1989 Mercedes-Benz W124 250D diesel from Sweden


A real highway star


Over 200.000 kilometers and still going on strong with no problems. Just oil change and back on the road. Mercedes is the brand of quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2003

1989 Mercedes-Benz W124 300TE 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


No car is made this good any more


Rear suspension self leveling not at right height.

Rear electric window winder switch failed.

Air conditioning leaking gas, no gets less cool through the summer.

Rear wiper motor needed unjamming.

Leaks a little oil from somewhere in the engine bay.

Eats rear tires more than I expected - maybe that is my driving!

General Comments:

The 3.0 liter 12v straight six gives nearly 190bhp and even given its weight and age, will rarely kick down to 1st. But when it does it takes all the passengers by shock!

Given its weight, handles very well.

Load capacity is huge. A 2 meter tall pine cabinet went in no problem.

7 Seater design miles better than current MP-Vs.

Built like a tank, and has very little body rust after 14 years of British weather.

Even though it does not have airbags, I pity anyone I hit in this. I have an A-Class Mercedes too and this has 4 airbags, but it is not built to the same standard as the 300TE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

12th May 2003, 10:43

Owner back with an update. The 300TE still fantastic, but A-Class becoming tiring. Even though I get 3 times the mileage for fuel I still opt for the 300TE for long journeys. We will be selling the A-Class, but not the old 300TE!

16th Sep 2003, 04:42

Just ran across this website, I recently converted over from a 1988 MB 230TE to the MB 300TE-24V. I am thoroughly impressed by the differences in the performance between the two. The 230TE (without accessories) didn't have the punch to accelerate when needed to get up and go, whereas the 300TE has power to spare (even with accessories mounted). The engine combined with the body is an excellent combination worthy of praise. Definitely an auto worth keeping and trusting.

1989 Mercedes-Benz W124 300 TE 3 litre straight 6 from UK and Ireland


Fast, class and practical


Fuel pump relay replaced at 125000.

Power sunroof failed at 128000.

Service at 117000 identified significant corrosion of the pipe work under the car.

General Comments:

At 3,000 UK pounds, this has to be one of the cheapest luxury cars available for practical use and daily driving. The car looks good, drives smoothly and all of the electrics work except the sunroof (that was a belt failure so doesn't count).

It is incredibly stable at high speed and will comfortably pull along at 125-135 mph, 0-60 is not timed, but impressive, for a 13 year old car it blows away most modern imitators. I can live with the running costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

1989 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E 3.0 from North America


Fast, Fun, Comfortable, Become friends with a mechanic real quick!


Moonroof motor seized $450.

Valve cover gaskets leak $150.

Power door locks stopped working $600.

Radio antenna works when it wants to $500.

Rough start when hot unknown.

Fuel pump relay went out $250.

Power windows, windsheild wipers, and dash lights stopped working $150.

Radiator leaks.

General Comments:

I would expect this car to have far fewer problems at 115,000 miles for $56,000.

Some days I can't wait to drive this car.

Some days I dream to have my totaled Oldsmobile back.

Interior is very comfortable.

Ride is very smooth and fluid.

Engine is powerful, could be more responsive.

Although problems have come up with this car, I believe it was salvage titled at one point and that may be the root.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

22nd Nov 2002, 05:54

Sounds like your mechanic is ripping you off.

Tjep Feenstra, The Netherlands.

7th Jun 2010, 07:58

You seem to have had more trouble at 112000 miles (180 000 kilometres) than I had at 508 000 km (315 000 miles) with my 1989 model (now 21 years old). Personally I don't want any other car considering its comfort and reliability. I look forward to every trip undertaken with this automobile.