2003 MG ZS 180 from UK and Ireland - Comments

24th Nov 2005, 04:44

My MG ZS in yellow, the best, brightest and smartest looking of them all...

When I was choosing a car I decided I liked the new look to the MG’s, like a Rover with style was my thought.

My first step was to test drive the one I thought suited me most, the MG ZR 160 it claimed to have all the extras you need in a car with the added grunt of 160 BHP. As soon as I saw it I knew I was going to buy an MG, in Yellow. Once I was inside it was a different story, I realised it was not to be this model.

I need a place to put my left foot when it isn’t on the clutch. And I need a central console for more than one great reason, an arm rest and storage.

So the ZR was out of the question, but at the price I was looking, the ZS was affordable for the same year.

The ZS 180, offered everything I needed and to top it off it looked even more like a stylish Rover with a V6 under the hood.

My Trophy Yellow MG ZS 180 2.5L V6… I just love it. glue is the description, and well fast too...

Basically I love my 180, and the only reason I will move on is because of fuel ££$$££, my foot is made out of lead, what can I say, possibly I need grants from the government to aid my disability... or free fuel to those of 2495cc/V6 and above...

Respect to those who still own their Zs and keep up the great reputation.

Chris.

12th Dec 2005, 21:01

They're top notch aren't they.

11th Jan 2006, 09:11

Zs 180 = head gasket failure!

27th Oct 2006, 11:42

What can I say? Purchased a 2003 MGZS 180 V6 January this year!! 17,000 miles on purchase, now at 24,000.

Used every day for work and I still look forward to getting out of bed in the morning to step inside and hear the engine roar - it's then a long wait till 5pm to get back and hear the roar!

Only negative is the ££££ on fuel, but wouldn't it change it for the world... worth every penny!

Leaves most hothatches standing... not to be messed with.

11th Nov 2006, 18:35

I've had my ZS 180 from new and done 42,000 miles in 20 months. Much of that was motorway, but now drive down the lanes to work. I've raced with all sorts of modern hot cars such as mini coopers, Audi tt's, focus St's, civic r's etc and while they're all quick in a straight line they just can't match the MG around twisty lanes. In fact, never buy a golf GTI as they're just too bouncy. I once followed a focus which twitched and skidded dangerously whilst the mg felt like it was just playing. It's great to see them back off and go past them. I always get at least 33 to the gallon. I used to run a company car scheme and have had lots of cars. The MG is not the best built or most solid, but it is definitely the most enjoyable car I have ever driven!

25th Dec 2006, 10:15

Please can you help me in finding a front mask for MG ZS 180.

I'm from Romania and I cannot find this piece, if you can help with a price too or a link to an on-line site, thank u, Alex.

12th Jan 2007, 14:22

Try http://xpart.com/

I have a Dec 2004 ZS 180. Bought it about 4 months ago with 9000 miles on the clock. Best car I've driven, and one of the lowest prices I've paid for a motor. Unreal value for money, and I still love the look of it every time I see it.

Took some pics late last year:

http://i12.tinypic.com/2hcfguu.jpg

http://i12.tinypic.com/2d8fewz.jpg

http://i10.tinypic.com/2z40dgm.jpg

18th Jan 2007, 04:39

Hi,

I'm a 30 yr old female who has a passion for driving, I had a Mg ZS180 and sold it for a Fabia Vrs, I'm much happier with the Fabia as I feel its faster to 60mph and to 100mph also its much better built and handles in my opinion just as well.

6th Feb 2007, 15:25

To the woman who say that the fabia VRS is faster to 60 or 100. she doent no what she is talking about a zr 105 would be faster than that.

7th Feb 2007, 06:08

I think she does. I too own a Fabia vRS, and it is a well known fact that the 9.5s 0-60 time stated by Skoda was done with a fully laden car, so the realistic 0-60 time is about 8.2s. (read the Autocar review if you don't believe me).

Also, as the vRS is a diesel and has masses of torque, it isn't particularly quick off the mark, but has mid-range power that would leave a ZR160 struggling, never mind your 105.

Oh, and while your ZR105 is at its limit at about 111mph, the vrs will still be accelerating on its way to nearly 130.

P.s. I suggest you do some research before writing comments on cars you know nothing about.

7th Feb 2007, 15:41

I wrote the review about the zr 105. I don't own a 105 I own a MG ZS 180 bhp. She should get fact right she said that the VRS is faster than an MG ZS 180, which does 0-60 in 7.3 seconds.

4th Jul 2007, 16:10

In gear torque does not a fast car make.

The Skoda Fabia vRS is a great little car, and it does feel quite rapid, but like all diesels when taken through the gears, it's just not very quick.

It also comes with decided average handling (stiff, but lacking in feedback) and would, make no mistake get thrashed by a ZS180, on any road or track when the engines are used properly.

But, side by side in 4th gear at 30, yes the vRS would probably be quicker.

11th Aug 2007, 10:04

Don't talk daft. "The ZS is quicker than an Impreza"; if you were to believe that, and then believe the VRS is quicker than the ZS, then that would make the VRS quicker than the Impreza! But clearly it's not, and it's not faster than a ZS! The VRS has lots of torque, but then so does a tractor! You need both a decent amount of torque and high bhp for a true performer.

8th Sep 2007, 16:59

If all you lot who are complaining about fuel consumption, try running a TVR Chimaera, with a 4.0 Rover derived V8 under your right foot 0-60 4.7 you can't help, but press the loud pedal, fuel consumption? it's in single figures!!! Now that's hurting the wallet!

11th Sep 2007, 02:08

Hello, I have driven over the last 5 years, an Audi A6 TDi, a Seat Toledo 150 BHP TDI, a MGZS 115BHP TDI, a 2.2 Vectra Turbo and now a 2004, 54 plate MGZS+ 180 in Black, 4 door with the shark gills. It looks ace, with 24,000 on the clock, it drives fantastic, and let me tell you something; I am a designer for Nissan, and Jaguar and have test driven many competitor cars to the supercharged jags over the years. My ZS is a marvel. Any one who thinks that any TD engined car, can hold a torch to this fantastic piece, of what made Britain Great, engineering, is a wrong!

Move away from paper figures and consider this, the ZS has a thumping powerhouse of an engine, but made primarily of alloy. No diesel engines are made of anything other than mostly pig iron, and in any front wheel drive diesel application this means a massive weight over the front end. Despite the best efforts of us designers, you cannot compensate for this. It causes huge under steer, massive strain on braking components, and exceptional tendencies to make the back step out mid corner, especially if you have no choice but to back off mid bend.

I have a degree in automotive engineering, worked for 20 years in chassis, fuel and cooling, and have test driven cars at some of the fastest tracks across the world. the MGZS 180 is and always will be, a Q car. Sadly, this will become common knowledge amongst the "oh a journalist said so, so it must be true" brigade in a few years, but mean while, us ZS 180 owners are living a dream. Super car performance, from 0-140MPH + and from 1500 RPM up to 7000 (Try that in your Turbo Wheezel).

I have just been offered a full LPG conversion for 1400 pounds all in, and I'm having it.

Incidentally, for the "my diesel is best because the magazines told me so" boys and girls. I now work on the fuel system for the RT-Flex 96 diesel engine. The most powerful engine in the world, loads of torque, massive turbo. etc etc. but it goes in a ship. Even they have problems coping with the pig iron mass of a diesel engine, and the lack of sophistication used in Diesel engine design. Enough said.