1993 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1993 Mercury Sable Wagon 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

Owning this car has been a very expensive proposition. My brother gave it to us, and taking it was a mistake. He had the transmission replaced at 50,000 miles. We have put many dollars in to it, and every repair is more than we expect because of the poor design.

Recently, and this was the second repair over $500. this year, the water pump went again.

At 95,000 miles we had to put a new engine in it.

I hope you benefit from my hind sight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

25th Jan 2006, 11:43

No information is given, no facts or anything like that. Water pump and transmission? That's 2 things what went wrong. Frankly I need more evidence. No one bother to take this review seriously.

1993 Mercury Sable LE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Worst car I ever owned

Faults:

At 50,000 the starter failed.

At 55,000 miles the rear power window motor failed.

At 60,000 the front power door actuator failed.

At 80,000 the transmission is starting to fail.

At 90,000 the water pump failed.

We had to replace a cracked timing chain cover with the water pump. $1,100 total job.

Now the dealer says the head gaskets are leaking!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2003

25th Feb 2005, 11:36

I had a 1990 Mercury Sable. I bought it used. The transmission failed after 3 months. I replaced the transmission. That also failed after 6 months. Either the transmission shop did a bad job or the transmission design is bad.

1993 Mercury Sable LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

I would love to have another like it that is still dependable

Faults:

A/C compressor and clutch went.

Both outside tie-rod ends bad.

Front seat leather is ripped really bad.

Had engine replaced by Ford Motor Company due to head gasket problem.

Front door handle spring broke.

All A/C vents are broke.

Drivers rear power window doesn't work... motor okay...

Having problems with the wire harness... keep getting shorts that stalls the car and won't allow it to re-start.

Replaced the drier unit on the A/C and the hose blew in two months.

General Comments:

The car was very dependable until the last year or so... now there is no telling when it will stall out and not re-start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2003

1993 Mercury Sable LX 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Nice looking, but terrible running

Faults:

At 60,000 miles main drive belt and starter needed to be replaced. Just recently transmission died.

General Comments:

Sables are nice looking cars, with capable road handling. Very comfortable with great options. The only problem area is they do not last... areas of concern are basicaly the entire driveline! A transmission should last beyond 75,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003

1993 Mercury Sable LS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired350000 miles
Most recent distance360000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A good car if you have patience and money

Faults:

Replaced left side brakes after one month of owning it, the rotor as well.

Drivers side seat refuse to work.

Master control of the rear windows refuse to work.

Replaced all of the mounts, Front, rear, and transmission. It eats them like a beast.

Engine surges forward like it wants to move on its own accord, which I think causes the mounts to be eaten so quickly.

A/C unit failed a long time before I inherited it.

Anti-freeze is leaking into the heater coil, causing my car to smell really horrible.

The power steering is starting to fail, at times failing altogether, almost caused an accident because of this.

It stalls all the time when idling or when in reverse or just beginning to move at a light. It'll idle perfect in park or neutral.

Lots of other problems due to the previous owner abusing it.

General Comments:

This baby has a lot of power in it, which also causes a lot of other problems, like the engine mounts being killed so quickly.

It has quite a bit of untapped power which I plan to use, if it ever stops falling apart on me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

1993 Mercury Sable GS V6 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A recommended buy

Faults:

Water Pump / belt replaced at 105000.

Freeze out plugs replaced soon after.

Windows slow in operation.

Very reliable.

Fast Strong Car virtually no rust!

General Comments:

This is one interesting ride. I started out with having to replace the water pump and serpentine belt. Soon after the freeze out plugs needed replacement from the guys at Midas flushing out the coolant system. This has been an ongoing issue since the water pump. I have changed out the radiator, the brakes (twice), tires, and various bulbs as they always seem to go out. The electronics are quirky and do strange things, the upholstery is cheap and is easily scuffed, the rear windows rarely work, the transmission skips, a cylinder is missing when going to 2nd gear, have to add coolant once a month, but overall this has been one dependable and comfortable ride. I got 60000+ miles out of it and it still retails for a decent resale. I'd have to say it got me through some hard times and not always had the appropriate service...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 12:54

If you replace coolant every month you are headed for a blown head gasket. Your are overdue for this. They usually blow between 40 and 60K miles and again between 50 and 80K. Then the transmission fails on schedule around 100K, sometimes earlier... If I were you and you think it has good resale value I would dump it faster than a hot rock. My '93 is available if you would like a really nice looking station wagon with leather and less than 80000 miles... every day something else falls off. "Quality is Job One" my butt.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 23 reviews