1989 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1989 Mercedes-Benz W124 E200 2.0 petrol from Singapore

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Deserved Icon of reliability and quality

Faults:

3rd Party Car alarm a bit temperamental.

Driver's electric window stopped.

Very slight clicking noise at certain speeds

Rear view mirror replaced - S$35.

Front Wiper replaced S$17

Replaced Mercedes E200 lettering for S$20.

General Comments:

I sold my last W124 and within 5 days bought another! The former was a 1986 UK import with sunroof - sold for S$10K with 23 months left of COE. (non-renewable. The latter is a S17,000 1989 Cycle and Carriage original, love to bits by the former car-dealer owner... who ran out of money. (COE till 1998 but renewable).

This car is in seriously good condition. amazing solid and straight for a 2-year old car - let alone a 16 year old car.

So much sharper than the former W124 (due to an original suspension set up - rather than some messed about sports suspension).

MBTex upholstery smells clean and fresh.

Ice cold aircon and powerful engine.

I am tempted now to buy a convertible 320CE 1993 model for S$75,000. Fortunately the owner is refusing to sell for tles than $88,000. (It was $400,000 new some 12 years ago!!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2005

23rd Sep 2005, 03:56

I used to own a 1989 Mercedes 200e which is an 8 valve fuel injected version. These cars are very solidly built. Have taken the car out on long distance trip to Malaysia and can say that the handling is very good and w/o any annoying rattles.

Only setback is that the engine is somewhat underpowered especially at pick up speed and fuel consumption is a tad on the high side. However, spare are relatively cheap and if you have a competent outside mechanic, he can save you quite abit of money. However, once the problem area fixed, it should last you a long time since these parts are often of high standard since it's for Mercedes.

All the best to your new car.

1st Mar 2007, 06:31

Now March 2007 - car still perfect.

White RH indicator light fell off. Replaced for $24 from Tye Soon.

Interior still looks fresh at 18 years, paint holding up well.

In last 2 years replaced rear bumper twice since it caught on a tree stump... About S$300 including paint - a one-day workshop job.

Of my 4 vehicles this is the most reliable.

19th Aug 2007, 09:44

Just hit 394,000km.

Running as smoothly as ever - except that the fuel tank sensor broke... So there is a knocking around in the tank with the remaining piece of flat sloshing around in the petrol. Mechanic will fish it out next week.

All else is running well. 16 Months of COE left. Will probably renew the COE for around $17K.

>>>> a good 2 years of ownership.

3rd Mar 2008, 07:04

A very reliable car Driving one for six years. COE ending November 2008. Thinking of renewing because no other car can be so reliable even if the car is new. Drove to Genting for a few times even when it is 18 years old. No major problems.

31st May 2008, 03:58

Arpil 2008 - Sold the car for $5000.

It had 400,000km on the clock.. 19 years old.

It was running perfectly.

Sadly - the new owner - did not top up the water.,.. and ran it with it overheating for over an hour!

I think the car engine will never be the same... (Hope he does not blame me for selling a lemon!)

I can recommend these vehicles. Super low asking prices ($5K to $19K) now due to high Petrol prices (S$1.75/litre).

Best to buy a 1993 Masterpiece with 1-2 owners.

1989 Mercedes-Benz W124 TE 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135554 miles
Most recent distance141265 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

Needed New Front Disc's and Pads plus one front brake hose on purchase for mot.

The rear exhaust was leaking which my mechanics simply welded up.

The drivers seat was predictably worn through in the usual place where you get in.

The engine was mis-firing.

General Comments:

I went to the local scrap yard in doom and gloom, looking for an engine for my sadly blown up sporty Mercedes 190E.

Was told that if I just wanted the engine out, they would have to charge me vat on the engine, so I took a chance and bought the whole car.

I had to learn to drive again - sluggish after driving a quick 190E. I was amazed at the practicality of this car.

Solid and reliable, I did 5,000 miles in 4 weeks on a Touring Pantomime straight after buying it, and I couldn't fault the ride quality and reliability. Air-con superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews