1987 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1987 Mercury Grand Marquis LX 5.0L from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance146700 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Luxury at a great value - absolutely the best car!

Faults:

New muffler needed at 100k.

General Comments:

I can't say enough good things about the Mercury Grand Marquis. I have only owned one other type of vehicle. Every 8 to 10 years I purchase another used Grand Marquis as the resale value is very low. I have been able to purchase a relatively new Grand Marquis (30K-40K miles) for under $3,500 every time I run one until it dies (only because I won't pay astronomical mechanic fees when I can get a "new" car for such a small amount). It also saves me a lot of money on insurance!

These are very reliable vehicles that are very comfortable for the whole family with more than enough cargo space in the enormous trunk. The leather interior is actually kid friendly as it does not stain and can be cleaned fairly easily. It is also nice to have a vehicle that is large enough on the road that you are not dwarfed or intimidated by all the SUV's. Pack up the family and really enjoy your next road trip in luxury!

The gas mileage is not unreasonable for the size of the vehicle and the power it has. It accelerates very well.

Thumbs up for the Grand Marquis!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

28th Sep 2005, 10:28

I agree with your review because I currently own a 2 door Mercury Grand Marquis LS. It has 120,000 miles, and it still amazed that not a single thing is wrong with it after 6 months of hard driving. Not to mention its rust free and it shines as good as it did the day it rolled off the showroom floor.

It doesn't leak or burn a drop of oil, the transmission is smooth and quiet, and all the power options work without any problems. The acceleration is brisk in this car, and many cars have a hard time keeping up with it.

The gas mileage is very good on these cars, since I had it up to 28 mpg on the highway on a recent trip to Ocean city, Maryland (doing 75 the whole way). If anyone complains about the gas mileage in these cars, its usually because they drive it like a sports car.

I have to admit though, I'm a young 20 year adult who drove an 93 and 96 eagle talon before this car, and I was skeptical at first about this car. Going from sporty performance to pure luxury was a big change, but it was well worth it. My friends and I now enjoy a comfortable, smooth, and safe ride, and ironically girls love this car too. I also have the pleasure of not being in debt or knowing the AAA tow truck driver on a first name basis.

Good luck with your Marquis, and treat it well because it deserves it. Ford should have never stopped making this car, and many manufacturers ("cough...Mitsubishi..cough") today need to take some lessons from them.

29th Sep 2005, 14:24

A couple years ago I bought a used '88 Grand Marquis on Ebay for $350. It had over 135,000 miles on it and I put 20,000 more on it with no problems before I totalled it in an accident. It was a great car. I was 18 when I had it and customized it with tint, rims, and a killer sound system. It was such a good car that I someday plan to buy another.

5th Oct 2005, 23:04

I have a 92 Grand Marquis and I put 20,000 miles on it in one year it currently has 125K no mechanical suprises take care of these cars and they will take care of you.

18th Jan 2006, 03:32

My family owned an '87 Grand Marquis in Canada from 2000 or so to 2002. We loved it, mostly. It was alarming, though, to drive it on really slick roads because it could lose traction quickly in that situation. We had virtually no problems with it. It's A/C was out, but that's the condition of most cars that age, and we never used the A/C anyhow. The car's biggest weakness was it's thirst for fuel. The 1987 Canadian Grand Marquis had a rare option of a 351 V8. That car would drink gas around town, which was unfortunately the place we used it most. But everything worked as it should have, and if it weren't for the fact that gas could break most people's pocketbooks nowadays, we still would have that iron-grey cigarette boat of a car.

25th Jul 2009, 23:51

"Ford should have never stopped making this car..."

The Grand Marquis is still in production, but Ford doesn't bother marketing the car with its "modern" product line-up...

1987 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0L from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

More than enough car for your money

Faults:

I bought this car for $500 and drove it from Missouri to Washington state with 175,000 miles on it. All the way through the mountains with no problem whatsoever. Unfortunately a few months after I reached Washington, my engine decided to throw a couple of rods, but with 175,000 miles I couldn't complain about that. I did a complete rebuild. I purchased a short block, had the heads redone, bought a new heater core, P/S pump, water pump, and all the usual tune-up goodies. Ever since then the car runs like a champ and still rides like a dream. She looks a little rough with normal aging, but I have no complaints whatsoever.

General Comments:

Excellent example of American quality craftsmanship, almost 200,000 miles on the clock and still going strong.

The car has enough power to accelerate and pass at speed, but I still think it is a crime to limit a 302 to 140hp for the sake of gas mileage. Ford could have put a little more aggressive heads or throttle body on it.

If you are looking for a cheap reliable car, definitely consider a Grand Marquis around these years that has been reasonably taken care of. You will not be disappointed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2004

25th Jul 2009, 23:55

A 302/HO conversion will solve the power issue... Visit grandmarq.net's 5.0/5.8 tech forum for more details :)

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews