2003 Mercury Grand Marquis LS Ultimate 4.6 from North America

Summary:

Luxury at modest prices

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. I have only needed to do preventative maintenance (oil changes, etc) ; and some new tires because the old ones were the originals.

General Comments:

I don't know why this car is bashed so much in the last few years. I absolutely LOVE this car. Luxury at an affordable price, I managed to get this car for only $7,000, and the window sticker was $32,300 in 2003!

I have every option available for that year, air suspension, cloth roof, chrome, etc. It is ice metallic with chrome and a black roof, its gorgeous, I get many many compliments on it.

It's a spacious car with VERY comfortable seats, its very quiet and the ride is unbelievable! The MPG is great for such a big car, I pull about 26 on the highway and 18-20 in the city. It has plenty of power, although I think 275 HP would've really been great, but no big deal.

It's a shame that the Marquis has that "grandpa car" image. I'm 20 years old, and have always been attracted to big boats for cars, although my friends poke fun at me for having "an old persons car," haha, but I don't care. I plan on driving it for at least another 10 years.

One more point, with the posi-rear, it's fabulous in the snow, I put two snow tires on it and I live on steep hills... not one wheel slipped.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2010

2nd Jun 2010, 12:11

Anyone bashing these cars knows absolutely NOTHING about them. They are some of the most comfortable and reliable cars on the planet, and extremely well built. As a car enthusiast, I congratulate you on your excellent taste!!

7th Jun 2010, 21:04

Well, thank you. It is quite a car. My dream car has always been a 1977/78 Marquis, a 1978 Lincoln Continental, or an Oldsmobile 98 Regency (any year before 84 is fine) ; but we'll have to wait on that, haha. One suggestion to anyone buying a car, whether it is brand new....or used: you should research and read what actual buyer/owners are saying, not "expert reviews," you'll notice that they're two totally different things.

One thing I forgot to mention: These so called "expert reviewers" claimed that the car was not comfortable and that the engine was very noisy. I'm sure its not as quiet as a BMW 7 series, haha but now we're talking about an $85,000 car. You can barely hear the engine... at least I can't. It's a shame that these cars are discontinued. What car do you drive might I ask?

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis 4.6 Eight Cylinder from North America

Summary:

Great Car, Would Purchase Again!

Faults:

These are great cars and can be found used for very good prices. Wanted to purchase a new one at the Auto Show, but could not pass up the great prices that can be found on used Grand Marquis.

If you are looking for a family automobile that gets 27 miles to the gallon on highway driving and can tow a boat or pop up trailer with no problem, this could be the car for you.

The only things that this car has needed are oil changes (synthetic) and tire replacement.

General Comments:

This car handles well, has plenty of power and gets very good gas mileage for it's size.

I have owned smaller cars that didn't get as good of gas mileage and were not comfortable or fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2008

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis LSE 4.6L V8 from North America

Summary:

Excellent value for the money

Faults:

Wheel alignment after 2 years to bring the steering back to spec. Steering is now tighter and lighter.

General Comments:

A beautiful quiet freeway cruiser, great for long hauls.

Tireless to drive for hours.

The LSE model is firm on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

22nd Nov 2011, 12:31

This comment may be three years too late, however, do you have the floor shifter? Most of the LSE's that I have seen (on the rare occasion that I actually see one) have floor shifters.

1st May 2012, 21:56

I owned a '03 Grand Marquis LSE, and it came with a floor shifter. It was a fantastic car that never missed a beat. I really regretted selling it.

2nd May 2012, 15:42

I was really surprised that your Mercury required an alignment at only two years. Not a single domestic car we have ever owned has EVER required an alignment... ever. This includes cars that have been driven 300,000 miles, and cars that have had bent wheels and blown out tires from hitting pot holes or curbs.

I just took my Ford Fusion in for an alignment and tire replacement after hitting a curb hard enough to blow out a tire. The shop told me it did not need an alignment, and didn't even charge me for checking it. I took our GM SUV in for an alignment check (it has well over 100,000 miles). I was told it didn't need one as well.

The only cars we have ever owned that would not hold an alignment were Japanese (their poorly built sub-frames actually sagged after a few years) and German. That is just one of many reasons that we refuse to even look at anything not built by an American company now.

3rd May 2012, 16:50

I had a Buick Park Avenue that required one around 100K, and recently I hit a curb with a Buick Lucerne on ice at about 15 mph, and it threw the alignment off a little.

5th May 2012, 00:29

If you want even tread wear and straight tracking down the road, an alignment will be required at some point. If you own a RWD car, only the front wheels will need to be aligned.