1991 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 302 FI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 302 FI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carDodge D150

Summary:

Super Car!

Faults:

Alternator most recently.

The battery was replaced also at the same time.

My father in-law replaced the entire A/C.

System before he gave us the car.

Muffler and tailpipe also.

General Comments:

My father in-law left the car to us when he passed away. It had been very well taken care of, and has low mileage for the year. Everything about this car I love. The more I drive it the better it gets. The alternator went out the first day we had it, easiest I have ever replaced, cheap too. The only problems I have experienced are a slight shifting /finding right gear at 40 MPH. Also the only other thing that really bugs me is when in a turn with any speed at all the tires start squealing. The 215/70/15 seem way to small for this car.I'm thinking of switching to a late model stock 16" steel wheel and police size 225/70/16. if anyone knows the fix to these problems please contact me at russelljohnson@alltel.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2004

4th Mar 2004, 07:06

Switching to a larger wheel size will not necessarily solve your tire squeal problems. It will also cause problems with your speedometer reading, engine computer and possibly your ABS.

Try inflating your tires a pound or two over the recommended pressure, or try different tires. A 205/60-15 would have the same overall diameter, but a lower profile.

You should have been able to figure this stuff out yourself anyway, being the The Professor and all :0.

4th Mar 2004, 14:45

The previous comment is incorrect. You have to go up in size as you go down in sidewall aspect ratio, so if you want to switch to a 60 series tire, you would have to go to a 235/60-15 (if that size exists) to keep the same overall diameter as your 215/70-15.

What does the reference to being the Professor mean?

9th Sep 2005, 14:39

When I replaced my tires, I kept the same 15 inch turbine wheels, but changed the tire size to 225/70-15 instead of the 215/75-15. I also replaced the shocks with firmer ones. The cars handles awesome now considering it's size and weight. And, the wider profile tires make the car look beefier.

20th May 2013, 15:25

How can a tire have the same diameter, but result in a lower profile? (The best it can do is give him a wider footprint.)

To the OP: go with 15" rims and some nice (215-to-235)/75R15 rears; they're a splendid compromise between better fuel economy without sacrificing the amount of air the tire will hold (as thin tires on fat rims do), preserving ride comfort. Note that your mph needle will register about 3-5mph under what you're actually doing (so, if you're speeding, just make sure you're going a bit slower than the rice boxes passing you)...

1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 Liter EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 Liter EFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

Worth every penny

Faults:

My driver's side power window motor quit working at 55,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable, safe and affordable. It is worth every penny that I paid for it.

My Grand Marquis is 12 years old and runs like brand new. It is smoother than some Cadillacs I have driven and they cost two times as much.

I get over 20 miles per gallon on the highway and about 17 in town. This is not bad considering the size and weight of the vehicle.

I feel very safe in this car, especially since it has an airbag and it is massive piece of metal.

The trunk space is twice that of your average sedan.

A great value for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LX 4.9L OHV from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.9L OHV Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

A good, comfortable buy for the price

Faults:

Transmission was rebuilt at 175000 miles. Third and fourth gears were disabled in the New Mexican desert in the middle of a trip.

Power steering hoses replaced last year.

General Comments:

My car is not quick, but it has a lot of torque.

This is a very comfortable highway cruiser, the interior is first-class.

The gas mileage is not that great, but better than a sport utility vehicle!

It's very old-fashioned (a good thing).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2002

1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 302 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 302 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChrysler LHS

Summary:

A great family car or great to take on long trips

Faults:

Besides the usual maintenance and tune-up, the exhaust needed replaced and the heater control temperature switches in the dashboard had to be replaced twice in one month, but that's all.

General Comments:

Very roomy with a quiet and smooth ride. This was also the last year for this boxy body style and the 302 V-8.

Gas mileage was decent on the highway, but quite a guzzler in town, but the appointments make the car worth owning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews