2002 MG ZT Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 MG ZT 190 + 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 800

Summary:

Overall the mg zt+ is an excellent high performance sports saloon

Faults:

Sticky boot release when cold.

General Comments:

The Car is great fun to drive and handles extremely well, but I do think its slightly down on power for a 2.5 v 6.

The seats are very uncomfortable for passengers, but this doesn't bother the driver as he will be having to much fun driving the car,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2004

30th Mar 2005, 08:02

I wouldn't say the seats were at all uncomfortable. Try sitting in a Seat Cordoba or a Polo!

2002 MG ZT -T+ 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance22525 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Great car, great value

Faults:

CV Joint replaced at first service.I didn't notice it, but they did! Otherwise totally faultless.

General Comments:

Steering input is tremendous after an Audi 2.8 Avant Quattro. The handling is really well controlled for an FWD car, but on the absolute edge the Audi might get you out of trouble better.

It is also a handy estate, swallowing 6 foot tables for the Church Fete with aplomb!

Interior pretty solid,except for the sunroof control which is nasty.

Seats very good on long or short runs, longest in one day 720 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

2002 MG ZT 190 2.5 V 6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A terrific British car; I love it

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Excellent British Sports saloon car.

Road holding and suspension transformed from Rover 75 and make this a terrific driving experience.

Smooth engine and excellent gearbox.

Front wheel drive makes it safe on ice, but some wheel spin setting off.

Good looks combined with comfortable inside and roomy boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

30th Sep 2006, 07:04

Isn't their a more powerful version of this car, the ZT 260? with 256 BHP (260 ps). I think it has a 4.6 ltr V8 engine N/A. With torque being 302 lb ft. Their must be someone out there with one. Couldn't find it anywhere on this site.

2002 MG ZT 160+ 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4500 miles
Most recent distance6200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

I can't think of anything I would want to replace it with

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

The car looks fantastic.

It has excellent build quality.

It has the best handling chassis of all equivalent cars on the market.

A firm ride, but it is a sports saloon.

Optional alcantara and leather seats are very comfortable.

If this car wore a BMW badge, it would sell in its thousands.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

2002 MG ZT 190 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carLexus IS200

Summary:

If you love your country, keep this thing off the road (it's a national embarrassment)

Faults:

Whilst overtaking on a dual carriage way, its engine expired.

General Comments:

After suffering what can only be described as a temporary loss in taste and a misguided patriotic leaning, I bought the MG, this is when the problems started. it is by far and away the most unreliable and ugly car on the road.

Small pebbles in the road are worth avoiding as not only does it result in a large dentist bill, but it also knocks the wheels out of allignment.

I hate it and actually gave serious thought to rolling it into the sea the other day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

12th Jan 2003, 08:02

I doubt this article is true.

15th Jan 2003, 09:09

This adverse review is completely at odds with my own experience, that of every other experience of which I have heard and with all the reviews and road tests. This car is generally thought to be superb.

19th Jan 2003, 09:25

These cars are great, I've yet to read a car report that says anything else. Those owners I've met all rave about them.

These cars are all about driving, the suspension is set up for handling rather than comfort. If you want to waft around in comfort and near silence, then you should have bought the 75 Tourer instead and leave these gorgeous ZT's to those who know and appreciate them.

Do yourself a favour - sell your ZT and let the next person enjoy it for what it is - a DRIVER'S car.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews