1992 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6 V8 from North America


It is a wonderful land boat!!


I had a oil leak in the oil sending unit.

The radio has off spells.

The power seats have default.

General Comments:

The car is lovely, it handles good. It's easy on gas.

It has been a wonderful car for me, I bought it when I was 16, wrecked it, and bought me another one just like it.

I think I will stay with a Mercury the rest of my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2008

1992 Mercury Grand Marquis Marquis LS 4.6L V8 SOHC from North America


Spacious and Smooth


I failed an emissions test because the Nox was over 900; unfortunately that's almost triple the limit. I'm not sure how to pass the emissions test. I have to replace the EGR Valve, and I am thinking to Terra-Clean the vehicle. I don't know why, but maybe it is the EGR Valve. When I come to a red light, or stop for over one minute (at 0 Km/h), then the vehicle will stall. There is no trouble to start up or drive; just when I have been sitting for over a minute. So to prevent stalling, I inch up before a minute. If sitting at a red light, I wonder why it stalls?

General Comments:

As I mentioned above, the vehicle always handled wonderfully on road and highway. It had a smooth ride, with low kilometers when purchased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

1992 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 8 cylinder from North America


A nice handling car


Replaced all the gas lines and brake lines.

Replaced a cracked windshield.

Replaced the alternator.

Replaced the wheel bushings and rotors.

Resealed the tires.

General Comments:

Bought the car for $600 bucks.

No rust on the exterior, and underneath is pretty good.

It sat for 2 years, so I had to put about 1800.00 into it for safety.

Have only been driving it for 2 days now, and really like the steering/comfortable seating.

Everything so far is working fine - I hope it will be good to me in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2006

1992 Mercury Grand Marquis LX V8 from North America


It earns your respect


Emergency brake does not work

Heater barely heats

Air Conditioner does not work

2 Electric windows had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I inherited this car from my dad and have grown to love it. Yes, it's showing it's age and some things don't work, but it starts up every time, is comfortable, and has a lot of giddy up on the highway. It parks like a boat and I have dinged up the fenders/tail lights because of it. But to own this car is to love it. I plan to get another Grand Marquis when this one bites the dust, but I am in no hurry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2005

3rd Jan 2006, 20:22

It'll be awhile for you then, it will easily run 300,000 miles. change the oil on time and perform tune ups every 30,000 miles, good luck.

1992 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6L V8 from North America


A relaxing headache


Wheel bearings went at 240000km.

Shocks went bad at 242000km.

Ignition module went at 237000km, cost $400 to replace it.

All eight valve seals were replaced at 245000km.

4 gas lines were replaced in 6 months.

Exhaust pipes came off from the manifolds at 247000km.

Front two fenders and left rear fender are all badly rusted.

Left front headlights came out of place at 244000km.

Gas filler pipe replaced at 249000km.

General Comments:

I bought my car in June of 2005, as a 16 year old who just trashed his 1980 Cadillac, I wanted something big, powerful and comfortable. The 4.6L V8 pumps out a lot of power-when it is on all 8 cylinders. It is the same engine that cop cars have in them today. Shortly after I bought my car, it would shake terribly when it shifted into third gear. It took months to figure out that it was an ignition module that needed to be replaced. After it was back on all 8 cylinders, green light starts were not a problem.

In summer and fall, the ride is smooth, and it is really easy to feel the power from the engine, but in winter, one tap on the gas pedal at the wrong time can be awful.

Inside the car, it's really comfortable, even with the cloth seats. It's a six-seater, with plenty of room for all six. The back seat area reminds me much like a limo when it has the center-armrest folded down. The standard tape-player never worked when I bought the car, but a nice Clarion CD player works great.

The only downside to the interior of the car is the fact that there are no cup-holders.

All in all, the car is great, but don't expect it lasting much past 250000km unless it is babied, although it can take a lot of abuse.

If you come across one, buy it. They also make nice taxi's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2005

10th Jan 2006, 11:24

Yeah, about a month after I wrote this review, both front wheel bearings needed to be replaced while I was on a road trip about 300km from home. On the way home, my transmission went... On the way to the garage, it was snowing, and with snow, there was slush... and my transmission shifted from fourth to first going around a turn... the car went right off of the road.

Many junkyards absolutely don't want these cars... why? No idea. Taxi companies love them though. If a Grand Marquis does decide to "give out", take it to a taxi company and most likely, they'll take it for parts.

23rd Feb 2008, 09:38

I actually have owned many Lincoln Town Cars, which are the same; just more leather and money really. And I haven't ever had one of my cars die before hitting at least 350,000kms.

My best Town Car ran until 612,000kms on the original drive train, and died because an F150 rear ended me at a red light.

On average I get about 430,000kms out of a Town Car, typically. And no I don't drive them as taxis or limos or anything, just personal use; I just drive a lot.

29th Apr 2008, 00:55

Hey, I had a 92 Marquis, got 366,000km outta her before my PCU went crispy. 4.6 burned lots of oil, exhaust fell off, floorboards went, trans was going, wandered like a drunk horse, but never...NEVER...EVER refused to start for me, even in the coldest mornings (except the day my starter was seized...lol)! Good car thought 9 OUTTA 10.