Mercury Montego Reviews

2005 Mercury Montego Premier 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Great car with all the features you can think of

Faults:

At 36,100 miles, the cluster started to go out, all the gages would stop working, back lights would go off, for about 15 seconds then come back on, the the problem got worse.

I purchased the extended warranty, thinking things would be all good. Well think again. Took the car into a Ford garage, and had the cluster fixed, and would be under warranty. Picked the car up and paid $150.00 deductible. Originally the cluster costs about $450.00. Extended warranty's are nice, but with the hidden fees involved.

General Comments:

This car is so comfortable, and a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2008

2005 Mercury Montego Premier FWD 3.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance15615 miles
Previous carMercury Mountaineer

Summary:

Great value and luxury in a full size car

Faults:

Fuel tank straps replaced. Pirelli tire road hazard deflated and replaced at no charge by dealer.

General Comments:

We love this vehicle. The Mountaineer was roomy, but ate gas and we get great mileage with the Montego 6 speed automatic. Our last 1,500 mile trip yielded 30.3 MPG.

The memory seats, pedals and mirrors are great because I'm 6'1" and my wife is 5'4".

The pass through rear seat backs let us carry lots of stuff to GoodWill etc. so we don't miss the Mountaineer.

When two couples go out to dinner, they always want to take the Montego because it is so classy and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2006

14th Feb 2008, 17:01

Great car 2005 Mercury Montego Premier, classy with carriage roof and stainless steel accents. Great gas mileage. Bought mine in Jan 2008 w/22000 miles just off a lease from FMC for 12900,what a deal, car is maxed out. Had a Grand Marquis, but this is more up to date with extra storage and larger trunk and rear seat is like a limo with extended legroom. Had rear brakes replaced at N/C from dealer, they were defective and also the dash top glove had a bubble, other than that smooth ride, nice firm seats and height, like the memory and the stereo w/6 CD player and back up sensors. A lot of bang for the money. Mercury is my favorite car.

2006 Mercury Montego Premium AWD V6 Duratec from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Duratec Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Solid, comfortable, well appointed ultra safe car with no distracting features or lines

Faults:

No issues as of yet.

General Comments:

We were interested in the Ford Five Hundred Limited AWD. Ended up at a Mercury dealer looking at the essentially identical Montego Premium AWD. Nice lines and aesthetics. Looks a bit like a large Passat.

Roomy is an understatement. Biggest back seat I have seen, and I have seen a lot.

We took a 300 mile trip this past weekend and the drive was comfortable and pleasent with no back aches or particular difficulties. Very good AC.

Navigation system made my unbelieving wife into a believer. It worked unobtrusively and flawlessly.

Very nice sounding stereo and good reception.

The trunk is HUGE!

Overall, we are very pleased and like the car for what it is and don't concern ourselves over what it isn't. It is not a sports car, it is a comfortable, reasonably well handling, comodious sedan with pleasing lines and very nice appointments in the Premium/Limited line. The AWD is a great feature as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

2005 Mercury Montego Premier 3.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

A super buy for only $23,000 new

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This car has tons of room. The back seat is huge and so is the trunk.

The car drives smooth and has great get up and go.

I am getting about 19mpg avg at 70% highway and 30% heavy city driving.

I like that tallness of the car as it makes seeing out onto the road a bit easier.

The engine and transmission are as smooth as silk.

People often ask if the car is an Audi or some other type of car, I say no it is a Mercury, built in the states.

This car drives and runs as it did the day we bought it new.

The car will travel in snow and rain with out spinning a wheel.

My only two things that I dislike about the car are

The front "Driver's" left leg room is tight and the back doors only open up about 4/5 of what they should. In other words the back doors should open up more outward when fully extended.

I love the brake lights and the radio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2006

14th Sep 2006, 16:42

Question: How do I get a new Montego for $23,000? That is below A plan. What options were on the car?

15th Feb 2007, 06:46

Mistaking a Montego for an Audi??? I am not saying anything bad about a Montego, since it performs well as a freeway cruiser, having had it and its sibling Five Hundred as rental cars, but it's no Audi. It's an American full size sedan, not a taut sports sedan that one would take on a twisty back road. And, the styling is rather bland and has lines not dissimilar with the last generation Passat, only larger.

28th May 2009, 20:55

I bought a new Premier top of the line Montego in 2008, as a left over 2007.

I got it for under $24,000. no joke. If you shop around, you can get good deals, look for left over cars from last year.

Mine has 22,000- trouble free miles on it now.

I am going to trade it in on a new 2009 Taurus in the first part of 2010.

At 9,000 mile I dropped my right tires off the road going 50 mph and pulled back too hard and lost control. I slammed into a used car lot and smashed into 3 cars.

Air bags popped out all over the inside of the car.

I guess that parts are cheap as my insurance had to replace the front clip, windshield, transmission " housing cracked", all 4- doors and all the airbags along with the dash, and all 4-wheels and tires. It was cheaper to fix due to cheap parts.

My point is that this is a heavy car and very safe. I was told that if I was in a smaller car that I might of been killed.

I get 21.4 mpg over with half being city miles.

We get a new car every 3-5 years.

The Montego is a very good car so far. Tons of room.

29th May 2009, 07:59

"People often ask if the car is an Audi..."

I doubt an Audi owner would be happy if people were often asking if their car was a Mercury. :)

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews