23rd Aug 2006, 01:39

I own a 2001 mercury grand marquis. Let me say that its not a slow poke. I originally bought it for the wife as a family car. Then I seen a marauder!! I got to have one!!. to the person that said all the horsepower in the 4.6 is in the top end... you were so right!! at 3000rpms my car starts to show what it wants to do, but can't because of intake and exhaust limitations. I plan to supercharge it (even though it is a family vehicle). I'll let you know how it RUNS after the supercharger is installed and I open up the intake and exhaust. I have always liked the styling of the higher priced mercs. and its nice to own one. After 58,000 miles, lube, oil and filter changes are the only money I have put into it.

30th Aug 2006, 16:57

I own a 2004 Marauder, black with grey interior; it had 9700 miles when I bought it 6 months ago. I've always had smaller cars and also own a 95 Jeep Grand Cherokee.

The Marauder's handling is excellent, and the power allows me to maneuver out of situations when warranted. On the highway, I actually get over 22 mpg. Off the line, it does seem a bit slow, but I think of it as an executive muscle car. Once I get rolling, the power is ready and willing to explode.

It is luxurious, has very high safety ratings, and extremely fun to drive. It turns heads wherever I go, and I'd rather have a Marauder - Mustangs are a dime a dozen.

20th Oct 2006, 18:07

I've been looking into buying a Marauder for about six months. I even took a test drive in one (fun, fun, fun). I found an 'off lease' but it's rusty underneath (i live in Canada). But what I was wondering about was the 'slow' start off the line... Is in to possible to turn off the traction control and leave rubber in your wake? I have heard that this option seems to suck the life from the low end power.

20th Oct 2006, 19:49

The Marauder did not get an on-off switch for its traction control until late in the 2003 model year, so you would have to look for a late 2003, or a 2004. Those models have the traction control switch to the left of the steering column (they also deleted the digital clock in the center of the dashboard around that same time)

23rd Oct 2006, 18:42

I bought my '04 Marauder in late '03 and my only problem has been center wear in the rear tires. I hear this is common and is correctable by increasing pressure. Sounds counter intuitive, but I'm told that does it. We'll see. Anyway, positive comments abound and it still turns heads. By the way, to the comment on page one... a white marauder? Ugh! Black is the only way to go. Take care all. -Scott.

2nd Apr 2007, 15:18

To the 7/31/06 comment: sorry, but your "source" is way off on the production numbers. Below is from wikipedia, but also verified on marauder.net:

Total production for the 2003 - 2004 Mercury Marauder was 11,052:

2003 - Total: 7839 (328 Blue, 417 Silver, 7094 Black)

2004 - Total: 3213 (980 Dark Toreador Red, 997 Silver, 1236 Black)

Right now there are at least 113 Marauders available for sale nationwide on auto trader. They are more expensive than the Grand Marquis of the same year, but not particularly hard to find as of yet...

17th Jul 2007, 13:18

I Have just bought an 03 marauder and I love it. I just would like to know how to find out what number of the 417 silver ones that were built mine is. Any help would be appreciated.

22nd Oct 2007, 21:47

I have owned two 2003 Marauders now, I just picked up a second. I also have a 1996 Impala SS. This Marauder is still a bit slow off the line, I add a chip and K&N Filter seemed to help, but the SS is still faster. I think that since these cars have been out of production for 5 years now. The value is staring to stabilize. I also think that some people are starting to want to locate these cars. I had to look for over a month before I found a nice clean one.

I look forward to adding this to my 1996 SS, and 2002 Pontiac Firehawk. This is a very nice car and if you can you should get one.

Dennis Reynolds.

20th Nov 2007, 23:58

I just bought my 03 Marauder in late September, and love the car. I have had old muscle and driven new muscle, this is the best thing I have been in. My wife has a Mustang, but does not compare. Congrats to those who have had the joy of even riding in this wonderful car. Those of you who are looking to buy one, you WILL reap the benefits.

3rd Jul 2009, 22:16

I own a 2001 Grand Marquis, which is an excellent car, but I have wanted one of the Marauders ever since I saw a new one at a County fair in 2003.

26th Aug 2011, 22:35

There were thousands of Marauders built.

10th Apr 2014, 23:38

Excuse me? You say the Merc Marauder is a loser (big statement with little substance)! Well everyone is in titled to their opinion. The MM is one of the most sought after 4 door performance sedans and is soon to be a collector's item! It's true they sold much fewer than projected, but not due to any fault of the car. "Google" reviews of the Merc and most have high praise for its overall performance and reliability! The main issue was not the lack of marketing; it was the way Ford went about it and the age segment of potential buyers that sealed its fate. GM didn't fare much better with the 94-98 Impala SS.

11th Apr 2014, 20:03

"GM didn't fare much better with the 94-98 Impala SS."

Well, that's only true for model years 1997 and '98, when they sold NONE.

15th Apr 2014, 17:30

The 94-96 Impalas have gained collector status. Especially the last models that had the floor shifter; the column gear selector kind of ruined the whole set-up for what it was designed to be (although I prefer the shifter to be on the column myself). The Marauder as of yet has failed to have the re-sale value of the Impala SS or collector status.