1991 Mercury Topaz Reviews

1991 Mercury Topaz L 2.3 EFI from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Reliable go getter

Faults:

I live in the far north, with harsh winters.

Ball joint right.

Right side bushing is worn out and need changing.

Clear coat has peeled.

General Comments:

Reasonably fast considering its age and size, Recently repainted the car, I run glasspack exhaust, and some other minor goodies. Really dependable, and always started, even -50c.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

1991 Mercury Topaz L 2.3 gas from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired186000 kilometres
Most recent distance214000 kilometres

Summary:

A good car for me, but will it will cost you..

Faults:

The usual...

Ball joints needed replacing frequently. One ball joint lasted only 5000 km!

Tie rods needed replacing frequently.

The automatic transmission is sluggish and cannot harness the lack of power the engine had. Unacceptable compared to today's standards.

Surface rust appeared everywhere on the car. The car was really ugly.

On the plus side, the car is really comfortable on long trips. No part of your anatomy will get numb.

General Comments:

This was my first car, and I got it given to me for free, so I cannot say anything too bad about it. However, do not spend a lot of money on this car, because they are just not worth the money. There are way better cars out there, which will cost you a lot less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2005

15th Nov 2005, 06:38

This review is nonsensical. The transmission could not harness a LACK of power? The Tempo/Topaz is already one of the cheapest used cars out there--which cars are "better" that "cost you a lot less"?

15th Nov 2005, 06:53

I found your review very informative. I guarantee you I will certainly not own a 1991 Mercury Topaz, even if it was free.

1991 Mercury Topaz GS 2.3 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Don't buy it if you don't like having trouble and causing trouble

Faults:

My cv axles went out at 64,000. The starter went out at 70,000. The wheel bearings and the entire brake system went out at 86,000. The spark plugs and wires were bad at 95,000. It leaks 1 quart of oil every 2500 miles out of the valve covers and the oil pan. It dies every once in a while at a red light because I let it idle a little the I go to hit the gas and it just locks up. I put msd plugs and wires in it at 95,000 and I put a performance exhaust on it at 90,000 which sounds awesome, when I rev on my engine around rice burners it is pretty amazing.

General Comments:

It has a lot of problems, but it's a fast car and it sounds awesome with a straight pipe on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

1991 Mercury Topaz 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired223000 kilometres
Most recent distance226000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Can't complain so far

Faults:

Had to replace parking brake cables.

Burns oil a bit. I will try additive and higher viscosity oil next oil change.

A bit of rust. I used undercoat, primer and best matched can of spray paint.

Air conditioner doesn't work.

General Comments:

Reliable - starts every time. Heats up quick in winter.

Has good speakers and cassette.

Previous owner put in new windshield, did brake job and new tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2004

31st May 2007, 21:27

Traded it in in Dec 2004. Dealer likely sent it to scrapyard.

Was a pretty good car, but was going to need some major work before long that would have cost more than it was worth.

1991 Mercury Topaz LS 2.3 HSC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 HSC Automatic
Distance when acquired280000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

A decent first car

Faults:

The wire that runs from the negative terminal on the battery to the starter has a 3" long gash along it, and this has caused the bare wire to corrode.

Floor panels have rusted through and were patched. Evidence of previous patching was found.

Exhaust has been replaced from the catalytic converter to the tailpipe.

Had to replace the exhaust flange that holds the catalytic converter to the end of the header.

Replaced spark plugs and alternator belt.

Unfortunately found that both the front and rear engine mounts have broken and need replacement. Not too much of a job to fix.

Spots of body rust are everywhere, and on the underneath of the driver's side door, it has a rust hole.

General Comments:

My uncle gave me this car as my first car. It had been sitting for a couple months in his yard, because my aunt's sister had no use for it. Soon after getting it into the driveway, we found many problems with it. Me and my dad took out the seats and console, pulled up the carpet, and patched all of the floor panels.

We are currently changing the front brake pads and cutting the rotors.

I am having a huge electrical problem. After taking the fully charged battery out of my sitting 1979 Camaro (which is too expensive to insure at the moment), we hooked it up in the Topaz and it ran right away. But it was completely drained the next morning. I haven't the slightest clue as to what is causing this drain. My dad says that maybe some of the electrical grounds are rusted over. Any help on the topic would be great.

The rear bearing on the alternator is worn out.

I was very joyful when I heard several comments about the engine such as "it's bulletproof". I'm the kinda guy that loves muscle cars, mainly because of the torque. I have grown accustomed to driving my dad's huge Chevy G20 van with a 350 cu/in V8 engine in it. This is quite a step down, so I might have some issues adjusting to it.

If anyone has any performance modifications that help in the slightest bit, do not hesitate to email me: sephiroth_17@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews