it used a fair amount of oil between changes.

The car was excellent and we could depend on it to take us anywhere. It became my sister's car when we decided to retire her Volkswagen Golf at 230,000 miles. She loved this car and kept it until it too started getting too old and we all became weary of the slow acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2005

26th Jul 2006, 11:38

How did you fix the problem where the car would not shut off even when you turn the key off? You can email me @ gploton12@yahoo.com. Thanks...

27th Sep 2006, 19:17

Thanks for reading my review! We never did fix that problem, we just lived with it until we sold the car. It was no big deal really. The only time it became a concern was one cold night when my mom was filling it up and chose to leave it running instead of choking it down.

29th May 2008, 21:08

You should track down that missfuel nutcase and give him some trunchen rash.

5th Jan 2013, 15:49

How did you fix the driver's side window? Ours fell off the track, and it's starting to rain and we need to get that thing back up.

Email me at georgereubs@gmail.com.

Thanks!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews