1990 Mercury Topaz Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1990 Mercury Topaz LTS 2.3 Liter, I-4, Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter, I-4, Turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Not reliable but OK

Faults:

Left headlight and left turn signal sockets fused out on me and turn signal would not work.

Wheel bearings.

Tie rods.

Motor mounts.

Not reliable but good.

General Comments:

Good car, pretty fast.

Not very reliable, but I would drive it any day.

I am hoping to trade it in for a Dodge Daytona.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

17th May 2001, 21:09

I think you just got a lemon. I have a '92 Topaz GS four-door with the optional 3.0 V6. The Tempo/Topaz line saw few changes in the mechanical department. They ran the same 2.3 litre four cylinder since the car was introduced in '84. The people I know who own these cars have had no problems with these cars (even with the four cylinder like yours). It's the most reliable car I've ever owned. In every line of cars (even the best) have a few lemons. If I had a lemon I'd get some info. about that car by reading reviews and judge it by the major problems it had (I.e. transmission, engine failure, electric system). Don't judge the car by the average problems every car has eventually. If a majority of them had major problems, don't buy one again. If it's just yours, and a few others you read about, trade the one you have for another in better condition (if that's what you want) and try it again.

Good luck with your car problems.

29th May 2001, 18:19

Like he said, just about everyone else has had good luck with their Topaz, you just got a lemon. Buy one again, the two we've had have been good cars. A Dodge would be OK, just don't buy a GM product.

14th Jun 2005, 12:18

It's not that he bought a lemon, it's that he bought a used car with high mileage on it. When you buy a car with high mileage, you have to be prepared to fix whatever problems it has.

19th Apr 2006, 12:02

It doesn't matter if you buy a used car with high mileage.

As long as the car was taken care of, it'll run good.

Make sure if you do buy a used car that it had all of it's oil changes, brake inspection, and that fun stuff.

1990 Mercury Topaz XR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Hot rod

Faults:

Replaced the right front wheel bearing.

2 motor mounts busted.

Some sort of wire fused out underneath the dashboard.

Tie rod ends.

Not bad.

General Comments:

Very fast car!! I took out the air filter and put in a turbocharger, I get to 60 in about 6 seconds. I can cream the crap out of Mustang GT's and Camaro's - boy do their heads turn when they see me fly by.

Only paid a grand for it and have invested 5 grand in it. It is white with black racing stripes. It has 5 star prime rims. And tinted windows and a Mazda tip exhaust.

I would recommend this car to anyone. It's odd cuz I'm 17 and you never see kid's driving these cars. I think more kids should. Very good on gas, about 25 miles a gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

17th May 2001, 17:56

If you had a regular Topaz GS you would not be able to beat a 6 cyl Mustang. Now if you had the LTS or the XR5 Topaz you could possibly beat a V6 Mustang, but not a Mustang GT. If you had the 1992 Topaz XR5 or LTS 5-Speed you could keep up with a Mustang. I know this for a fact cuz I have a Mustang GT and I have come close to losing to a 92 Tempo GLS.

29th May 2001, 18:21

Yeah, but he said he put a turbo charger on his too so it will go faster than the stock.

10th Jun 2001, 18:34

Sure the turbo will make it go faster than stock. I have a stock '92 XR5, 5-speed and it keeps up with a Mustang just fine. Change the 5th gear from an overdrive to a real gear and I think it can be beaten!

19th Nov 2002, 02:57

I had a 1989 Ford Tempo witch is the brother to the Topaz. My Tempo had 256, 000km on it when it was hit by a dump truck. I put a 3.1L v-6 out of a Topaz LXE with the transmission and the clutch. My Tempo was now a 4 door red with silver racing strips that had a spoiler off of a Dodge Duster. The best car I will ever own cheap on parts, good running, aw some on gas. I was 19 when I had that and everyone would turn and look at me as well when I drove it, only because it was different.

1st Jan 2003, 17:10

I would like to know how you got a turbo to fit on to a Topaz.

28th Apr 2003, 17:55

Ever since I bought my Topaz I have had nothing but problems. My starter has gone out, my fuel filter, fuel injector and fuel pump have gone out, my clutch went out just yesterday and I am trying to figure out how to put the clutch in myself, but I am not able to find any information on how to fix it. In my opinion I would not recommend anyone to purchase a Topaz maybe that is why they stopped making them.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 15 reviews