1995 Mercury Mystique Reviews - Page 4 of 11

1995 Mercury Mystique LX 2.5 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carMercury Mystique

Summary:

I really like this car

Faults:

Before I bought it, the previous owner had to change the O2 sensor and the shocks on the back... Other than that, just normal maintenance. The cup holder broke.

General Comments:

I really do like this car. So far, it has treated me well. The paint is still really nice, also. The car runs well, and it gets me from A to B. This car handles well in rain, because it has traction control and 4-wheel drive. It is a comfortable ride, but you can't adjust the steering wheel, so make sure it is the right height. It matched me very well, so I didn't have to worry about that. It handles well!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2005

3rd Jul 2005, 11:14

FYI the Mystique does not have traction control or "4 wheel drive". The mystique/contour line are mainly an economy car.

28th Jul 2006, 15:23

Actually, the LS version DOES sport traction control optionally... though is still only FWD.

2nd Aug 2006, 17:05

The LS traction control makes your car seem like it is a 4-wheel drive. It is powerful and goes almost anywhere.

1995 Mercury Mystique LS from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

Words cannot describe the pain and misery this vehicle has brought to my life

Faults:

75000 The car began overheating. I was never able to fix this in spite of some of the following repairs

82000 Water pump replaced by the dealer, but the over-heating problem didn't stop

84000 Serpentine belt replaced by the dealer (1st time)

85000 Thermostat replaced

90000 Radiator flushed... this is fairly standard, but it didn't help the overheating. I finally quit trying to fix it and just drove the vehicle short distances.

92000 Automatic windows quit working.

95000 Rear seat belts stopped latching securely

98000 Serpentine belt replaced by dealer (2nd time)

113000 Serpentine belt replaced by dealer (3rd time... by this time I should have given up on the dealer)

115000 Fan motor quit working.

123000 Both front struts gave out on me.

125000 Sold the vehicle for $450 and moved out of town the next day so the new owner wouldn't hunt me down and make me take the car back.

General Comments:

The car is roomy and would make great lawn furniture.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

31st May 2005, 21:46

Hm, I'd say after all that work and you still had the overheating problem that you either had a bad headgasket or a cracked cylinder head, both of which can be very expensive to fix.

1st Jun 2005, 09:36

"125000 Sold the vehicle for $450 and moved out of town the next day so the new owner wouldn't hunt me down and make me take the car back."

Smart move on your part!

14th Jul 2008, 22:43

I have this same car and I completely agree... it is most likely the crappiest car I've ever driven...

1995 Mercury Mystique GS 2.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

The best and most dependable car I have ever driven

Faults:

The Mass Air Sensor went out after about 150,000 miles.

The heating coil went out, but there was a recall.

The front passenger wheel had a bearing go out after 180,000 miles.

General Comments:

I loved this car and recently it was in a roll over. It was even a great car then. There were no injuries during the accident. The car is totaled, but it was built good enough to keep everyone safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

1995 Mercury Mystique GS 2.5L gasoline from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Far better than expected and I don't want to sell it, because it is still so enjoyable to drive

Faults:

Water Pump failed at 60,000 miles

Air Conditioning System failed at 95,000 miles

Trunk Lid Lock (electric) failed at 80,000 miles. Dealer could not fix it, so I have to use the key to open the trunk. No problem really.

Battery required replacing at 65,000, miles.

Front tires have been replaced twice in 124,000 miles.

Oxygen sensor replaced at 80,000 miles

Front wheel bearing replaced at 110,000 miles.

Front suspension lower ball joint replaced at 73,000 miles.

Front brake pads replaced twice. Rear pads replace once.

Front brake pads replaced twice

Auto transmission has harsh shifts after approx 3000 miles. To return it to smooth shifting all I do is disconnect the battery and reconnect. I presume this process 'reboots' the transmission computer. I have got accustomed to this minor inconvenience.

Engine rattles only at start up for about one second, but this is evidently not serious. I suspect it is the timing chain tensioner, which doesn't tension until there is oil pressure.

General Comments:

I purchased the car at a fairly low mileage (17,000 miles) and I have been delighted with it ever since.

Apart from the water pump failure - the impeller is plastic, and clearly is a bad design - the car has never let me down.

All electrics, excepting the oxygen sensor, have worked perfectly.

The engine is fabulous - quiet and smooth, with good performance at all engine speeds. I haven't changed the sparking plugs yet, because the engine is still so smooth, especially at idle. All I have done is to change the engine oil every 3000 miles.

The car still handles well, there are no annoying body rattles, the brakes are superb. The car is always a pleasure to drive.

Judging by other comments on this web site, I have been extremely lucky, or simply more tolerant of relatively minor wear and tear items.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 35 reviews