2003 MG ZR Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2003 MG ZR +105 1.4 cc from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 cc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carKia Pride

Summary:

Super entry-level hot-hatch

Faults:

Main shaft seal leaked within a month - fixed under warranty and had a loan car.

Clips holding driver's door trim broke whilst on holiday with it - replaced under warranty after turning up at the dealer in Redruth whilst holidaying in Cornwall. Fixed whilst we waited.

General Comments:

Sporty inside and out: Solar Red paint and black seats with red bolsters - very inviting!

Seats very comfy.

Good amount of space for size of car.

'+' Spec had a reasonable amount of kit - although ABS wasn't standard at that time.

Sunroof nice addition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2008

2003 MG ZR Plus 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFiat Bravo

Summary:

Sexy, fast and loads of fun

Faults:

Head gasket had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The best and most fun hatchback of its class!

I have driven a lot of cars in my time, and this one gave me the most amount of entertainment.

If you can't afford a BMW mini, get one of these.

Interior is dim, but the seats are really good and sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2007

2003 MG ZR 105+ 1.4 from Spain

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

For the money, the best fun you can have with your trousers on!!

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

This was a cracking little car. I bought it after moving down to Spain in Dec 2004 from a dealer. Personally, I walked past it, however, the wife fell in love with the Rover 25 on steroids!!! We owned it through till April 2006 and the only thing I did to it in that 16 months was top up the screen wash once before heading for Andorra in Feb 2006. It was a pleasure to drive.. that statement has just come from someone who has driven 200bhp+ cars for as long as he can remember (ME), it handled, it was comfy, it turned heads & it would sit on the motorway all day at 180kph (110mph). You want a cheap bit of fun??? Buy a low mileage ZR, you won't be disappointed!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th February, 2007

2003 MG ZR 105 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Own one and you will love it!

Faults:

Rattle in gear box due to bearings, proberly due to the way I drive, cost 300 pound to put right.

Cables in front seats that make them tilt forward snapped, but and easy D.I.Y repare using the inside of a terminal block.

General Comments:

This car has delivered more than what I expected, the acceleration is spot on for a 1.4, the looks of the car is excellent and you will be surprised how my people say it's a nice car.

The interior is smart with the half trim and it doesn't look date like I have read in other reviews. The driving position is good and there is a lot of room in the back.

This car doesn't half hold the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2006

2003 MG ZR 105 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles

Summary:

Incredible

Faults:

Well I have recently just had a bad accident in the MG ZR and has a few problems at the minute. Oil sump is broken all windows smashed needs new wing and front bumper and has a kink in frame work. (BIG PROB)

General Comments:

The MG ZR 1.4i is a very quick car for a 1.4 it is comfortable and spacious it's a brilliant car for a young driver as it looks sporty and nsporty and also drives equal to the looks (like a dream).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2006

2003 MG ZR 105 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Low Cost Sporty Hatch!!

Faults:

Not had the car long, but touch wood, nothing so far.

General Comments:

The price of these cars today is awesome, you can't get any other sporty 03 plate for this kind of money!!

I haven't had mine long, but I love it. It handles very well and revs like a Honda!

For a 1.4 it's quick! I have yet to come across a 1.4 that's quicker!

Interior is nice, and the half leather just adds to the style/cost ratio! The car looks good and you tend to forget you're in a nippy 1.4 when you're driving it.

I have heard horror stories of head gaskets blowing at low mileages, and over heating problems, which are to be expected if you hover the car around 5000 revs all day long!! I am sure a good service history and a bit of respect for the car would solve this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 20 reviews