1991 Mercury Cougar XR7 3.8 V-6 super-charged from North America


A heat-score on the highways


Rubber around the rear window is coming off.

Front grille is broken.

Sometimes it grinds when I try to shift it into reverse.

Dipstick tube rusted out.

Will sometimes mysteriously accelerate when using cruise control, and continue to accelerate until the brakes are used.

Leather seats are worn on the outer arms.

Front ball joints replaced.

E-brake cable replaced.

General Comments:

I've only had this car 5 months. It's red with black tinted windows, it turns a lot of heads.

So far, I haven't had any problems. It handles well and is very comfortable.

The lower profile tires throw my speedometer off, so I think the 172K Kilometers is inaccurate.

It is a little scary on the highway when the cruise control starts playing games, usually in colder weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

1991 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8 V6 from North America


A good, affordable vehicle


Warped the front rotors twice.

Head gasket went after 170000 km.

A/C compressor went after 260000 km.

Other than that it's been regular maintenance (bulbs in the heater control burned out and are hard to replace or find).

General Comments:

This car has good passing power, but is sluggish off the line. Is an overall good vehicle.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th January, 2002

1991 Mercury Cougar XR7 5.0 L V-8 from North America


A great car in every aspect of luxury and sport features for a low price


The alternator went bad at 85,000K. $160 to replace.

When purchased, air did not work, so I replaced the compressor and freon gas.

Still not very cold.

Shocks (electronic auto-ride) went out in the rear. Still have not replaced them, though I plan to.

General Comments:

The V-8 is rated at 200HP and 275lbs. of torque. Pretty quick, but does not handle well in turns and rough roads.

Rear wheel drive spins easily on wet roads and does not drive too well in snow. But once you learn how to handle car in snow, no problem. Just use driving skills.

An absolute load of features for a low priced vehicle. Such as dual 6-way power seats with power lumbar and bolsters, power windows, locks, outside mirrors, steering with mounted cruise control, AM-FM cassette/CD with premium audio and sub woofer, information center (oil, radiator, fuel, windshield wash levels), automatic head lamps and keyless code entry.

Comfortable front seating; limited legroom in rear. Premium cloth with embroidery (XR7) on the front seats with adjustable head rests.

I had the car repainted in monochromatic (all body color, minimal chrome trim) Candy Apple Red metallic, installed a rear spoiler, dual chrome exhaust tips, and fog lamps.

The only complaints I have is the gas mileage and ride, though rides best on highways. The gas mileage is 15-16 city and 17-21 highway. To me it's horrible!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2001

24th Nov 2002, 23:59

The only criticism I see that's blatantly different from my experience with my own '91 XR7 is the fact that mine handles extremely well in the turns. Lots of power and I believe that 21 -24 mpg highway and 15 - 18 mpg city is very good for a car of this weight and power.

1991 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8L gas from North America


A comfortable luxurious car, but no sports car


Warped front rotors but I consider this a normal wear item.

Had to replace the water pump 2 times in 2 years.

Head gasket went near 200K.

Low compression on a couple of cylinders when I sold it.

Had a history of stalling when the engine was cold.

Right power window out of its track.

General Comments:

It was a very comfortable car on the highway and I could easily get around with it in the big city. Not too big although some people complain about its size.

A little short of power but adequate for the base engine.

30 MPG on the highway but a miserable 18 MPG in the city.

Sold it because I needed a reliable fuel efficient vehicle for my job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

9th Sep 2001, 20:15

Hello, I'm 15 years old, and I have a friend who bought a 1991 Cougar about 3 months ago, and yesterday my brother went riding around with him, while I was with another friend. While we were in the parking lot of our school, his throttle stuck, he ended up going around the parking lot, almost running into the building twice, going out the parking lot, down a hill, turning to miss a tree, hitting a stop sign, hitting a small dip, leaving the air, and landing in front of a ditch where it stopped. if they would have went 2 feet closer, the car would have flipped, and I would be missing 2 good friends, 1 being my brother and the other being the driver.

We looked up some information earlier, and there have been 500 reported accidents like his, in which the brakes stopped working and the accellerator stuck. There was SUPPOSED to be a recall on the model, but Ford NEVER GOT TO IT.

Thankfully, neither of my friends were hurt, but out of the 500 accidents, there were 329 injuries and fatalities. How many people need to be hurt before they do something about this? I'm just trying to get the word out about the danger of this car.


20th Jan 2002, 01:43

OMG my accelerator got stuck too!!! It happened about a year ago. My brakes didn't go though. I was just driving and I noticed that the car started accelerating more and more. I tried to brake but the car starting shaking violently, so I put it in neutral, killed the engine, and brought the thing to a stop. That was the SCARIEST thing I've ever experienced! Other than that, this car rules!

6th Oct 2002, 17:45

Hiya. Last night, at 2:00 in the morning, my throttle stuck also. The tiny tin C-Clip holding the throttle cable to the throttle arm came loose. My RPM kept climbing, and I was unable to stop completely. Like the fellow before me, I put it in neutral, and killed the engine. No offense, but your 15 yr old friend obviously didn't have the proper training or preparation to be operating a motor vehicle, as this is standard procedure when your throttle sticks. Anyways, I'll be buying a new C-Clip today, and throwing it in. A 2 minute job, and my FANTASTIC 1989 Merc Cougar will be back to it's full glory. I LOVE THIS CAR! Happy Driving!

1991 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8 from North America


Air conditioner hoses have leaks.

After 62,000mi., AC compressor went on it.

Other than normal maintainance (oil change, tune-up, brakes, etc.) and the compressor, I never have to put money into it.

General Comments:

This car has never let me down.

I love it! It's survived 3 front end accidents with me and at least one front & one rear end accident with the old owner. It's been stolen and been involved in a high speed chase in Brooklyn and it's still kickin'.

The body's a mess though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2000

1991 Mercury Cougar LS 5.0 V8 from North America


The parking brake quit three years ago.

Right power window sticks.

General Comments:

It's a workhorse. It never lets me down and it's always willing to dust cars twice its price. The car is too low. Bumps everywhere!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

17th Sep 2010, 13:11

September 17th., 2010; I've had my 1991 Mercury Cougar since August 1994, and she still runs like a dream! The right passenger window motor had to be replace yesterday.

She's got 355.780 clicks on her, and I live on Vancouver Island, but would hop in and drive to OTTAWA today.

I've never had a car as great as my Cougar LS.

Just thought I'd brag about it.

25th Sep 2010, 14:33

I have a 1991 Cougar with the 5.0 HO, and it has 200000, maybe more. The odometer don't work and it's the best car I have ever had. Runs very good and passes smog every time.