1984 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1984 Mercedes-Benz W123 300DT turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Automatic
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

LOVE this car. Recommend it to anyone wanting a dependable car with class

Faults:

When I got this car it was 25 years old. I bought it on ebay motors. The only thing I had to do is replace some vacuum hoses to get it to run right.

Some electrical issues because of age and corrosion in the fuse box. Cleaned with a wire brush and some WD-40, and they are fine.

General Comments:

This car is a bit slow on the take off, but cruises really well.

Very roomy and classy. Turns lots of heads when I drive it.

Car still runs very well. I am driving it from St Louis Mo to San Francisco CA in June. Going through the Grand Canyon. That is how dependable this car is.

I picked it up in Atlanta GA and drove it to St Louis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2010

1984 Mercedes-Benz W123 300 TD from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200054 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

German engineering at its best

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Just bought this 300 turbo diesel, and am amazed with the quality and beauty of this German masterpiece.

I have owned 3 mid 80s Volvos, one being a turbo, and considered these cars to be the very best until I drove and experienced a Mercedes-Benz. It drives like a dream for a car with over 200'000k, the interior is tight and well insulated, and when the door shuts, you barely hear the diesel motor clanging away, and you hear nothing at highway speeds.

I run this car every day at well over 70 MPH, and get 28+ MPG.

The leather interior is thick and supple, the dash and console are trimmed in real wood, everything is absolute quality on this car inside and out, and has a look and design that is all but lost in today's automobiles. It's a car you can really get attached to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2010

19th Feb 2010, 15:22

Congratulations! W123 series can run forever if properly maintained. Fluids MUST be changed periodically: differential, gear boxes -auto and manual-, brakes (ATE Dot 4), power steering (only genuine MB), engine coolant (only genuine MB). It is not expensive, it is kind an investment and you won't regret it.

1984 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D Turbo from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 miles
Most recent distance196000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I love this car!

Faults:

Sun roof does not work.

Does not now have A/C.

Had a small tear in the leather seat (driverĀ“s side), which I repaired with something that I bought at Walmart, and has stood up in the hot sun and cold winters.

Would like to have a better heater.

General Comments:

Car is wonderful and has caused me no real problems.

I lived in Florida when I bought it, and have since moved to Indiana. The diesel starts every time and without problems.

I intend to drive this car until either the car or I quit.

I have driven this car from Florida to Michigan several times since I bought it, and have never had any discomfort from such a long drive.

It is such a beautiful car.

The seats have started to wear badly where the seatbelts interact with the seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2009

10th Nov 2011, 16:09

Hello.

Are you sure the heater blower motor is functioning? I know that in these cars, you still get some heat, just not a large amount, when the blower motor is out.

1984 Mercedes-Benz W123 300 D 300 turbo diesel from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 300 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

I would turn down a brand new M-B 'C-Class' in direct exchange for the 300D

Faults:

Some heat and A/C problems, but not unexpected after 25 years. A small freon leak will need repair this year, to cost about $750. Heat distribution needed work, but fixed.

Replaced the shocks about 3 years ago. Rest of suspension is fine.

No other problems, just routine maintenance.

General Comments:

This is our second M-B 123, the previous was a 1981 240D manual. Loved it, but grabbed the 300 when the opportunity came along 15 years ago (I am second owner of a local car).

Get about 26 mpg since the government messed up diesel fuel by cutting out most of the sulfur, but the engine runs great and strong.

Comfort is great. Car drives and holds the road better than anything I've owned since my 64 Chevy Corvair. Seats are still very supportive.

Still on the original exhaust system.

Have had a number of folks ask "how much do you want for it?". Sorry - not for sale at any price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2009

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 23 reviews