1998 Mercury Mystique LX 2.5 from North America


Not worth the money


Transmission problems from the first week I bought it.

The engine dies after it gets hot; 3 hours after, it starts like nothing happens.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2009

1998 Mercury Mystique GS 2.0L from North America




Be careful, not good, never ever.

I changed all parts; seats, transmission, shocks, engine parts, always some things.

General Comments:

Not a good car, not good quality, too many problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2009

1998 Mercury Mystique V6 Sport LS 2.5L V6 from North America


The Mercury Mystake.. 'Sport'


Don't even get me started, I got this car in 2001 from a dealership, I got it at 50,000 kilometers for $10,000. Everything was good until the air conditioner stopped working at 90,000 kilometers, which was about 1000 dollars to replace, then my power locks stopped working at 115,000 kilometers, which was about 200 dollars to replace.

When I hit 130,000 kilometers, my moonroof motor and rear defrost went, which was about another 700 dollars.

At 160,000 kilometers I start to notice that my heater was blowing out lukewarm or cold, which I had to replace for 800 bucks.

At 178,000 kilometers I started to get engine problems, and blew not one, but 2 cylinders, so I replaced the engine... which is a pain to get out of the car by the way. I replaced it with another 1998 Mystique engine (don't ask).

200,000 kilometers was when the real jokes started, when I had to replace the shift linkage, and slipping clutch. The wipers stopped working, left blinker was sticky, radio antenna would go up, trunk wouldn't release, power driver seat stopped working.

So I do recommend this car if you are looking for ways to waste money.

General Comments:

Expensive maintenance, unnecessary maintenance.

Good ride, smooth, fast, sleek, quick then quits, handles well, nice to park.

I recommend this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2009

1998 Mercury Mystique LS V6 from North America




New starter.

Two new batteries.

New transmission.

Won't start most of time.

Burns oil.

Leaks oil.

Gears bump.

Just not a very good car all together; always going to shop to fix it.

General Comments:

It sucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2008

1998 Mercury Mystique GS 2.5L V6 from North America


Good car for everyday errands, but has some faults


Accident in 2005 damaged trunk seal, constant moisture in trunk during wet months.

Water pump impeller disintegrated, leading to loss of radiator and $1200 repair.

In-door speakers failed.

Lights sometimes fail to come on when doors open.

FABs did not work for a time.

General Comments:

Good car for simple driving around town.

Good gas mileage for today's economy, 19-26 mpg.

A lot of people consider this an "old folks" car, but it was. The previous owner took excellent care of the car. At almost 10 years old, it's averaging around 9000 miles per year. When I trade it in, I will get a good deal due to how I've taken care of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th December, 2007

1998 Mercury Mystique GS 2.0 from North America


A rolling junkyard


I've had this car for ten years and I'm a sucker for punishment. I've had nothing but problems with this car from the very start. I have had more recalls on it than I can count.

The transmission has gone on it.

I've put in about $1000 into front end work such as wheel bearings, stabilizers and springs.

The O2 sensors have gone twice.

All four tires have had air leaks coming from the rims at one time or an other.

The trunk leaks water and the only lock my key works in is the driver side. All the other ones don't work any more, including the trunk.

There are about ten more things wrong with this car, but that's too much to type.

Bottom line is, DON'T BUY this car unless you have money to throw away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2007

6th Mar 2007, 16:28

Unfortunately, I have no extra cash for a car-payment. I bought my Mystique in late 99 and paid on it for 5 years. Hoping that if I took care of it I would have a nice car. Today my RMI Sensor went which controls the throttle. I also have had 2 oxygen sensors replaced. Nonetheless have spent l,800 on air/conditioning repairs and still not fixed. Mercury would never do anything for me. Not one thing. I cry myself to sleep as I have to dish more money out this week. I sometimes can't understand why they wouldn't help me.

5th Jun 2007, 18:22

I have a 99 it runs great just regular mant. changed trans. but other than that its OK. 4 sale 2,200 909-993-6817...