2003 Mercury Marauder from North America

Summary:

This car is a great family car without sacrificing performance and styling

Faults:

Minor trim, such as poor fitting third brake light.

Doors stick due to poorly designed door weatherstrips.

No mechanical issues at all.

General Comments:

This car handles outstanding. It will take off ramps at speeds much higher than one would expect. The rack and pinion steering is very precise.

The styling of the car gets compliments almost daily. I'm asked often, what kind of car is that? Mostly because Mercury gave the car no advertising or publicity.

The total amount of Marauder made are under 8000 for the 2003's and under 3500 for the 2004's. This will make the car uncommon and possibly increase their resale value in the future.

Initial acceleration is not breathtaking. The performance really shines at speeds over 30 MPH. This is because of the small engine size, 281 cubic inches. It's horsepower is in the upper end of the RPM's.

There are several companies selling aftermarket performance upgrades, such as superchargers, which raises rear wheel horsepower to well over 400. There are also exhaust modifications available as well as chips/tuners and under-drive pulleys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

16th Aug 2004, 10:36

You admit that the acceleration is not breathtaking, but you don't mention the fuel consumption, which probably is. And it requires premium fuel, too.

Any wonder wny they only sold a few thousand of these? Not for lack of advertising!

Car models that get discontinued due to lack of sales go down in value, not up. Most people do not want to drive a "loser".

2003 Mercury Marauder 4.6L DOHC 32 valve V8 from North America

Summary:

Looks great, performs adequately

Faults:

- Nothing yet, but what do you expect from a brand new car?

General Comments:

- In 1993, I purchased a Ford Crown Victoria and I love the car. I still own it and have driven way over the 100,000 mile mark. When I first heard about the new Marauder, my immediate reaction was positive. In fact, I decided to make one my second car. What is this car really like? Read on.

- One thing no one can argue about: the Marauder looks damn good. People often think it's a police cruiser and pull to the side of the road. However, I wish the engine matched the good looks. 0-60 acceleration seems to be in the high 7 second range, which is quite disappointing for a car with 302 horsepower. Motor trend magazine seems to agree, because they said the same thing.

- To sum up, the Marauder is good, but could've been better. I hope Mercury puts a 5.4l V-8 in instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

16th Jul 2003, 14:05

It would've been nice if Ford had put a bigger engine in, but I think they couldn't. I believe the concept car had plans for a bigger engine, but when it came down to construction, the 4.6 was the biggest they could fit in the engine bay. What a disappointment!

2002 Mercury Marauder 4.6L OHV8 from North America

Summary:

The best car of 2003 and beyond!!

Faults:

Nothing at all, it's brand new!!!

General Comments:

Newest model to come out of the Mercury line up. The car is one of the most powerful sedans on the market, next to the F 150 Lightning. The Marauder comes fully loaded including leather interior, CD changer standard, all power features.

The car comes with a 4.6 liter Overhead Valve V8 pushing 320hp, 330lbs-ft of torque. The car has the ability to lay rubber, but due to the excellent traction control it is very difficult to do so. True dual exhaust with high flow catalytic converters, and mufflers with two 3 inch chrome tailpipes finishing off the rear.

The car right now only comes in a black finish, with carbon fiber look on the dash, and it finished off with 18 inch chrome aluminum alloy rims and P245/70/R18 low profile tires. This car is one of the best things to come out of Mercury since the previous 80's Cougar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

15th Nov 2003, 20:04

It's only 302HP not 320HP. I like the car though.

15th May 2004, 13:06

Actually the 302 horse power rating is underrated. Mercury has an updated manuscript for 03' stating the Marauder has actually 319 h.p. So 320 is about rite. Who cares, the car scares the imports away with its appearance alone!

14th Jul 2004, 09:47

This review sounds like it was copied out of a brochure for the Marauder, or at least written by someone who is trying to sell them.

30th Jul 2004, 16:19

OK I have a 03 marauder and it is more like 320hp, and yes the imports run far far away from it. however ford, likes to try and swindle people out of warranty claims.

6th Aug 2004, 09:49

320hp and the imports still beat it?

That's pretty sad...

13th Aug 2004, 13:31

I have an '02 Mercedes E class sedan with a V-6 that generates "only" 220hp...yet it does low sevens 0-60, just at the 302hp Maruader. The turbodiesel version of this Mercedes can do it in a smokin' 6.6 seconds! Yes...a diesel. These cars are smaller on the outside, but large on the inside compared to Crown Vics/Marquis. I believe Ford could easily build a car that meets these performance characteristics, but doesn't. Why is that?

12th Nov 2005, 13:54

I got the privlege of being able to drive my aunt's '03 Marauder, and I honestly have to say that I disagree with your statement saying that it is difficult to lay rubber, and that high 7's for a 0-60 time is slow for a car with 302, or 320 horsepower. Lets think about this, the Marauder is a beast that can comfortably fit 5 adults, along with all of their stuff. This car also has more storage space, more headroom, and more hip-room than any other car that is similar to it. Also, it doesn't cost more than $50,000 like some of the other high performance 300+ horsepower vehicles that you are comparing this to. I think that the Marauder is the BEST combination of power, space, and cost that you can get.

21st Jun 2008, 09:51

The Mercury Marauder was made with too many restrictions. With slight mods to the diff and the air flow, the car will make most imports look like potatoes on the track.

19th May 2009, 15:40

Does it have a supercharger??? Because I'm trying to get one of those beasts.