Mercury Marauder Reviews

2003 Mercury Marauder 4.6 32 valve 302 HP from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.6 32 valve 302 HP Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance47300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

One of the best FULL SIZE performance sedans of all time

Faults:

Replaced tires. That was all!

General Comments:

Excellent car. Very good handling. Very good ride. Very good acceleration. The car would have benefited from the planned supercharger and more advertising.

History repeats itself. In 1963 Mercury came out with the Marauder a year before the first muscle car era kicked off in 1964. In 2003 Mercury came out with another Marauder, just before the muscle cars returned in force in 2005.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2012

16th Feb 2013, 08:11

And in 2004 Mercury discontinued the Marauder because nobody was buying them.

17th Feb 2013, 00:30

I like the car, but agree that it should've had more power. A supercharger or larger V8 would've helped.

26th Feb 2013, 23:27

Unfortunately, there's only so much you can do with that tiny 4.6 L V8. Its architecture is dated back to 1991, and it's too small to really be beefy. I agree that a larger V8 could've worked better.

28th May 2013, 23:33

I disagree as to the 4.6 being a low luster platform. It's a tried and true motor that's been around for a long time. You can change the cams, heads, port and polish, and the list goes on. It all depends on how much money you want to spend. The ultimate is a supercharger, which makes a Marauder a Vette killer!!!

16th Aug 2013, 00:17

Yeah, there's hardly anything you can do to quicken the Marauder (not).

The 4.6 is one of the best platforms for performance mods. The ultimate is adding a supercharger, which makes the Marauder an absolute monster of a sleeper, clicking off 0-60 times in the high 4s and low 5s.

For the economy minded, you can settle for 4.10 rear gears and a performance tune, and run with Mustang GTs and Charger R/Ts all day long.

So yeah, the 4.6 Marauder has no potential, like hell it doesn't!

2004 Mercury Marauder DTR from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 kilometres
Most recent distance62000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

A full sized Mustang

Faults:

A/C fan developed high pitched squeal and failed. 2011.

Drivers side front passenger window control quit. 2011.

Driver's side front door lock makes a strange grinding sound, but still works; only grinds the first time the door is opened, either after having been parked or driven for a while. 2011-2012.

Second (from drivers side) vent flow door is broken or derailed. Squeals if the vent is closed while in use. 2010.

Subwoofer died. 2007.

General Comments:

Big car, inside and out.

Fast enough without loading. When loaded, fast enough for just about any non super car one may encounter.

Handles very well for its size, but you will slide around inside.

Fits two big people upfront very well, elbow touching window, to fist touching fist, to elbow touching elbow to fist... to elbow touching window. Can't do that in a Subaru.

Headlights are very bad, but great when replaced with Silver Stars.

K&N filter is the only performance mod.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2012

19th May 2013, 21:51

I do not agree that the only performance mod is a KN CAI. You can get performance headers/exhaust and 4.10 rear end gearing with performance tune, and really wake up the overall performance! Then there's always a supercharger if you want to kill Corvettes.

20th May 2013, 06:54

The reviewer was saying that the K&N air filter (NOT CAI) was the only performance mod they had done, not that it was the only one available.

Mercury Marauder... the performance car for big people.

28th Jul 2013, 23:43

Point taken, but that's not how I understood the first post, so that's why I responded! But if I misread the post, I will stand corrected. I just want readers to have the straight scoop on the M/Ms...

2003 Mercury Marauder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40134 miles
Most recent distance50595 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

It likes the open road, and with the addition of a supercharger, would be a great boulevard bruiser

Faults:

Nothing, just the tires.

General Comments:

Looked for one for a year. Like the aggressive look, I like Black the best, although the Blue is my next pick.

I bought an (03 Black/ flint interior), 59,000 now, runs very well, suspension tight, had to put on all new tires, a little pricey, as the rear tires are only made by one manufacturer. Different aspect ratio front to back, fifty front, fifty-five rear. Add + 3 psi to rear to decrease center rear tire wear, re-align front from factory specs to decrease inner wear on front. Now handles like new.

Car was a two owner, but was well taken care of. Is a little slow off the line, no smoking tires, better with traction control off. Can smoke them if you power brake. Four-cam V8 hits its stride (at about 3,000 rpm), really gets its groove on and pulls with authority up to 6,000 rpm. screams like a Cobra. Essentially the same engine that powered the 2002 Mustang Cobra, it makes 302 horsepower at 5,750 rpm and 318 pound-feet of torque at 4,250 rpm. Car will accelerate from 0 to 60 mph in 6.5 seconds, Drive in town with O/D off, keeps the trans from excessive shifting.

Gas mileage, 17 in town, 22 highway, normal driving, with a punch now and then.

Gets looks where ever I go, people always ask, What is that? Looking forward to driving it a long time. I mean driving. Didn't buy it as a collector car, although will be in time.

There are a couple of forums on line, if you want more info.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2009

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews