1999 Mercury Cougar LX 2.5 from North America


Love this car


Air conditioning keeps going out. they replaced the fan motor and it worked fine for a month then went out again yesterday.

Engine light comes on and the computer read outs show nothing wrong with car.

General Comments:

I love this car. Looks so great and sporty and gets up and goes. reliable car so far and a real pleasure to drive it. I hope the repairs stay at a minimum, but I have a feeling any car you get will bound to have some problems. you just have to take good car of them. I would recommend this car to any one except maybe families. the back sit is not acceptable to capable adults very easily much less a car seat and such.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

19th Aug 2004, 13:09

To fix the Engine light being on constantly I recommend using at a minimum 89 octane fuel. The car manual says that it only needs 87 octane, but if you use 89 the light will go off and the engine will perform better. At least that worked for mine.

1999 Mercury Cougar 2.5L Duratec V6 from North America


A domestic import tuner


The alternator went at about 36,000 miles.

The linkage in the stick came lose at 30,000 miles.

General Comments:

I don't understand why all these people are having trouble with their cougars. After I replaced my alternator, my car has been nothing, but a blast to drive. I recently put on an Injen short-ram air intake, and 2.5 inch piping with a Magnaflow muffler on the car and have not had any problems since. It runs great, as well as drives, and handles great too. With a performance intake and exhaust, I gained probably 25-35 horsepower to the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

27th Feb 2007, 19:27

Intake & exaust doesn't give you 25 hp. you gained MAYbe at max 10 hp. now tune the car and you get power.

1999 Mercury Cougar from North America


Is it really worth it?


In the past month and a half I have had the car in my posseesion for about 2 weeks. First it went in because the brakes started grinding.

--Needed new brake pads because whoever put them on before, put on the wrong size.

--The rotor (??) stopped spinning, hence the grinding.

--Needed 2 new tires.

Got the car back. May father drives it. The Tachometer and Speedometer both drop to zero, and the car loses power. $850 dollars later, I think my car is fixed. No, a week later the same thing happened.

--This time they determined it was the alternator that was messed up, which had been fixed 6 months prior.

Luckily my dad bought a 3 year extended guardian warranty, so they covered it at little cost to us.

Today I am driving it, 2 days after getting it back, the engine light comes on. Which after reading this website doesn't concern me, because it seems like a common problem, which is not really a problem at all.

General Comments:

I wish I had found this site before I bought the car. It would have saved a lot of frustration and aggravation, not to mention money. My dad is now talking about buying a new car. That would be my 4th car in 5 years. There is something wrong with me. I love the look of the car, and I love how it handles, so I'm not sure if I'm ready to give up on it yet. If I do get a new one any suggestions on a type of car??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

16th Nov 2004, 10:06

Have you had any more things go wrong with your cougar lately? I'm at the same mileage with my cougar and my alternator had to be replaced, so I was just wondering what's going to be next! :)

1999 Mercury Cougar 2.5 V6 from North America


Not a smart buy unless you have a lot of money


The brake light came on a week after the warranty was up.

A couple of weeks later the check engine light came on and has never gone off.

The alternator had to be replaced in January 2002.

The whole electrical system has gone out and no one has been able to fix it as of yet. The battery, the alternator, the fuse box, the anti-theft module have all been replaced. We think that the fuel pump and the starter will also need to be replaced.

General Comments:

I love the look of this car.

I really love the way it handles when it is running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2004

30th Jul 2004, 16:14

The same thing happened to my sisters car.

It wouldn't work for 6 months. The mechanic said that we had to change the computer. so we did and its working very good, but the engine light came back and the mechanic said it was because of the cap when you tighten the fuel pump. it doesn't make the sound pop so we fixed that and it has been OK so far.

My sister's car is a mercuary cougar 2002.

25th Jul 2007, 20:56

I too have a 1999 Mercury Cougar - had to have it-loved the looks - what a lemon. Had to replace the engine with less than 65,000 - unfortunately, it was bought used and we never got anything in writing.

Now - the mechanic is stating that the Computer Theft Module will not correspond to the engine - he sent it to a Ford Dealership - they said there is nothing they can do now - Great News - I was offered $150.00 for the junk yard.

Any suggestions.