2003 Mercury Marauder 4.6 32 valve 302 HP from North America

Summary:

One of the best FULL SIZE performance sedans of all time

Faults:

Replaced tires. That was all!

General Comments:

Excellent car. Very good handling. Very good ride. Very good acceleration. The car would have benefited from the planned supercharger and more advertising.

History repeats itself. In 1963 Mercury came out with the Marauder a year before the first muscle car era kicked off in 1964. In 2003 Mercury came out with another Marauder, just before the muscle cars returned in force in 2005.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2012

16th Feb 2013, 08:11

And in 2004 Mercury discontinued the Marauder because nobody was buying them.

17th Feb 2013, 00:30

I like the car, but agree that it should've had more power. A supercharger or larger V8 would've helped.

26th Feb 2013, 23:27

Unfortunately, there's only so much you can do with that tiny 4.6 L V8. Its architecture is dated back to 1991, and it's too small to really be beefy. I agree that a larger V8 could've worked better.

28th May 2013, 23:33

I disagree as to the 4.6 being a low luster platform. It's a tried and true motor that's been around for a long time. You can change the cams, heads, port and polish, and the list goes on. It all depends on how much money you want to spend. The ultimate is a supercharger, which makes a Marauder a Vette killer!!!

16th Aug 2013, 00:17

Yeah, there's hardly anything you can do to quicken the Marauder (not).

The 4.6 is one of the best platforms for performance mods. The ultimate is adding a supercharger, which makes the Marauder an absolute monster of a sleeper, clicking off 0-60 times in the high 4s and low 5s.

For the economy minded, you can settle for 4.10 rear gears and a performance tune, and run with Mustang GTs and Charger R/Ts all day long.

So yeah, the 4.6 Marauder has no potential, like hell it doesn't!

2004 Mercury Marauder DTR from North America

Summary:

A full sized Mustang

Faults:

A/C fan developed high pitched squeal and failed. 2011.

Drivers side front passenger window control quit. 2011.

Driver's side front door lock makes a strange grinding sound, but still works; only grinds the first time the door is opened, either after having been parked or driven for a while. 2011-2012.

Second (from drivers side) vent flow door is broken or derailed. Squeals if the vent is closed while in use. 2010.

Subwoofer died. 2007.

General Comments:

Big car, inside and out.

Fast enough without loading. When loaded, fast enough for just about any non super car one may encounter.

Handles very well for its size, but you will slide around inside.

Fits two big people upfront very well, elbow touching window, to fist touching fist, to elbow touching elbow to fist... to elbow touching window. Can't do that in a Subaru.

Headlights are very bad, but great when replaced with Silver Stars.

K&N filter is the only performance mod.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2012

19th May 2013, 21:51

I do not agree that the only performance mod is a KN CAI. You can get performance headers/exhaust and 4.10 rear end gearing with performance tune, and really wake up the overall performance! Then there's always a supercharger if you want to kill Corvettes.

20th May 2013, 06:54

The reviewer was saying that the K&N air filter (NOT CAI) was the only performance mod they had done, not that it was the only one available.

Mercury Marauder... the performance car for big people.

28th Jul 2013, 23:43

Point taken, but that's not how I understood the first post, so that's why I responded! But if I misread the post, I will stand corrected. I just want readers to have the straight scoop on the M/Ms...

30th May 2015, 13:16

Correct, it's only one performance mod out of many, many possible modifications that can be done.

I also changed the wiper blades and had a further problem with the paint rusting on the roof. Might have been a hail rock chip problem, but only happened to the roof. The rust bubbles would make a spring sprong type noise when popping. I thought it was the seat springs, but it was the roof. It was fixed last year, properly, and still looks good.

I replaced my Marauder as my main car, after making a mistake and finding out just how bad it is compared to my new, previously owned BMW 750 Li. It works a little different than my Marauder. Turns much better, much better seats, better lights, and many, many more features. The BMW has a light acceleration pedal (gas pedal) and a brake pedal that is instant. The Marauder is the opposite; instant gas, but you have to stomp on the brakes. Every time I drive it now I think it has brake failure.

If you have a car you like, never ever drive a BMW 7 Series, as you won't be able to go back.