1991 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8 from North America




Head gaskets were replaced in 2001.

General Comments:

I can't brag enough about my Cougar. It is comfortable, very economical, easy to maintain/service and is very reliable. This car feels so well built, solid and gives you a safe feeling driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

1991 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8 V6 from North America


One Sweet Ride!!!


Absolutely nothing. Car is excellent. A/C stopped working and the car only has 59000 on it.

General Comments:

Car has lots of torque, will do a good burnout. The power sun/moon roof finishes it off. The factory sound is not bad considering. Brakes are touchy though. Leather seats are awsome. Everything is power in this baby.

I bought this car in Ottawa. it had 57000 on it. It was driven by a little old lady. There is not a mark on this car.. no rust. Never winter driven.

However, I have read that head gaskets go on these cars. How do you know before they go? How many km's were on the car before you bought it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2003

1991 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8 Liter V6 from North America


A great running car as long as maintenance is kept up


My head gaskets went bad at 147,000 miles.

My water pump went bad at 122,000 miles.

My power steering line went bad at 110,000 miles.

I had to replace the alternator because it went bad.

I had to replace the air conditioning condenser because it had leaks.

I had to replace the suspension, all the way around.

I have had to replace the brakes, all the way around.

General Comments:

I believe the 1991 Mercury Cougar is a great car as long as maintenance is maintained.

I believe my 1991 Mercury Cougar runs very well for having 148,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

17th May 2004, 05:49

My 1991 merc cougar ls has less than

53K miles and has a failed head gasket and coolant leaking into the #4 cylinder. Is it worth having repaired?

22nd May 2004, 17:27

I have 161,000 on my cougar and its great its worth the money to get the head gaskets never had it done, but I work at a dealership in sturgeon bay Wisconsin and it is a common problem, but it is worth the money they can make 200,000 easy and more if taken care of.

24th Apr 2011, 17:19

ANY car can make 200K with $ 5000+ in repairs... I need the ones that do it on oil changes.

1991 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8 V6 from North America


Great car for somebody who loves the sports, luxury car


Where to begin? Replaced heads and gaskets, valve covers at 100,000 miles.

Replaced power steering lines at 113000 miles.

Replaced oil pane,and block gaskets at 113000 miles.

Air conditioning clutch went out at 60000 miles. just to name a few for example.

General Comments:

For all of the faults with engine in this car, it has been very reliable. I live in the mid-west, and winters can be very hazardous. It has always gotten me anywhere and everywhere that wanted and needed to go. It s a great car, but just has very expensive repairs. I just wish that Ford Motor Co. could build an engine that could have cheaper repairs, and that can take anything that you put it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2002

1991 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8liter from North America


High performance with excellent gas mileage


The water pump went out at 100,000 miles.

Air conditioner compressor went out at 123,000 miles.

The door gaskets have started to come apart this year.

General Comments:

This has been one of the best cars I have ever owned.

It still has a lot of pep and handles very well.

The oil has been changed every 3,000 miles and other services have been performed as needed.

Other than the water pump, no major work has been done to this vehicle.

I round trip over 100 miles a day in this vehicle and do not even think twice about doing it.

I average between 27 to 29 miles per gallon on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

1991 Mercury Cougar LS i dont kno from North America


Probably was good when it was new


Overdrive gear went out.

Dies on me.

Can't drive over 50 unless I would like the car to die before the school year starts up.

General Comments:

Just this year my Aunt gave me her sons car, boy was I thrilled... until I found out she gave it to me right before it was about to go out.

One day I was driving in overdrive and I was accelerating for the speed limit change and all I heard was engine revving. So I slowed down, and then it would work again... but only untill I got up to 40 MPH, then it would repeat the same problem.

I love driving this car, it accelerates quickly, and is comfortable. Getting in and out of it is okay, as long as you don't forget to wait for the seat belts to slide away, otherwise be prepared for a choking.

It turns out the people that gave me the car... never ever changed the oil filter... How is that possible??

The car has died on me on the way to school, but I got out, screamed at it, kicked the tire, got back in, and it started up again. I know I didn't help it, but it made me feel better and made my friends laugh at the story.

I would recommend a Cougar to anyone... if they drive as good as the older models. I would love to have a newer one... but I simply can't afford it, or the insurance that a new 2001 or 2001 Cougar would cost, I'm only 17 after all. At least it's a car though, its better than no car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

22nd Jun 2008, 00:58

If you still have this car, check the cable connecting the transmission to the throttle. These are known to break a lot on these models, and your symptoms sound exactly like this is happening. On a side note, the car I bought had this exact problem, was yours a deep purple color? if so, I think I may have bought it haha.