19th Jun 2003, 14:50

I have a Grand Am and I took offense to the reference to them in this review. If you are looking at Cougars, consider Grand Ams also. I can name 3 reasons why the Grand Am is better. 1, the stopped making the Cougar after 02. Could it be because too many people had complaints with it? 2, the Grand Am top of the line is comparable to the top of the line Cougar (equipped with more features, even) and is thousands less. and 3, the V6 Cougar only produces 160 hp where as the Grand Am V6 produces 175. 15hp may not seem like much, but for thousands less and a more reliable car, it only makes the package more appealing, doesn't it? I'm sorry you wasted your money.

27th Aug 2003, 14:50

To say that I am disapointed with my 2000 cougar, which I had purchased as a leftover in 2001, would be a gross understatement! I have had numerous problems with my car. since I purchased my car I have replaced two fuel pumps, three fuel filters, a whole engine, multiple fuses, ground wires, cables, my CD player does not work, my sunroof does not open and the seal on my rear window is coming off. it is impossible to enjoy the zip that this car has because it is never working! I am very unhappy with my cougar. it is really a shame because appearance wise it is great.

3rd Dec 2003, 22:48

I have to say that my 2000 cougar handles well and is very attractive, but the constant electrical malfunctions outweigh the cars' performance. I have had the car shut off on me four times in two years leaving me in the middle of freeways and service streets, and in addition my sunroof won't go back. The main cable that runs from the engine to the battery had to be replaced and the battery sits too close to the engine causing potential problems with cables and wires. It almost seems like Mercury didn't do enough tests and pushed this car out into the market too quickly. (which is probably the reason they stopped making it)

Gerard SoCal

27th Dec 2003, 21:51

Just bought a 2000,with 48K miles in Dec 2003. Problems with hesitation at about 1500 to 2000 RPM. A tune-up helped, but it still does it periodically. Rear latch problems. I have seen other reviews stating the same. My theory on this one is that the springs lose their tension and become weak so the hatchback just falls back into the slot because it is so heavy. New springs are 11.50 each, but I'm going to try and replace them and will let everyone know if successful. Also only one third of the rear window defroster works. Not needed much in Fla. so I probably won't fix. Suspension is terrible. Every bump or crack in the road is felt as though there aren't any shocks at all. If this is sports suspension I want no part of it. Dealer service gets an "F", Salesman says no chip in key and doesn't have remote- wrong. New key and programming is over 100.00. Not happy. Car is for wife and she loves it- mostly looks and acceleration. She is not a mechanic and only sees the good side of the car. After reading all the negatives about this car I wish I had never bought it. Not looking forward to all the future problems. Previous car was a Nissan Altima, a great car and basically no problems for over 6 years. I would not recommend this car for any reason. Bart Florence, e-mail at candieman8@aol.com if you would like to compare notes etc.

8th Jan 2004, 18:18

I made the comment about the 2000 Cougar with hesitation problems. After the third trip to the shop I returned it back to the dealer and bought a Mustang. It was scary to read all the problems in this column. Did not want to risk it because I tend to keep a car for many years. Luckily I was able to trade it back in - but still got screwed. Something about depreciation and I had owned it for 3 weeks so it was now worth less. Mustang is wonderful.

8 Jan 2004.

10th Feb 2004, 18:04

To the guy who keeps replacing his fuel pump:

I also own a new cougar-V6 with a 5 speed. If you take care of it, (and didn't buy one of the ones produced very early in the year) then it's a great car. I've had no problems except the rails on the sunroof warping, which is normal, and unfortunately not covered under warranty usually.

The fuel pump is the other regular issue. This is the same fuel pump that causes problems in the Ford Focus. The main thing here is that it is mounted badly, and is only fuel cooled. Notice that you'll typically run out of gas when it says you have 50 miles left in the tank if you park on an incline. But to prevent all these problems, don't let your car drop below a quarter of a tank. You shouldn't drop below there anyway because youre then pulling junk up from the bottom of the tank, like dirt and such that gets into fuel stores under gas stations. This will keep it cooled, and thus unlikely to go out. It will also keep it from choking in 3rd gear (which tends to happen when youre low on gas).

17th Mar 2004, 08:23


I bought my cougar in Dec 2003 and so far so good I didn't have any problems with this car. I have extended warranty on it and after reading all this reviews I am glad that I did bought it. it has 2.5 V6 engine in it and it gives a best performance. Suspension is very smooth. I have no idea why other guys have troubles with it. everything is working and I am happy with this car. If you have any comments just e-mail me @ sand200202@yahoo.com

V. K.

8th Apr 2004, 21:51

I bought my cougar in Dec '02... Absolutely no problems!!! I love this car, I will keep this one for years. My father always told me to never go below 1/4 of a tank, and I won't. I will take care of my car, therefore I won't be here writing any bad reviews. I love the cat!

9th Jul 2004, 11:25

I bought my 2000 Cougar in 2003 and have had good and bad experiences. I had my car in the shop 3-4 times for dying, engine hesitation and engine surging which occurred when the gas gage was below 1/4 tank. I know it should not get below that, but sometimes it just happens. Anyway, those 3-4 times at the service shop, they accused me of running out of gas. I know I'm a woman, but I'm not stupid, 1/4 tank should mean 1/4 tank. After those unsuccessful attempts at getting it fixed, I finally received a recall notice in the mail. The fuel pump had been recalled and I received a new one for free. I think those of you with the same problem should be sure to get your new fuel pump also. Anyway, I love the car's looks and power. I will always buy from the Ford Family!!!

30th Jul 2005, 15:20

I am almost 16 years old and I am getting my first car. I told my dad (who is set on getting me a Honda Civic) that I wanted this 2000 Cougar really bad and he said that if I got it, he would not take care of any of the problems. So I'm looking up this research and I'm kind of doubting getting one. Should I go with my dads civic or stay with the Cougar.