1987 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 Liter from North America

Summary:

Best car I owned so far!!

Faults:

Had to replace fuel pump & gage sending unit due to fuel sending unit wasn't working, replaced both front calipers due to one freezing up, had to replace ECM in distributor, all new plugs and wires due a cracked spark plug, water pump, but these are normal maintenance items anyway.

Transmission went out at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

Great car floats down the road, very comfortable interior, needs more gages, can't really complain for $28.00 (what it cost to transfer title, plates) when inherited from my father when he passed away in 2007. I'm still driving it, and it runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2009

1987 Mercury Grand Marquis from North America

Summary:

Only a captain can handle the land yacht

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

The greatest car ever made!! Bought it used for $100 with 200,000 miles. Drove it for about 5 years/80,000 miles. Did not have it in the shop once for major repair. Kept up with oil changes and regular maintenance. It finally died at 280,000 miles. Mechanic said engine seized up and would be unable to repair. I ripped the hood ornament off and never looked back. After that purchased a 2001 Lincoln LS. Worst car ever!!! Had it in shop 7 times the second year owned. Last week got rid of it and purchased a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. Probably will have it for the rest of my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2006

29th Oct 2013, 20:59

A 1987 Grand Marquis is a large car by today's standards, but even today it is not that enormous. The Chrysler/Dodge 300 and Charger are nearly as large, and quite a bit heavier if you can believe that. The Grand Marquis weighs in at about 3800 lbs, while the Charger R/T with a V8 weighs 4100 pounds with standard equipment.

In 1987, the Lincoln town car and Cadillac Brougham were two cars that dwarfed the grand Marquis.

A true land yacht in my opinion is something like a 1973 Buick Electra 225 or a 1959 Cadillac De ville. I guess it's all about your perspective...

30th Oct 2013, 17:24

While I agree with you that the 80s Grand Marquis are by no means huge (they would have been mid-size in the mid-70s), they are quite a bit larger than any modern large car. The Chrysler/Dodge large cars are the smallest of the domestic modern large cars at under 200 inches long. The big Ford and Chevy are both around 203. The 80s Grand Marquis by comparison was about 212 inches. Weight though is similar only because of all the electronic gizmos of modern cars and government regulated emissions systems. Personally I think the 80s cars looked better and rode nicer. The new Charger is a decent looking car though, just wish it was bigger and not made by Chrysler.

1987 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 V8 from North America

Summary:

Overall I love my Grand Marquis very much and I'd buy one again in a heart beat

Faults:

Radio didn't work, replaced for 50$

Hood wouldn't open, a good spray with some WD40 fixed that.

Rear passenger side window regulator is bad, haven't fixed yet though.

A/c needs to be recharged.

Passenger seat wouldn't go forward, found a penny stuck in the track, removed and works fine.

Dash lights quit working, haven't figured out problem yet, I've checked fuses and found none blown. I guess next I'll have to make sure the wire didn't come loose.

Needed front tires bought used, but almost new condition for 25$ each.

Had to replace battery as the old one wouldn't hold a charge. 50$ to replace.

Badly in need of a paint job although there is very little rust for an original Minnesota car.

Replaced drivers door as the old one was dented by the prior owner, 50$

Replaced trunk lid due to rust above the trim on the passenger side, 75$

Parking brake sticks, but a hammer easily fixes that though if someone accidentally puts it on.

General Comments:

Big comfortable car with lots of room for passengers and cargo.

Huge trunk, I fit my tools, full size spare tire, spare parts, paint cans and other assorted items, as well as my grandmothers wheel chair and still manage to have room in the trunk.

Seats are like sitting on a couch and there is more than enough leg room, although the rear seat belts could be a little longer.

Engine still runs like a top and only has 48K miles, and the transmission shifts great even going up some of the big hills here where I live.

One thing I do not like about this car is the fact is has two drain plugs for the oil.

Fairly good on gas - I get about 22 on the highway and about 19 in town give or take.

Suspension is a little bouncy, but I tend to like it because the car basically floats over the bumps. Even those big speed bumps in parking lots.

Overall I'd have to say it's the best 200$ I've ever spen, and I'd buy another one in a heart beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2006

15th Aug 2006, 07:47

My wife bought an 88 Grand Marquis with 38K miles in '92 from her meticulous uncle (the 1st owner) for $8,000. It has been very reliable & now has 250K on it.

In about '94, at apprx 50-55K miles, the transmission lost reverse & low gear; local shop traced trouble to a simple control-cable grommet made of nylon; he said this was a famous problem & cured it with a brass grommet, all for $35 including labor (but that was 12 yr ago & labor would cost more now). Valve-cover gaskets began leaking at 200K & were replaced at 240K. A/C compressor was replaced at appx 180K. Alternator & radiator lasted til 190K. The heater core has not worked since appx 160K, & I don't want to spend $800 on that labor-intensive under-dash repair; air-conditioning is much more important to me.

Power-steering bearings went out at 210K, & now I drive it with short serpentine belt which leaves out the power-steering. My wife cannot drive it anymore, but I like the upper-body exercise it gives me! Tie-rod(s) was(were) replaced.

Indeed, it does float over bumps; & yet it corners with little sway. No road vibration; no wind noise. Cushions & velour are plush & durable. Fuel injection has been faultless. Overdrive is nice; gets 21-22 mpg highway at its present advanced age. Dislike the absence of a temperature gauge. I can live with the dual oil-drain plugs. Like the extra cigar lighters in the rear doors for my computers. NOTHING MAJOR has ever been required for ENGINE or TRANSMISSION! Ford built this one well.

21st Aug 2007, 15:41

Yes they did, and I love my car; won't give it up for nothing.

8th Oct 2008, 12:24

I have a 1986 Grand Marquis LS. Bought it for 500 dollars. It's exterior and interior are in perfect shape. The only things I could complain about are the mpg, (19 city, 22 or so highway) but what do you expect for such a big car. It looks awesome, drives smoothly, floats over bumps, and the acceleration is pretty good. The air conditioner stopped working too well, so I just drive with the windows down. The heater works fine, too.

Biggest problem is that my power steering went out (because of a leak), but I can still manage to drive it rather well.

I've even managed to drive it on some pretty rocky roads: the suspension is pretty much high enough for that.

It's a tough old guy!!! Very roomy inside. And it looks cool driving.